Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: europe 512 x 512
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:06 pm
Posts: 5
well we have here realy big europe maps of 2024x 2024 and then 4048x4042, but how about creating smaller height map ? having so big map is not ideal on all times (e.q. for playing game on tablet).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: europe 512 x 512
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:23 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 940
Location: ::1
Height maps are generic, greyscale png images. If there are height maps you like, but if they are too big for your taste, you can resize them using any image manipulation programs (such as Gimp), and use that.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: europe 512 x 512
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
Sylf wrote:
Height maps are generic, greyscale png images. If there are height maps you like, but if they are too big for your taste, you can resize them using any image manipulation programs (such as Gimp), and use that.


Also, when you start a game from a heightmap, it will allow you to rescale the heightmap before the game is generated.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: europe 512 x 512
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:06 pm
Posts: 5
kamnet wrote:
Sylf wrote:
Height maps are generic, greyscale png images. If there are height maps you like, but if they are too big for your taste, you can resize them using any image manipulation programs (such as Gimp), and use that.


Also, when you start a game from a heightmap, it will allow you to rescale the heightmap before the game is generated.


yes, it allow, but when i tried to convert 2024x2024 to 512x512 map i got warning that i did to big resize to be converted without errors.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: europe 512 x 512
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
I believe OpenTTD will let you ignore that and generate it anyway. But a vastly resized heighmap from original will always create a few little errors, mainly hills will be a bit jagged i find.

It isn't hard to find or reate your own heightmap though on google.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.