Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Jul 25, 2017 6:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Hi,

Wacki, lordazamath and Ben_Robbins_ wish in this thread a lamp for each position (4 lamps than 2) so that they can replace them with a 32bpp sprite.

Lordazamath draw new lamps so that I can make a patch without copyright problems.

Here is now the first version:

Feature:
  • a road lamp for each direction (NW/NE/SW/SE)
  • lamps on all positions (in curves and on street ends are miss a few)
  • now there's thwo different styles: before 1975 have the lamps a wood pylon, from 1975 a metal one


Regards,
BigBB


Attachments:
File comment: the current look
current.png
current.png [ 9.72 KiB | Viewed 9479 times ]
File comment: the new lamps with a wood pylon
new_lamps_old.png
new_lamps_old.png [ 9.86 KiB | Viewed 8383 times ]
File comment: the new lamps with a metal pylon
new_lamps_new.png
new_lamps_new.png [ 7.46 KiB | Viewed 7652 times ]

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Last edited by BigBB on Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:40 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Patch and grf files:


Attachments:
street_lamps_v0.4.1_r11653.patch [20.63 KiB]
Downloaded 162 times
File comment: for v0.4.1 and above
openttdd.grf [371.96 KiB]
Downloaded 145 times
File comment: for v0.4.1 and above
openttdw.grf [372.12 KiB]
Downloaded 227 times

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Last edited by BigBB on Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:44 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:22 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:02 am
Posts: 137
Location: Czech Republic
Coooooooooool!!!!!!!!! :P :P :P
Thank you bigBB! 8)

_________________
Sorry for my very bad English!!! :(
I am 3dsmax artist.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
Well, the last lamp on end of the road looks a bit weird, perhaps it could be excluded (add two lamps in turns and only two lamps on ends, at opposite sides)

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:51 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Applied patch. Compiled. Don't work. Not only patch. Game too. Game without patch don't work too. Could someone post binaries for linux?

@EDIT:
System: Ubuntu Linux 7.04
gcc version: 4

_________________
Soeb

-- This user is inactive here, to contact me, please send me an e-mail. I'm always willing to answer any questions about graphic coding (or any other stuff I might know about in ottd), though my information might be quite outdated. --


Last edited by Soeb on Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
BigBB, you used the sprites in wrong positions...
this picture illustrates I hope :D Zoom in your sprites and compare

Attachment:
this.png
this.png [ 3.57 KiB | Viewed 9346 times ]

EDIT: the first and second sprite stand both for the smae road alignment..I just had a typo.
But all else...Great work and good work and fast work :D :bow: :bow: :bow:

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:47 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Bilbo wrote:
Well, the last lamp on end of the road looks a bit weird, perhaps it could be excluded (add two lamps in turns and only two lamps on ends, at opposite sides)

Done (v0.2), see third pic in first post.

lordazamath wrote:
BigBB, you used the sprites in wrong positions...[...]

Now you know how good I'm with graphics, you must hold my hand during that :D
It's fixed (v0.2), see pic.


I've change the position of the NW, SW and SE lamp a little bit, looks (for me) now better (see pic, again).

lordazamath: for me looks the lamps to brown (woody), but still better then the original (two sprites for 4 directions :roll: ). Can you drawn something who is similarly to the original look?

Regards,
BigBB

PS:
lordazamath wrote:
[...]Great work and good work and fast work

It's a pleasure for me if I can help our graphic artists :D

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
BigBB wrote:
...for me looks the lamps too brown (woody)

:idea: Good for earlier era! If you could make them change from wood to cement after a certain date it would be a nice enhancement!

regards
athanasios

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Ok. those were meant to be from wood :D But I'll draw new ones sometime, I come back from school.

edit: BTW he has got the new sprites for a while so I guess he will present us something soon :)

Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:22 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Now this is really interesting...
V E R Y nice BigBB
Once more... ;)

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
lordazamath wrote:
edit: BTW he has got the new sprites for a while so I guess he will present us something soon :)

Right, exactly: now :D

As a new feature: before 1975 have the lamps a wood pylon, from 1975 a metal one (see pics in first post)

Also I fixed the toyland bug, it have now it's own lamp back.

I've rewrote the whole "draw road trees" and "draw road lamps" stuff, it should be better now.

Regards,
BigBB

Attention: don't forget to download the new grf package!

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
BigBB..I have experienced some trouble with opening *.7z with Ark (a program in Linux, purpose same as WinZip of 7zip or whatever...) So it would be nice if you could post it in some other archive format. I know I can do it somewhere in command line, but I don't know how..Although I can always reboot to windows, un7z the archive and boot to Linux again...

EDIT:
Quote:
Now you know how good I'm with graphics, you must hold my hand during that :D


Look at those sprites again...carefully :D and put them same way as the older ones..I hope I didn't give you wrong aligned lines in that pcx I sent you...Just try to align the new ones like the older..The wooden are right, but for metal ones, you have messed up them.
EDIT2: Illustration


Attachments:
yeah.png
yeah.png [ 8.5 KiB | Viewed 8713 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Ok..made a trip to windows and back again...it gives me this. (I patched compiled it already)
Code:
[madis@localhost bin]$ ./openttd
Your 'OPENTTDW.GRF' file is corrupted or missing! The file was part of your installation.

openttd: /home/madis/Töölaud/svnTRUNK/signals/src/spritecache.cpp:476: const void* GetRawSprite(SpriteID, bool): Assertion `sprite < _spritecache_items' failed.
Aborted
[madis@localhost bin]$


But I updated to your grf...I think you should put it up here in some other format. Maybe the openttdw.grf got injured while copying it from linux to windows.. God knows what MDV2008 can read and what it cannot :(

Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:25 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:22 pm
Posts: 950
Seems to happen more these days:

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=35058


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
lordazamath wrote:
BigBB..I have experienced some trouble with opening *.7z with Ark (a program in Linux, purpose same as WinZip of 7zip or whatever...) So it would be nice if you could post it in some other archive format.

I know Ark, I use Windows and Linux ...
You must install the "pzip"(AFAIK)-package to extract 7z. But okay, for you I will post a zip or tar.bz2 file :D .

lordazamath wrote:
Look at those sprites again...carefully :D and put them same way as the older ones..I hope I didn't give you wrong aligned lines in that pcx I sent you...Just try to align the new ones like the older..The wooden are right, but for metal ones, you have messed up them.
EDIT2: Illustration

The metal are the same as the wooden, so both wrong or both right.

You gave me this (NW/SE/SW/NE:
Attachment:
this.png
this.png [ 1.38 KiB | Viewed 8641 times ]


and I use it so:
Attachment:
yeah.png
yeah.png [ 5.84 KiB | Viewed 8652 times ]


But I change it if you say it me :)

lordazamath wrote:
But I updated to your grf...I think you should put it up here in some other format. Maybe the openttdw.grf got injured while copying it from linux to windows.. God knows what MDV2008 can read and what it cannot

Hmm, I make the next version under Linux (as soon as you told me how I use the sprites).

Regards,
BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
In that case, my mistake...Flip the black stripes in that this.png :D My mistake...I think that the wooden ones have still the same problem..Sorry
Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:48 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:51 am
Posts: 85
Location: Slovenia
to lordazamath: if you use Ubuntu (or a Ubuntu-based distro, don't know for Debian), you need to install the package 'p7zip-full' and you'll have support for 7zip in Ark.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:21 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
lordazamath wrote:
Flip the black stripes

All fliped. To make our life easier, next time please in this order: NW/SE/SW/NE

New version with a new grf-package with 7z or tar.bz2 archived. Choose the one you prefer.
lordazamath: on the file size can you see why I use mostly 7z :D


Regards,
BigBB

Attention: don't forget to download the new grf package!

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Thank you soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much. :) Now I start compiling again...Although I guess, you didn't change code...But I hope now it doesn't give errors....Thank you :)

BTW: BigBB, is your real name Markus? If it is, guess how I found that out ;)
EDIT: 7z is indeed the most compressing archive...
Lord

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
lordazamath wrote:
Although I guess, you didn't change code

Only files.h for the checksum (md5).

lordazamath wrote:
But I hope now it doesn't give errors....

I too :)


lordazamath wrote:
BTW: BigBB, is your real name Markus? If it is, guess how I found that out ;)

Yes and I don't know. In mails to patch@openttd.org is my name...

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.