Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5237
nicfer wrote:
How about using the temperate slope foundations? They would not look that bad and there would be no work on graphics side.

Arrgh! Are you kidding?

Just leave it black as it is. This would look "sexy" - one more step away from the old cartoonish style. Or, if you really need, use a dark grey tone, but - for heaven´s sake - no pattern. Don´t ruin this feature by adding unnecessary or childish extra graphics.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
I also like the option of displaying slopes at the edge.

Michael - don't dismiss the option without seeing what it looks like. On that note, if someone is feeling adventurous they could mock up a screenshot of what it would look like with lots of foundations at the edge. Easier to make a judgement call with some reference material :)

oh - and awesome patch. The original spinoff did the same thing, but I guess my way of implementing it wasn't up to ottd standards, because the developers didn't lift out the idea (thought they did lift out others).

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11890
Location: MK UK
Korenn wrote:
I also like the option of displaying slopes at the edge.

Michael - don't dismiss the option without seeing what it looks like. On that note, if someone is feeling adventurous they could mock up a screenshot of what it would look like with lots of foundations at the edge. Easier to make a judgement call with some reference material :)

oh - and awesome patch. The original spinoff did the same thing, but I guess my way of implementing it wasn't up to ottd standards, because the developers didn't lift out the idea (thought they did lift out others).

I can confirm that that'd look awful. A whole layer of crazy paving would just terrible. If people felt that such a thing was needed, a grey would be perfect but black is easily as good. You can identify the heights by looking at the land that is acutally there.

It's been a long time coming but I love this feature. Brilliant! :D

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Czech Republic
Please, don't lose time making excessive eyecandy. You can be making something far more useful instead :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5237
That needs no screenshot. I´m sorry, but if you can´t imagine how this would look, you may not be in the best position to judge. Sorry, no insult intended, just from an artist´s point of view.

Other than that, especially for maps with large height differences at the edges, even a simple grey tone could look too "heavy", because what you´ll get would be a massive additional "block" under the terrain.

But without (i.e. black), you´ll get a light, floating surface, as shown in the very first post. It totally convinced me at first sight!

Everything more is just bungling around.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
A suggestion then - on my OTTD build, I get the water off the edge of the map. So, where the land is not as sea-level, use the foundations as suggested, but only until it reaches sea-level, at which point... water.

That probably makes no sense at all, but I haven't had my morning coffee yet.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Czech Republic
Gremnon wrote:
A suggestion then - on my OTTD build, I get the water off the edge of the map. So, where the land is not as sea-level, use the foundations as suggested, but only until it reaches sea-level, at which point... water.

That probably makes no sense at all, but I haven't had my morning coffee yet.


You get the water off the edge because you have activated a grf which does it. Disable it and you will be alright ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
Must be the OpenGFX graphics then, because it's still there even if I disable everything in my newGRF list.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
OpenGFX does have water at the map edges, thats the source of you problems, if (or when? fingers crossed!) this hits trunk i think openGFX will be updated to do something about this...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
A bit off the original topic, but maybe make water on the map edges toggle option in Advanced Settings.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Zephyris wrote:
OpenGFX does have water at the map edges, thats the source of you problems, if (or when? fingers crossed!) this hits trunk i think openGFX will be updated to do something about this...

Just make sure SPR_SHADOW_CELL is black and not water.

I've tried to make OpenTTD draw foundations, but I couldn't get it to work without glitches. For now I'll just leave it black, if someone else could make a fix that draws foundations instead of black, we can decide what looks better. So thanks for the offer Zephyris, but without code to draw them it won't help. You could experiment with a grf that replaces SPR_SHADOW_CELL to see what it looks like though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Attached diff has the same functionality as the one in the first post, but many IsValidTiles calls have been removed. Instead, GetTileType(invalid_tile) returns MP_VOID instead of asserting.


Last edited by Yexo on Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 76
Yexo wrote:
Progman wrote:
If you build a railtrack at the north-west edge it segfaults if some time is passes until the world generated fences at the railtrack.
I think I already fixed this, most likely just after I uploaded v4.

Nope, this bug is still in v5 (didn't test v6 yet).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5237
As requested ...

regards
Michael


Attachments:
File comment: with foundations ...
xfile.png [85 KiB]
Downloaded 273 times

_________________
Image
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Progman wrote:
Yexo wrote:
Progman wrote:
If you build a railtrack at the north-west edge it segfaults if some time is passes until the world generated fences at the railtrack.
I think I already fixed this, most likely just after I uploaded v4.

Nope, this bug is still in v5 (didn't test v6 yet).

Are you using a debug build? (does it really segfault and not assert?)

michael blunck wrote:
As requested ...

Seeing this image, I can only agree that foundations are ugly there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:42 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9049
Location: Sol d
I totally love the idea of these free form edges. I *really* hope that those existing problems can besolved reasonably :)

Regarding foundations or no foundations: It should or at least could IMO be an advanced setting. Personally I find pros and cons for both, as both can look nice. The version as MB posted a mock-up with foundations looks like those slaps of model terrain you might find in any museum dealing with geology or alike. Not bad either. OTOH the version w/o foundations looks nice even though it looks also a bit awkward to be able to look "under" the terrain.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Is "SPR_SHADOW_CELL" the name of the sprite drawn at the map edges? Hopefully it is because that would mean I understand exactly what you mean :)

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Zephyris wrote:
Is "SPR_SHADOW_CELL" the name of the sprite drawn at the map edges? Hopefully it is because that would mean I understand exactly what you mean :)

It is. According to table/sprites,h it's number 1004


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 76
Yexo wrote:
Progman wrote:
Nope, this bug is still in v5 (didn't test v6 yet).

Are you using a debug build? (does it really segfault and not assert?)

Just a basic ./configure and make call. And yes, it segfaults.
Code:
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[New Thread 0x40401950 (LWP 9308)]
[Thread 0x40401950 (LWP 9308) exited]
[New Thread 0x40401950 (LWP 9309)]
[Thread 0x40401950 (LWP 9309) exited]

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0x2b563f497800 (LWP 9304)]
0x00000000004f032f in TileLoop_Track ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000000004f032f in TileLoop_Track ()
#1  0x00000000004823b2 in RunTileLoop ()
#2  0x00000000004cb7f2 in StateGameLoop ()
#3  0x00000000004cc461 in GameLoop ()
#4  0x00000000005754d1 in VideoDriver_SDL::MainLoop ()
#5  0x00000000004cd88d in ttd_main ()
#6  0x00002b563ee1f5a4 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
#7  0x0000000000405629 in _start ()
(gdb)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Progman wrote:
Yexo wrote:
Progman wrote:
Nope, this bug is still in v5 (didn't test v6 yet).

Are you using a debug build? (does it really segfault and not assert?)

Just a basic ./configure and make call. And yes, it segfaults.

Thanks, I found the bug now and it's solved in the v6 posted above.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mrjack2 and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.