Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:06 pm
Posts: 37
When you follow a vehicle by clicking on it, the vehicle status at a station reads "Loading / Unloading". This is not very informative, especially when we now have the ability to show loading percentage.

The issue I have is that if I put a bus station in the middle of a town, then extend it with a train station further out, the station name is only above the bus station. When a train pulls into such a station, I can't tell where it is.

I would like to suggest that instead of "Loading / Unloading", the station name be displayed.

This requires a change to the language files:
Code:
STR_VEHICLE_STATUS_LOADING_UNLOADING                            :{LTBLUE}Loading / Unloading
change to
STR_VEHICLE_STATUS_LOADING_UNLOADING                            :{LTBLUE}{STATION}

and to vehicle.gui:

Code:
            case OT_LOADING:
               SetDParam(0, v->current_order.GetDestination());      // Added
               str = STR_VEHICLE_STATUS_LOADING_UNLOADING;
               break;

_________________
Attila
"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:42 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:55 pm
Posts: 139
I like it, it fits into my attempts to gradually refine OpenTTD's UI with patches. Useful, never in the way, trivial to implement, unlikely to be buggy (have you tested if this text can show up with no orders? If it can, how does your modification behave when that happens?) - I'd include it in trunk ASAP. 8)
The only problem is that I'm not a dev. I guess you should post it as a feature request on the bug tracker, and probably poke the devs on IRC too.
There's just one little thing that might come up when you get them on the case: Just the station name on its own may not be optimal yet, perhaps "Loading / Unloading at {STATION}" would work better (for consistency with the existing "Heading for {STATION}" text). Or "(Un-)Loading at {STATION}" if you're worried about the text not fitting into the vehicle window's width.

Related: A few of the other status texts could use the same enhancement. Most notably "Broken down" and "Waiting for free path" because they tend to come up frequently. Especially for the latter text length might become an issue though. I'm not sure how hard it is to give "Leaving" the same treatment, conditional orders might interfere, but maybe this could be worth getting the enhancement as well. (I haven't looked up exactly which conditions trigger this status line.) For the remaining ones, the vehicle won't move anywhere anytime soon, so displaying the destination is rather pointless.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:44 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 318
Location: S.W. London
This seems like a simple but helpful feature: I like. Also, thanks for showing how it may be implemented. Not that I could implement it.

_________________
Image

Maker of many GRFs, most of which are pretty poor.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.