Patch: Town road layout

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
skidd13
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 10:49
Location: Germany

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by skidd13 »

kilo.dollar wrote:Will the patch correct already wrongly-built town roads?
skidd13 wrote:
  • Roadworks will cleanup the road tiles.
So yes.
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

skidd13

please be so kind as to visit

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=33756

(I didn't know this was your patch, and thank you so much for it! It forms the basis for my games already. I'm basically looking to make the 3x3 grid (Which I always use) to synchronize with all the other towns grids.
David McMahon
User avatar
skidd13
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 10:49
Location: Germany

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by skidd13 »

My town road cleanup patch(Take a look to a few posts earlier) does this, so no need to write more stuff. ;) It' isn't in trunk so, there's still some optimisation needed but it's fully working.
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

great thanks man
David McMahon
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

I've never applied a patch before erm.. How do I do it? (the

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... ying+patch

page look complicated!

Can someone point me in right direction? (I see from the fly spray page that you are upto version 10926
Is the 10926 patch compatible with latest nightlys? (i'm on 10975 and always update daily)

Thanks again for the patch Benedikt.

David
Last edited by Dave_McMahon on 25 Aug 2007 22:43, edited 1 time in total.
David McMahon
Tom0004
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 822
Joined: 01 Jul 2007 22:33
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Tom0004 »

there you go dave

Build OTTD

no, AFAIK you have to use the revision number of the patch, to the revision number of the OTTD nightly build.

if i'm wrong could someone state otherwise !!

thanks 0004tom
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

Think i'm gonna wait until it is in the nightlys but thanks for the tip
David McMahon
Youri219
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 28 Apr 2007 11:53

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Youri219 »

0004tom wrote:no, AFAIK you have to use the revision number of the patch, to the revision number of the OTTD nightly build.

if i'm wrong could someone state otherwise !!

thanks 0004tom
If the parts of the code affected by the patch are unchanged in different revisions it may work just fine, but using the matching revision gives the best chances.
Normandy333
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 26 Aug 2007 18:01

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Normandy333 »

There should be some sort of option to have a 2x2 grid and 3x3 grid at the same time sort of layout. Sure towns use grids, but not that much griding. Using a 2x2/3x3 grid layout at the same time would both the aesthetically pleasing, as well as still pretty efficient.
User avatar
skidd13
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 10:49
Location: Germany

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by skidd13 »

Normandy333 wrote:There should be some sort of option to have a 2x2 grid and 3x3 grid at the same time sort of layout. Sure towns use grids, but not that much griding. Using a 2x2/3x3 grid layout at the same time would both the aesthetically pleasing, as well as still pretty efficient.
Take a look at my signature! ->random town layouts. It's not quite the same but...
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
User avatar
kilo.dollar
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 161
Joined: 02 Jul 2007 08:45
Location: Harare

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by kilo.dollar »

This is a great patch. I wish the do_not_build_inconnective_roads_r*****.patch was also like this.
I think that I may never see,
A billboard as lovely as a tree.
Perhaps, unless the billboards start to fall,
I may never see a tree at all.
chrissicom
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 415
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 10:05

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by chrissicom »

This is a great patch which I have tested a lot lately and I am really happy with it. If you're ok with it I'd like to add it to ChrisIN :)
User avatar
skidd13
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 10:49
Location: Germany

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by skidd13 »

chrissicom wrote:This is a great patch which I have tested a lot lately and I am really happy with it. If you're ok with it I'd like to add it to ChrisIN :)
I'd be pleased if you'd add it. If you need any additional informations just pm.
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

Wow does that mean my map of Britain will now be totaly-aligned 3x3 grid! good stuff!
David McMahon
Mchl
Director
Director
Posts: 611
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 15:50
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Mchl »

Dave_McMahon wrote:Wow does that mean my map of Britain will now be totaly-aligned 3x3 grid! good stuff!
Your map of Britain will be most likely the most dull place in the world... :lol: Although a Transport Tycoon's paradise for sure.;)
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

I'm trying to recreate Britain as a 100% coverage 3x3 grid.
David McMahon
Mchl
Director
Director
Posts: 611
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 15:50
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Mchl »

Yes, I am aware of that... Just think it would be a boring landscape... Although might give interesting gameplay
Dave_McMahon
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 253
Joined: 22 Apr 2005 15:40
Location: Ipswich U.K

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by Dave_McMahon »

It's designed to be mega city 2
David McMahon
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by athanasios »

You have to use a big map setting and patch to support it! :mrgreen:
Once I downloaded a map of my country and was disappointed. Our 4.000.000 city was no more than 6 tiles. :(
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
User avatar
skidd13
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 10:49
Location: Germany

Re: Patch: Town road layout

Post by skidd13 »

NEWS: The town road cleanup is in trunk now. :)

r11172: Codechange: rewrite of town road building and addition of the possibility to clean up unconnected road bits during the local road reconstructions.
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests