Transport Tycoon Forums
https://www.tt-forums.net/

Conditional loading
https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=53518
Page 1 of 2

Author:  pavel1269 [ Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Conditional loading

What it does is simple. I will examine on example.

    1: Go to Station1
    2: Go to Station2
    3: Jump to 2 if Load percentage is below 20.

This will cause a vehicle to stay without interruption in a station 2, loading for the condition to meet (tested only on train, but it should work on all types).

Attachments:
conditional_load_r22836.patch [2.19 KiB]
Downloaded 151 times
conditional_load_r25493.patch [2.62 KiB]
Downloaded 122 times

Author:  pavel1269 [ Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Update

edit: Attachment removed. See first post.

Author:  Leanden [ Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

The patch isnt adding the conditional loading option though is it?

What you are actually adding is a change to the train pathfinder where if a train is issued an order to the same station twice, it just stays there instead of trying to route back to the station?

Author:  pavel1269 [ Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Leanden wrote:
The patch isnt adding the conditional loading option though is it?

No, nothing is added.

Leanden wrote:
What you are actually adding is a change to the train pathfinder where if a train is issued an order to the same station twice, it just stays there instead of trying to route back to the station?

I am not doing anything with PF. I am not sure if I understand you correctly, so I am not saying you are right or wrong. I hoped, that my example will demonstrate everything, which this patch does.

pavel1269 wrote:
    1: Go to Station1
    2: Go to Station2
    3: Jump to 2 if Load percentage is below 20.

This will cause a vehicle to stay without interruption in a station 2, loading for the condition to meet.

Author:  Leanden [ Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Ye so instead of leaving the station as the train currently does, the train stops in the station because it has been asked to return to the same station by the conditional order.

Author:  pavel1269 [ Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

I found a bug connected with this patch. Well, more like a unspecified behavior. The gradual loading works only for full load orders and this patch forces vehicles to stay at station without full load order. So the gradual loading was not working. Fix is in the first post.

Author:  Drury [ Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

This is something worthy considering implementing in trunk.

I've been waiting for this since conditional orders were introduced! Current system is very awkward and not always useful.

Author:  pavel1269 [ Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

A little update. Renamed variable, to fit a little more. Removed limitation of conditional orders which type is percentage loaded, for the sake of extensibility.

Attachments:
conditional_load_r24112.patch [2.11 KiB]
Downloaded 119 times

Author:  pavel1269 [ Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Patch updated to current trunk. Patch file is in the first post.

Author:  benem [ Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Hi, sorry to resume this old post but I have a problem with this patch.

I'm using it via this binary, but I cannot find the way to specify how much load percentage to wait on each station.

Should it need to be activated in some way? I cannot find any options.

Thanks.

Author:  adf88 [ Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

benem wrote:
...I cannot find any options
http://wiki.openttd.org/Conditional_Orders


I would like to see this patch in a more universal form - while vehicle is on a station process it's orders and don't move it until another station order.

Example A:
[1] Go to station X
[2] Go to station X
[3] Go to station X
...
would keep the vehicle on the "station X"

Example B:
[1] Go to station X
[2] Jump to order 4
[3] Jump to order 1
[4] Jump to order 3
would keep the vehicle on the "station X"

Example C:
[1] Go to station X and unload all
[2] Go to station X and full load all
would give the same result as single "Go to station X, unload all and full load all" order

Example D:
[1] Go to station X
[2] Jump to order 5 if load percentage > 80
[3] Jump to order 1 if load percentage < 40
[4] Go to station Y and full load
[5] Go to station Z and unload all
would make the vehicle stay at station X until 40% loaded

etc.

Author:  pavel1269 [ Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

While I see the point in examples B and D, I don't see what other examples have common with this patch at all.

Author:  Alberth [ Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

After playing some cdist, I can see the idea of a partial load now.

However, all this jumping around in the orders seems a little complicated, what's wrong with extending loading or (for symmetry) unloading until some percentage?

Author:  pavel1269 [ Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

I wanted to defend the example D, but I now see problem in it's concept. If I change it to the following:

Example D:
[1] Go to station X
[3] Jump to order 1 if load percentage < 40
[2] Jump to order 5 if load percentage > 80
[4] Go to station Y and full load
[5] Go to station Z and unload all

The it would work, right? :)

And to be honest, I don't see any in game example of example B, so you might be right that it is good as it stands now.

Author:  adf88 [ Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

These are not real life examples. The point is to unify things and allow user to create any layout, even crazy one.

Author:  Eddi [ Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Alberth wrote:
However, all this jumping around in the orders seems a little complicated, what's wrong with extending loading or (for symmetry) unloading until some percentage?

the main advantage of this method is that you don't need any new GUI elements, the order GUI is already very overloaded anyway.

also, it might allow something like this:

Goto A: unload and no loading, wait for 18 days
Goto A: load, wait for 2 days

at the end station. this way, cargo won't lose value during the waiting time.

Author:  skippern [ Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Something like this would be nice
  1. Station A: Wait for full cargo goods
  2. Station B: Unload all
  3. Station C: Load goods if available
  4. Station D: Skip if no goods onboard
  5. Goto 1

Author:  pavel1269 [ Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

You can't do that in clean trunk already?

Author:  skippern [ Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

I've seen AI's do if age > X skip order, but I havn't figured out how to do it myself

Author:  pavel1269 [ Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Conditional loading

Quote:
  1. Station A: Wait for full cargo goods
  2. Station B: Unload all
  3. Station C: Load goods if available
  4. Go to 1, if no goods on board
  5. Station D: Unload all (I guess)

You better search some tutorials next time for it. This patch has nothing to do with this.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.