Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:24 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 3:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Im trying to develop a small patch (makes a change, eh!), to allow snow graphics in the temperate climate. So far, results are not bad; I have trees, roads, tracks, and town buildings working. I want to see if I can get it to show forests with the snow forest graphics, and perhaps limit some industries (eg. farms) from being built above the treeline.

Here are some sample ingame pics.

[edit] Patch posted. Have a try with this, if its stable enough, I will add it to TerraGenesis Perlin & Mini IN.


Attachments:
File comment: A town spreading across the snowline; note the snow houses above the line, and ordinary temperate houses below.
Unnamed, 25th Feb 1950.png
Unnamed, 25th Feb 1950.png [ 102.84 KiB | Viewed 18071 times ]
File comment: Temperate towns above the snowline in loaded games slowly convert over to full snow graphics as each building is replaced.
Mike Hunt transport, 2nd Dec 2005.png
Mike Hunt transport, 2nd Dec 2005.png [ 95.48 KiB | Viewed 18058 times ]
File comment: Snow in Temperate climate. r4442
snow_in_temp_r4442.patch [7.34 KiB]
Downloaded 712 times

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Last edited by richk67 on Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 3:56 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:42 pm
Posts: 808
Location: Sweden
That looks very nice!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 4:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:01 pm
Posts: 3128
Location: Leicester / Hull - Britland
Indeed.

I must start using patches...

_________________
My OpenTTD screenshot thread.

Formerly known as Lankku.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Awesome! Keep up this great job :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
richk67 wrote:
(There is current a SVN trunk bug where snow and desert track tiles keep getting repainted in green, then evolve to snow/desert, back to green etc.)

Pretty funny eh? :P

Nice patch, it would be nice if you can add some of the artic industries. Of course this could ruin the fun of having multiple climates because you create a super climate this way, but it would still be cool 8).

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 1734
XeryusTC wrote:

Nice patch, it would be nice if you can add some of the artic industries. Of course this could ruin the fun of having multiple climates because you create a super climate this way, but it would still be cool 8).

I'm all for a 2048x2048 world map with different climates on different continents, or even just a single continent spanning country, like America and Russia. :D

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
White Rabbit wrote:
I'm all for a 2048x2048 world map with different climates on different continents, or even just a single continent spanning country, like America and Russia. :D
Guys - keep hold of reality here. I can only do so much... graphic snow is all you will get here. Im not in the mood to rewrite the whole industry side of things.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Here is a new screenie, showing latest support for 2 styles of forest graphic in same climate. (This is just a sprite swap - if I disabled the patch, the forest would be a temperate one.)

Also note the snowy & non-snowy tunnel entrances based on terrain height.

For those who want a play, a patch is now attached to the original post.


Attachments:
File comment: Two forest graphics in temperate climate.
Munningville Transport, 18th May 1950.png
Munningville Transport, 18th May 1950.png [ 42.16 KiB | Viewed 17920 times ]

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 8:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
great work!
i used to play in artic climate with alpine grf, which has some glitches with tracks/foundations but is really cool
now with your work we can have also snow on temperate, but try to replace the brown-ish terrain with grass, maybe you can keep the brown-ish terrain to show the bulldozed terrain upon the snow line and the current bulldozed terrain to show it below the snow line :)

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:00 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Jarrow, UK
Rich, would it be possible, with your new airports sprite file, to have snow on the airfield on high airports?

_________________
PGP fingerprint: E66A 9D58 AA10 E967 41A6 474E E41D 10AE 082C F3ED


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Wolf01 wrote:
great work!
i used to play in artic climate with alpine grf, which has some glitches with tracks/foundations but is really cool
now with your work we can have also snow on temperate, but try to replace the brown-ish terrain with grass, maybe you can keep the brown-ish terrain to show the bulldozed terrain upon the snow line and the current bulldozed terrain to show it below the snow line :)
Personally I like that there is a brown barren area before the start of full snow. It is quite a harsh transition from green>barren, but the only other alternative is loading in more new graphics. Im not keen to go down that route.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Brianetta wrote:
Rich, would it be possible, with your new airports sprite file, to have snow on the airfield on high airports?
Possible, but someone needs to create a working set of sprites (eg. hangars with snow on roof, all the buildings with snow. If any graphic artist wants to volunteer (please use my airports.grf in the Mini IN data zip).

But the biggest problem is the tarmac. It is used in an omni-directional way at the moment, and so any snow on it will look odd in some direction or another. The airports with grass verges can have snow easily.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:00 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Jarrow, UK
Well, one could assume that the tarmac areas were well gritted, and possible even heated (they don't use salt, because they care more about planes than local authorities do about cars). I'd imagine that just the grass verges, and possibly the roofs, would need snow. It's just that a big airport always looks so obviously snow-free in Hilly. In Desert, it looks like they spend a fortune on sprinklers...

_________________
PGP fingerprint: E66A 9D58 AA10 E967 41A6 474E E41D 10AE 082C F3ED


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 1:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
richk67 wrote:
Personally I like that there is a brown barren area before the start of full snow. It is quite a harsh transition from green>barren, but the only other alternative is loading in more new graphics. Im not keen to go down that route.
So, of course, having said that, I go try it... and now have it working with Michael Blunk's graphics. Currently Im loading the full set, which is not very sprite-number friendly (ie. Im loading hundreds of extra sprites Im not using). I will see if MB could create a mini-set, with his green/snow graphics and the full snow graphic to minimise sprite loads.


Attachments:
File comment: Green fading into snow
Wrundston Transport, 25th Mar 1952 #1.png
Wrundston Transport, 25th Mar 1952 #1.png [ 64.72 KiB | Viewed 17817 times ]

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
richk67 wrote:
I will see if MB could create a mini-set, with his green/snow graphics and the full snow graphic to minimise sprite loads.
OK. Good news on this. I have had info from Michael, and can create a cut-down set with his permission... so look out for an improved patch of this shortly (may be next week... im busy!).

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:54 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Berlin, Germany
Even if this is already solved: You can llok at my old season patch. There I also had a code for matching autumn and winter trees with the OTTD standard sprites. Of course, not all do match. The patch is here http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=15487&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=38.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:17 am
Posts: 28
Great Patch!

I know, I'm digging out an old thread, but it's better than starting a new one on almost the same topic, I think ;)

What about the other features of ttdpatch regarding snow? I believe instead of doing our own thing, we should try to get the grf features from ttdpatch to work in ottd. (I don't want to use wine for playing ttdpatch, if I could play ottd under linux)

So far, I got tempsnowline (with my little knowledge of C/C++) in latest newhouses branch to work. (I'll post the diff, when I cleaned the code a bit). A little bit drunken from this successfull adventure into the sources of ottd ;) I thought of going a step further and started to work on the feature for different snowlines for different days which the alpine climate grf is using. Ok, I believe I'll get it working and after I took a look into the diff for the seasons patch, I even have an idea how to do it. Or has somebody already coded it?

Hm, I began writing this posting, because I had another question, but now I can't remember anymore :( ...

Edit:

Here is my diff against sources from newhouses branch rev 8642.

You can toggle tempsnowline feature in patch configuration (economics tab, hadn't got a better idea). Setting snowline and snow_line_height_table from grf's works :) (tested it with a modified version of alpine climate). Buildings and trees over snowline are from arctic climate, under snowline from temperate. While switching tempsnowline on/off or changing the actual snowline through a grf (setting it directly or with help of snow_line_height_table) my patch will convert temperate trees over snowline into arctic trees, trees under snowline in temperate ones.

I haven't touched town growth or industries (e.g. forest only over snowline or town over needs food for growing like in original patch), so snow is only eyecandy.


Attachments:
tempsnowline.diff [28.76 KiB]
Downloaded 353 times
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 93
*bump*

Would love to see snow in Temperate again.... (unless i'm missing something?)

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 10:56 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:38 pm
Posts: 134
Dylan - I agree.

Rich/Valance - Given the recent changes in the nightlies, is the idea of snow in temperate any closer to (again) being a reality? I'm not sure what would be involved to bring either approach up-to-date, but perhaps now there is enough interest to run with this idea...

Perhaps some coordination with Kolijn Wolfaardt's new terrain - allowing for a seamless temperate snowline set?

Thanks-

_________________
Many thanks to those who make OTTD and TTDP possible.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Well, from my POV this isnt going to happen anytime soon. 3 reasons:
1) Im having a small break, and then I'll get back to working on newgrf airports.
2) The graphics for the snow in temp patch belong to M.Blunck, and I received special permission to include it in MiniIN. I have not sought a wider release that would be needed for trunk.
3) It may be academic if a fullblown all-climates-in-one-scenario option is created.
Nothing stopping anyone else working on it though.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.