Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Train-Trams in OpenTTD
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 35
So by checking PikkaBird's Standard Gauge Tram Tracks, i thought of an idea : why not include train-trams ?

I thought about the vehicles : Siemens Avanto (2006) and Citadis Dualis (2016).

However, this may be quite difficult. Tram tracks are considered as roads so they can't be placed on rails, and you can't put rails on roads.
The only solution to have something like that is to make some terraformation and destroying a little buildings and placing bridges over road but you'll need tolerant authorities for that.

So would it be possible...or not ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6098
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
That'd be a cool feature. Near me there is a Tram-Train starting using these; https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Rail_Class_399

would be nice to replicate it

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: Virgo Supercluster
I think the best you can do ... is fake it. Like usual ;)

Have the "train" part of the tram run into a depot at the edge of town, and start the "tram" part of the route there from a tram depot. Using precise time schedules, it might look like one vehicle. Kind of. ^^


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:26 pm 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7261
Location: Manchester
It's certainly been proposed, and may be possible with the advent of NotRoadTypes. Would like to see these myself, I know they're rather common in Germany for example, and my current German Game would have benefited from them.

As for the British Tram-Trains/Class 399s; they've just been a bit of a farce so far.

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 35
Pyoro wrote:
I think the best you can do ... is fake it. Like usual ;)

Have the "train" part of the tram run into a depot at the edge of town, and start the "tram" part of the route there from a tram depot. Using precise time schedules, it might look like one vehicle. Kind of. ^^


I already tried a lot of times this kind of thing, like with precise time schedules a bus going from a big city to a smaller city with a dock, then the passengers are transfered to the dock and just after the boat comes and take the passengers to an island.

I also tried, by destroying tons of buildings, to create a "downtown railway line" which follows roads. It allows for my intercity trains accomplishing a long travel to start downtown to get more passengers :lol:

I've also read "NotRoadTypes" and it looks pretty cool.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.