Text Corruption on build

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

traskjd
Engineer
Engineer

Text Corruption on build

Post by traskjd »

Hi,

Before I get blasted for asking a question about code not working when it comes right from SVN, this is just to ensure I'm not doing anything wrong.

I'm a software developer, although pretty much all .net these days I remember C / C++ etc and am interested in poking around the code and possibly working on changes in the future (work and life willing :-) )

However, I'm having a problem and I'm not sure if it's me or the code - I'm willing to bet it's me.

When I compile the network branch of OpenTTD I can get it built fine in both Debug and Release mode however when I run it I get a pile of corrupted multi-coloured text at the bottom of the screen. Also an error about a string character in the console window behind it (if running the debug build). I've grabbed the latest a few times from the networking branch and all the times I've done it I've had this problem - before and after you guys trialled playing the multiplayer - so I'm thinking it's probably just me.

Is this a common newbie setup problem? Just looking for an answer, then the thread can be locked or deleted :-) It's just for future reference as well.

BTW, to whoever is coding the new network layer, it's looking good, certainly a lot of code has been written from what I've seen :-)

- JD

P.S. Running on Win2k3, VS.Net 2003 [No problems with 2k3 and the normal download, just when I compile :)]
traskjd
Engineer
Engineer

Post by traskjd »

Since I'm not getting too much of a response I can only guess I haven't given enough detail :-)

Here is a screen dump from the game as soon as it loads.
Attachments
Screen corruption example
Screen corruption example
example.PNG (186.08 KiB) Viewed 3159 times
Celestar
Director
Director