Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 3:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3052 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1149 150 151 152 153
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:16 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:16 am
Posts: 6
Question: How do you overload a travel link to red like shown in the attached screenshot? I can only make it up to green...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:02 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4612
Location: home
Create more cargo or accept more passengers to transport.
Alternatively, reduce the transport capacity :)

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:16 am
Posts: 6
I just read another forum post which said I have to turn cargodist on to make them display in yellow/red, and seems like it's off here..


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:55 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4612
Location: home
That could help :)

Open the settings menu (from in-game if you want to change an existing game), use "advanced settings", and type "cargo dist" as search text.
Alternatively, open "Environment -> Cargo Distribution".
There are all the cargo dist settings. Change distribution modes of the cargo-types that you want handled by cargo-dist to something else than "manual".

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1038
There is an exploit: is it easily possible to cheat by pumping station ratings with single vehicle waiting for full load, with single order as such.

Is it possible to fix this feature?
:bow:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1021
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
McZapkie wrote:
There is an exploit: is it easily possible to cheat by pumping station ratings with single vehicle waiting for full load, with single order as such.

Is it possible to fix this feature?
:bow:


This exists without Cdist as well, and has since the original game I believe...

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4647
Location: Lost in Music
Don't kill the piglet :(

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:17 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1038
supermop wrote:
This exists without Cdist as well, and has since the original game I believe...

No, vehicle would load everything which have no explicit destination. It is not possible to make single order and force vehicle to stuck on station in case of manual cargodist or if station is fresh (with red marked cargo "to anywhere").
But once link is established, vehicle would sit and not load cargo with fixed destination.

It totally kills cargodist idea, were you get higher station ratings traded for local freight. With this exploit you can get high station ratings plus all traffic at long distance.

Possible fix is to generate randomly small amounts of "cargo to anywhere".
Such fix would be also useful to establish new links, currently it is sometimes hard to attach new destination into existing network.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7002
McZapkie wrote:
It is not possible to make single order and force vehicle to stuck on station

uhm, make a load order with ridiculously long timetable waiting time?

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4647
Location: Lost in Music
Piglet variant B: drop off cargo at a nearby dump station and return to pickup.

Trying to prevent exploits is usually hard. :)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1038
andythenorth wrote:
Piglet variant B: drop off cargo at a nearby dump station and return to pickup.

It is not working well currently, because bad rating of target station affect source rating.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Cargo Distribution
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4647
Location: Lost in Music
McZapkie wrote:
It is not working well currently, because bad rating of target station affect source rating.

Do I misunderstand, or is there some patch I don't know about? How does rating of destination affect rating of source? :D

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3052 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1149 150 151 152 153

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.