Few minor patches from me

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 11 Apr 2009 13:59

I have put up few minor patches that I've put into openttd bugtracker, but I got no response from devs about them, so I put them here, so everybody can try them or use them.

Allow listing companies also outside network games - FS#2820
The command "companies" was previously available only to network servers. Since the command provides useful information also for network clients and when debugging AI's, I think it should be available also without networking. I am attaching a patch that allows that. Without networking (when playing locally), the list will say whether the company is controlled by AI (appending " AI" at end of line with companies) or not, instead of telling if it is protected/unprotected.

This allows using commands like stop_ai without having to leave console to look for the company numbers
console-companies-19627.patch
Allow using "companies" command also in singleplayer and as network client - version for trunk
(2.06 KiB) Downloaded 181 times
console-companies-0.7.1.patch
Allow using "companies" command also in singleplayer and as network client - version for 0.7.1
(2.09 KiB) Downloaded 196 times
Build when paused in scenario editor - FS#1521, Added to trunk in r21429
Since in scenario editor you can do basically whatever you want , it does not make sense to restrict your building while pause. This patch allow you building while paused in scenario editor. In-game the things are unchanged (build-while-paused available only as cheat)
build_while_pause_in_editor-19627.diff
Build while paused in editor
(914 Bytes) Downloaded 193 times
Edit: updated Build while paused and console companies patch to newer versions

Due to limit of max. 3 files per post, I am attaching link to next post in this thread containing further patches from me.

Next set of patches >>
Last edited by Bilbo on 26 Feb 2012 18:02, edited 10 times in total.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

Timmaexx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 301
Joined: 03 Jan 2009 17:55

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Timmaexx » 12 Apr 2009 09:52

FS#2821 is a really usefull and nice PATCH!
I love it much...

EDIT: Sorry! Thx
Last edited by Timmaexx on 12 Apr 2009 10:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Benny
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2185
Joined: 25 Aug 2007 17:03
Location: ~/

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Benny » 12 Apr 2009 09:56

What?..
FS#2821 is a patch that keeps console history cleaner as far as I understood, not a AI. :roll:
Image

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 12 Apr 2009 21:44

I have fixed bug in console-history patch that caused crash when scrolling history while it was empty. See updated version in first post.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 14 Apr 2009 14:12

<< Previous set of patches

Reload AI without deleting company - FS#2837
Patch that allows reloading AI without deleting the company in the process. Old reload_ai console command is renamed to restart_ai and new reload_ai command is added to allow this. If you specify extra parameters beyond company ID (name and settings opf new company) you can even load different AI instead of just reloading the old one - all that without deletion of any company property.

Note: the "Reload AI" button on AI debug console still works the old way - company is deleted and created from scratch. The true reload is currently only from console.
reload-ai-19627.patch
(3.3 KiB) Downloaded 136 times
reload-ai-16057.diff
(3.32 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
Console command to reconnect - FS#2843 (in trunk since r17466)
This patch adds console command to reconnect to last server (last_host and last_port in settings). Useful to quickly reconnect after network disconnection or alike ...
console-reconnect-16089.patch
(2.03 KiB) Downloaded 169 times
Edit: new version of reload AI patch
Last edited by Bilbo on 14 Apr 2010 14:01, edited 6 times in total.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

User avatar
SirkoZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1502
Joined: 06 Mar 2004 23:51
Location: The sunny side of Alps

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by SirkoZ » 14 Apr 2009 18:50

Nice patches, Bilbo - would you perhaps consider including an additional button (Reload_AI) also in the AI_debug console, and with that renaming the old button to Restart/Reset_AI as that would better describe the behaviour.

User avatar
Flavius
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1531
Joined: 22 Apr 2003 03:55
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Flavius » 16 Apr 2009 01:48

Hi Bilbo
Really like " Build while paused in Editor", thank you.
Does this mean its in the latest nightly?

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9278
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by planetmaker » 16 Apr 2009 06:28

Rollo wrote:Hi Bilbo
Really like " Build while paused in Editor", thank you.
Does this mean its in the latest nightly?
It means that you can add it without much complication to the source code of the last nightlies

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 16 Apr 2009 08:24

Well, the build-when-pause-while-in-editor is simple two-line-changed patch, so ask openttd devs why it is not yet in trunk :)

I guess they either missed the patch or they don't have currently time to review it.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 19 Apr 2009 12:50

I have updated console reconnect command (fixed company ID validation) and companies command (fixed possible crash when run as network client). Updated versions are posted in appropriate posts :)
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 13 Jun 2009 17:29

I have removed patch that fixed duplicate and empty commands to get in history, since this feature is already in trunk. I have updated the "companies" console command patch to newest trunk and also to lastest stable - 0.7.1. Get the files in the first post.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

petert
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3008
Joined: 02 Apr 2009 22:43
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by petert » 07 Sep 2009 21:19

Bilbo wrote: Console command to reconnect - FS#2843
This patch adds console command to reconnect to last server (last_host and last_port in settings). Useful to quickly reconnect after network disconnection or alike ...
Edit: fixed company ID validation in console reconnect command
Congratulations. Console command to reconnect was added into trunk, r17466. We should see it in the next stable.

Timmaexx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 301
Joined: 03 Jan 2009 17:55

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Timmaexx » 07 Sep 2009 21:24

Very Nice, very useful!
Congrats too! Thank you very much for your Patches!

User avatar
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1710
Joined: 06 Jun 2007 21:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Bilbo » 14 Apr 2010 14:04

I have updated all my patches in this thread to r19627. Get the updated versions in appropriate posts.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)

joshua peli
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 11 Jan 2010 15:34

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by joshua peli » 24 Oct 2010 19:39

Hi...I've got 1.0.4 OPEN TTD version for Windows...I've downloaded "console-companies-19627.patch". Is it the correct file to control companies in Single Player game??? If it's correct, how can I install it. Please, don't give me specialized links...I'm not so good with computers. Thx for help.

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by Zuu » 24 Oct 2010 20:29

It doesn't sound correct to me.

1. It sounds like you want something else than this patch does

2. The patch file that you have downloaded does not work against 1.0.4

3. In order to use a patch file, you need to (re-)compile OpenTTD - a task that requires quite a bit of computer knowledge. If you have problem with opening links, then compiling is simply not possible for you.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

joshua peli
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 60
Joined: 11 Jan 2010 15:34

Re: Few minor patches from me

Post by joshua peli » 25 Oct 2010 17:05

Ah...ok...anyway, thanks...;)

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests