Allow diagonal dragging of rivers

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6608
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Allow diagonal dragging of rivers

Post by Redirect Left » 08 Apr 2019 01:30

Howdy.

I've finally started working on some scenarios, and trying to do intricate rivers. However this is slowed down by rivers being only placed in squares/rectangles.
I think it'd work neater if it was like the destroy function, where you can hold down CTRL to drag in a diagonal fashion.

cheers for reading!
Last edited by Redirect Left on 08 Apr 2019 10:18, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: Allow diagonal dragging of rivers

Post by peter1138 » 08 Apr 2019 09:05

Hmm, in the scenario editor, pressing ctrl switches the canal tool from placing canal to placing sea. Wondering if, for consistency, this should be split off to a separate button and then have ctrl do diagonals regardless of water class.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6608
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Allow diagonal dragging of rivers

Post by Redirect Left » 09 Apr 2019 15:35

peter1138 wrote:Hmm, in the scenario editor, pressing ctrl switches the canal tool from placing canal to placing sea. Wondering if, for consistency, this should be split off to a separate button and then have ctrl do diagonals regardless of water class.
That'd be even better. I hadn't used canals so i was unaware that also had a different behaviour for CTRL.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9335
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Allow diagonal dragging of rivers

Post by planetmaker » 09 Apr 2019 15:42

peter1138 wrote:Hmm, in the scenario editor, pressing ctrl switches the canal tool from placing canal to placing sea. Wondering if, for consistency, this should be split off to a separate button and then have ctrl do diagonals regardless of water class.
yes

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests