Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 283 posts ]  Go to page Previous 111 12 13 14 15 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
Kimby wrote:
I'd like to report a few issues I noticed with this patch in the version present in the latest ChilPP (sorry if you already fixed the problems in later versions)

The easiest issue:
I play with both the train name and the group name showing on the board. However, it seems there's no space at all reserved between those two fields, resulting in the groupname being behind the train name without any kind of separation for the longest train names on the board. For now I fixed it by starting all my groupnames with a space, but it would be nicer if the patch could handle that :)

The other issue:
I play with "Handle conditional order jumps by assuming they will not be taken". Mostly, that works fine, but I get the feeling something weird happens when an unconditional jump is encountered. Could it be that the patch still thinks it will not be taken ?

My orders are roughly like this (simplyfied, but the essence remains)

Code:
1 Go to A
2 Jump to 8 when requires service is true
3 Go to B
4 Go to A
5 Jump to 10 when requires service is true
6 Go to B
7 Jump to 1
8 Go to Depot
9 Jump to 3
10 Go to Depot
11 Jump to 6


Everything works fine for the jumps in lines 2 and 5, but the jump in line 7 seems to ignored even when it's unconditional.
In fact, my timetable seems to be consistent with assuming unconditional jumps will not be made. Once the jump is actually made, the correct information suddenly appears on the board.



from what i can tell you have Go to A and Go to B

a-b-a-b-a-b the only reason you have 2 jumps is because you want "nearest depot"

a-ifservicerequired(gotonearestdepot) - b - ifservicerequired(gotonearestdepot)

see example image

Attachment:
Rudbro Transport, 29th Mar 1920.png
Rudbro Transport, 29th Mar 1920.png [ 71.36 KiB | Viewed 3957 times ]

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7260
these jumps are pointless, because "service at depot" already implies "if not requires service, skip this"

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
i did in 6 what he did in 11 so i felt i improved already :P

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 88
Unofficially updated patch for the stable 1.3.0.


Attachments:
File comment: Departure boards patch for 1.3.0
departureboard-1.3.0_dc.diff [134.86 KiB]
Downloaded 203 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Posts: 2
Hi I have been playing this game for years, but I've only just started playing with departure boards and they are great :D

But unfortunately I seem to have a problem, because my trains are sitting at the terminus stations for ages without collecting anything. Can anyone tell me from the screenshot provided where I am going wrong please :?


Attachments:
Centro, 29th Jul 2008.png [167.99 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7260
you have cargodist activated, check wheter the people actually want to go where your trains go (the + at the end of the passengers line in the station)

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Posts: 2
Eddi wrote:
you have cargodist activated, check wheter the people actually want to go where your trains go (the + at the end of the passengers line in the station)


Thanks :oops:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:16 pm
Posts: 22
I'm currently using the latest version of OTTD (only downloaded onto new PC today), running windows 8.1, and Ive tried downloading the .zip file but when I extract it to my C:\Program Files\OTTD folder and run the .exe file I get the following on screen... Any help would be massively appreciated as I previously had this and it is a great patch!!


Attachments:
Error.png
Error.png [ 17.87 KiB | Viewed 2991 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:56 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:44 am
Posts: 351
Skype: tilly5014
Location: Tillywood, The Netherlands
David, you might solve your problem when downloading the correct version of OpenGFX for your build.

If it is just vanilla OpenTTD, you can download it from the OpenTTD Website. In that case, I think it would be better to drop your request at the "regular" Support forums, not in this patch thread ;-)

If you are running a patch pack, it might be possible the newer versions of OpenGFX will introduce some issues. If so, ask the patch pack creator (in the topic of the pack) which version you need.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:59 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6401
Location: Eastern KY
Based on the error, I am guessing that it was just a corrupted download. Happens sometimes. Delete the files and try again. If the error still happens, file a bug report and make a note of which repository you downloaded it from.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:58 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Posts: 5
Hi, this patch is really the most important and most enjoyable patch ever made for OpenTTD, so very many thanks for it! I use the YAPP Patch Pack, where it is included.

I do have a question regarding the sorting order inside the departure boards though. I usually don't use the option to display the arrival times on the boards, but the lines are always sorted by arrival time anyway. This doesn't look very pretty, because a departure board should show the departures in chronological order. Now a train that is scheduled to arrive early at a station and wait a long time to depart appears in the wrong place.

Could there be an option where the user could choose in the settings to either use the arrival times or the departure times for sorting the lines on the board?

Of course, I would also be happy if the sorting would automatically be adapted when the user chooses to display or not display the arrival times.

Thanks for reading and hope to hear from you soon.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:17 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:42 pm
Posts: 23
Manage to update and compile this patch against r27217. Havn't done any testing yet, as I plan to apply it together with a few other patches first.

NOTE: I had to set WALLCLOCK_NETWORK_COMPATIBLE to true, to avoid game crashing while loading intro (variable sizes that doesn't match).

For references I used the departureboardswallclock25-r24576.diff version posted above.


Attachments:
departureboardswallclock25-r27217.diff [130.67 KiB]
Downloaded 42 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 11:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 107
Location: London, UK
Just passing through...

I've updated the patch to trunk r27218 and finally posted an updated binary. Patagonicus, thanks for your helpful efforts! :)

wjhunt78, I don't see the behavior you're describing (unless I've misunderstood you.) Here's a savegame and screenshot with trains that arrive before and depart after other trains, and the departure board entries are ordered correctly:

Attachment:
Lonnbridge Transport, 3rd Feb 1951.sav [98.96 KiB]
Downloaded 30 times


Attachment:
departureboards-ordering.PNG
departureboards-ordering.PNG [ 143.03 KiB | Viewed 2251 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:24 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Glasgow
Attachment:
ttd_screenshot.JPG [328.47 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Hi,
I am absolutely fascinated by this patch and would like to express my thanks and acknowledgements to the author :bow: , nonetheless I would like to report a minor bug.

Now, firstly (skip this if you have little time), I try to play with "realistic" timetabling on "realistic" maps. At the moment I am working on a map of France. In the numerous Parisian termini I sometimes let two lines share the trains (we call this "Umlauf" in German) in order to not clog up my busy stations. This then looks like this:

Line A, every 120 mins (even hrs)
Toulouse - Paris - Toulouse
Paris Montparnasse a 12:00 d 12:00

Line B, every 120 mins (odd hrs)
Bordeaux - Paris - Bordeaux
Paris Montparnasse a 13:00 d 13:00

train 1
Paris (d 12:00) - Toulouse - Paris (a 16:00 d 17:00) - Bordeaux - Paris (a 21:00)
stay in Paris for 60 min each time

So rather than having three trains on each line waiting for 120 min in Paris, I have 5 on the combined vehicle park and let them wait for 60 min only. As the departure boards patch does not know French geography (how could it), it shows departures in Toulouse as "Bordeaux, calling at Paris".


The bug (start reading here if you have little time) I have encountered is as follows:
- The departure boards patch does not show termini which are reached by calling at any station more than once, i.e.
in a timetable "Toulouse - Vendome TGV - Paris - Vendome TGV - Bordeaux" the train would be displayed in Toulouse as "Paris, calling at Vendome TGV" >>correct behaviour
- The patch does not have this behaviour when the train calls at waypoints more than once, i.e.
in a timetable "Toulouse - >>Vendome TGV (waypoint) - Paris - >>Vendome TGV (waypoint) - Bordeaux the train would be displayed in Toulouse as "Bordeaux, calling at Paris" (see screenshot, train 16 is the 09:20 departure from Toulouse)

Is there any easy way to fix this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 107
Location: London, UK
Hi Koelschlenny,

Glad you like the patch :)

I think that the effect you want can be achieved by making the train do a full unload at Paris, would that work for your game?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:24 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Glasgow
hthhs wrote:
Hi Koelschlenny,

Glad you like the patch :)

I think that the effect you want can be achieved by making the train do a full unload at Paris, would that work for your game?


Hi hthhs,
tested and implemented in my game. Of course I want to unload completely at Paris, as the train then restarts as a "different service". I must admit I hadn't thought of that, being so used to cargodist doing all the work. Now it's there, all trains bound for Paris, makes my French scenario so much more French :-D

Thanks a million!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:24 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Glasgow
Hi, it's me again.

I have now discovered the function "do not display termini which can be reached sooner on a later vehicle". It appears that this function works very well when trains travel through these stations in the same order, but not if they travel in a different order (ring or part-ring services).

e.g.

(a)
train 1 departs 00:02
A>B>C>D (fast route, arrives C at 01:01)

train 2 departs 00:01
A>X>Y>C>D (slow route, arrives C at 01:02)

train 1 will be displayed as "D, calling at B and C"

train 2 will be displayed as "Y, calling at X, continues to D"

This means that the last stop which cannot be reached sooner on a later vehicle is displayed > correct behaviour

(b)
train 1 departs 00:01
A>B 00:10 >C 00:15 >D 00:20 >E 00:25 >A 00:35

train 2 also departs 00:01
A>E 00:10 >D 00:15 >C 00:20 >B 00:25 >A 00:35

train 1 will be displayed as "D, calling at B and C, continues to E"

train 2 will be displayed as "C, calling at E and D, continues to B"

But station C can also be reached sooner with train 1 and station D can be reached sooner with train 2. So the correct behaviour would be:

train 1: "C, calling at B, continues to E"
train 2: "D, calling at E, continues to B"

See attached screenshot:

train 186
d Berlin-Lichterfelde 0052
a Potsdam Hbf 0059
*via Berlin-Spandau*
a Berlin-Spandau 0110
a Berlin Gesundbrunnen 0127
a Berlin Prenzlauer Allee 0139
*via Berlin Ostkreuz*
a Berlin Ostkreuz 0157
a Berlin-Schönefeld Flughafen 0215
>should be displayed as "Berlin Prenzlauer Allee via Berlin-Spandau" because all other stops can be reached sooner on train 184
>is displayed as "Berlin Ostkreuz via Berlin-Spandau" i.e. only the last stop (Berlin-Schönefeld Flughafen) is omitted
(following train 187 arrives at all stops +20 min)

train 184
d Berlin-Lichterfelde 0059
a Berlin-Schönefeld Flughafen 0110
*via Berlin Ostkreuz*
a Berlin Ostkreuz 0131
a Berlin Prenzlauer Allee 0146
a Berlin Gesundbrunnen 0201
*via Berlin-Spandau*
a Berlin-Spandau 0216
a Potsdam Hbf 0229
>should be displayed as "Berlin Prenzlauer Allee via Berlin Ostkreuz" because all other stops can be reached sooner on train 187 (a Berlin Gesundbrunnen 0147)
>is displayed as "Berlin-Spandau via Berlin Ostkreuz" i.e. only the last stop (Potsdam Hbf) is omitted
>is displayed as "Berlin Ostkreuz via Berlin-Spandau"

Any hints/comments?


Attachments:
screenshot.JPG [527.22 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:42 pm
Posts: 23
Just noticed that the scroll wheel doesn't seem to work in the live travel information window - haven't had time to look into it further though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:55 pm
Posts: 4
Location: NJ, USA
Koelschlenny, Patagonicus: I've written an alternative version of this patch that fixes the issues you've mentioned. Here's a screenshot of a ring service being displayed as you wanted:

Attachment:
ring-service.png
ring-service.png [ 96.78 KiB | Viewed 931 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:31 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:42 pm
Posts: 23
hthhs: Any reasons for the .Pack() - doesn't compile with recent changes in trunk (r27728)?

Code:
diff --git a/src/departures.cpp b/src/departures.cpp
index ab0ebb2..171a1a1 100644
--- a/src/departures.cpp
+++ b/src/departures.cpp
@@ -112,7 +112,7 @@ DepartureList* MakeDepartureList(StationID station, bool show_vehicle_types[5],
                }
 
         /* MAX_COMPANIES is probably the wrong thing to put here, but it works. GenerateVehicleSortList doesn't check the company when the type of list is VL_STATION_LIST (r20801). */
-               if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station).Pack())) {
+               if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station))) {
                        /* Something went wrong: panic! */
                        return result;
                }
diff --git a/src/departures_gui.cpp b/src/departures_gui.cpp
index c88326d..32812c2 100644
--- a/src/departures_gui.cpp
+++ b/src/departures_gui.cpp
@@ -407,7 +407,7 @@ uint DeparturesWindow<Twaypoint>::GetMinWidth() const
                        VehicleList vehicles;
 
                        /* MAX_COMPANIES is probably the wrong thing to put here, but it works. GenerateVehicleSortList doesn't check the company when the type of list is VL_STATION_LIST (r20801). */
-                       if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station).Pack())) {
+                       if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station))) {
                                /* Something went wrong: panic! */
                                continue;
                        }
@@ -540,7 +540,7 @@ void DeparturesWindow<Twaypoint>::DrawDeparturesListItems(const Rect &r) const
                        VehicleList vehicles;
 
                        /* MAX_COMPANIES is probably the wrong thing to put here, but it works. GenerateVehicleSortList doesn't check the company when the type of list is VL_STATION_LIST (r20801). */
-                       if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station).Pack())) {
+                       if (!GenerateVehicleSortList(&vehicles, VehicleListIdentifier(VL_STATION_LIST, (VehicleType)(VEH_TRAIN + i), MAX_COMPANIES, station))) {
                                /* Something went wrong: panic! */
                                continue;
                        }


Attached a new (full) patch with the updates against r27728.


Attachments:
departureboardswallclock25-r27728.diff [132.84 KiB]
Downloaded 18 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 283 posts ]  Go to page Previous 111 12 13 14 15 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gliptal and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.