Subsidiaries management (latest build: r7213)

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

FlipFlipsen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 70
Joined: 22 Dec 2002 09:38

Post by FlipFlipsen »

Thank you very much Lord.

Alltaken
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1285
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 06:24
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Alltaken »

wow this is rocking. ten times better than the patch management option.

i am loving it.

Alltaken

User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2013
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

this rules, i hate cheating to remove roads and "save" opponent's vehicles from level crossings but i always do this, in this way i can do this without cheating :D

pomeranc.cz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 18
Joined: 25 Nov 2004 06:35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Contact:

New wersion?

Post by pomeranc.cz »

Where we can find it? Today ist 7th of december :)
My english is bad, i know, sorry!

User avatar
teeone
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 307
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 20:54
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: New wersion?

Post by teeone »

pomeranc.cz wrote:Where we can find it? Today ist 7th of december :)
Hopefully this patch will be merged with the main nightly.....abit buggy but still fun.....

User avatar
LordOfThePigs
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 435
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 10:28
Location: Jura/Switzerland

Re: New wersion?

Post by LordOfThePigs »

pomeranc.cz wrote:Where we can find it? Today ist 7th of december :)
Sorry everyone, I was away for one week, so I wasn't able to keep my patch "in synch" with the latest nightly. But here is a version built with the latest nightly's changes. Please note that there is one more file than usual: openttd.grf in the \data folder. It will probably be included into this nights' build, but I don't think it has been distributed yet .
teeone wrote: Abit buggy.....
Please tell me about those bugs, so I get a chance to correct them.

Lord of the Pigs

PS (off-topic): The good news about having gone away for one full week, is that I am now a Swiss Ski School certified kids instructor.
Last edited by LordOfThePigs on 11 Dec 2004 19:00, edited 2 times in total.
Sometimes I'm told "Brilliant"...
Sometimes I'm told "Charming"...
And Often I'm told "Shut Up"!

jake
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Apr 2004 01:42

Post by jake »

hmmm, I get the error "Invalid version of language packs" when I try to run openttd.exe

User avatar
LordOfThePigs
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 435
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 10:28
Location: Jura/Switzerland

Post by LordOfThePigs »

jake wrote:hmmm, I get the error "Invalid version of language packs" when I try to run openttd.exe
Did you also unpack the english.lng (into \langs) file included in the zip, as well as openttd.grf (into \data). You will absolutely need the file that are packed into the zip, no other version will do.

And remember that it will run correctly only in english (until it's merged into the trunk and the strings get translated), so you will have to switch language to english before playing with this version (removing all other .lng files should also work).

Lord of the pigs
Sometimes I'm told "Brilliant"...
Sometimes I'm told "Charming"...
And Often I'm told "Shut Up"!

jake
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Apr 2004 01:42

Post by jake »

LordOfThePigs wrote: Did you also unpack the english.lng (into \langs) file included in the zip, as well as openttd.grf (into \data). You will absolutely need the file that are packed into the zip, no other version will do.

And remember that it will run correctly only in english (until it's merged into the trunk and the strings get translated), so you will have to switch language to english before playing with this version (removing all other .lng files should also work).

Lord of the pigs
I never had any trouble with the other ones. I download the latest nightly and this is when I got the error. If I have time I will try it with an older version. I tried deleting all the other language files besides english, with no luck. Yes it is the right file, I have double checked it. No big worry, it seems like I am the only one with the problem so it must be something I am doing. I have an older version of it running right now.

User avatar
LordOfThePigs
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 435
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 10:28
Location: Jura/Switzerland

Post by LordOfThePigs »

Oops, my fault, i'm very very sorry, I included an outdated version of the language pack.

Sorry for putting the blame on you jake.

Lord of the pigs
Last edited by LordOfThePigs on 11 Dec 2004 18:59, edited 1 time in total.
Sometimes I'm told "Brilliant"...
Sometimes I'm told "Charming"...
And Often I'm told "Shut Up"!

jake
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Apr 2004 01:42

Post by jake »

It works now, Thanks!

User avatar
LordOfThePigs
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 435
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 10:28
Location: Jura/Switzerland

Post by LordOfThePigs »

Hello,

Here's a new version. You shouldn't notice any difference, it only corrects an assertion error in the debug build.
Last edited by LordOfThePigs on 11 Jan 2005 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
Sometimes I'm told "Brilliant"...
Sometimes I'm told "Charming"...
And Often I'm told "Shut Up"!

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

Best... patch... ever

traskjd
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 17 Nov 2004 04:18
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by traskjd »

Does this work with multiplayer? Would be awesome if it did (I can't check right this second so it's quicker to ask :-) )

Also, I've noticed in the new network code that I can't buy out 100% of a human competitor - which is fine, but with this patch it would somewhat make sense if you could effectively "sell" a subsidary company to a human player (maybe it says "x company wished to acquire the last 25% of your company y for $nnn,nnn,nnn. Do you accept this take over?").

Would be awesome :-)

- JD

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

even computer players?

User avatar
Bernhard
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 293
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 11:26
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O

Post by Bernhard »

LordOfThePigs wrote: Did you also unpack the english.lng (into \langs) file included in the zip, as well as openttd.grf (into \data). You will absolutely need the file that are packed into the zip, no other version will do.
Lord of the pigs
what's about other languages?
Which parts of the language-pack has to be translated?
I would do an german translation

jake
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Apr 2004 01:42

Post by jake »

Will there ever be any more updates to this patch?
Will it ever become part of OpenTTD?

PeteB
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 83
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 14:40
Location: Chester, U.K

Post by PeteB »

I hope so, it gives it the edge over the TTD Patch version IMHO.

Pete

User avatar
Bernhard
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 293
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 11:26
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O

Post by Bernhard »

i think we must praise LordOfThePigs :D

I agree, it is a very good tool, many people are waiting for a new version.
so, please, LordOfThePigs............ please update!

tgsc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 17:37

Post by tgsc »

Found another bug

I loaded a saved game to try the patch out, the game was saved soon after I had destroyed a station (ghost station name was still present and grey)

When trying to load the game it says "Game Loading Failed"

I presume its something to do with the ghost station name still being present because previous games load fine

EDIT: Also the latest version seems to be missing the landscape button on the road/rail/other construction menus that was on v0.3.5 OTTD

\/ attatched save incase theres any other reason for the failed load
Attachments
Fratwood Transport, 15th Nov 2037.sav
(133.63 KiB) Downloaded 165 times

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Level Crossing and 5 guests