Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 1:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1042
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
I was thinking again today that the scenario editor feels like it is missing a way to run the river generator in a similar way to the 'Many Random Industries / Towns" tools.

Sometimes a heightmap may require a bit of tweaking to sort out obstructed valleys, or other impediments to river generation first, so it would be nice to be able to run the generator manually after making these changes, rather than correcting or re-building odd and dead-end rivers manually. Additionally, the user may want to add more rivers than they got on an initial run.

Best,

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:51 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4713
Location: home
Scenario editor is in need of a lot of love from a programmer to make it easier to use.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1042
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Alberth wrote:
Scenario editor is in need of a lot of love from a programmer to make it easier to use.


Indeed this is true, and the river generator itself could use some work (I know there have been various efforts by others to create improved river generators). That said, even something as basic as a command or button to just re-run the generator would help a lot, similar to how the world generation steps of town and industry placement can be run, and re-run within the SE with the "Many Random ..." buttons.

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2012
Location: Venezia - Italia
Alberth wrote:
Scenario editor is in need of a lot of love from a programmer to make it easier to use.

There was once a programmer named Wolf which wanted to give some love to the scenario editor... :roll:

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7350
I wonder what happened to him.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Alberth wrote:
Scenario editor is in need of a lot of love from a programmer to make it easier to use.


Truth is here, especially since the scenario editor can't handle things as simple as lowering / leveling / etc terrain in the same way as during a game, thus making creation of mountains or other landscapes quite long.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.