Port SDL 1.2 code to SDL 2.0

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9280
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Port SDL 1.2 code to SDL 2.0

Post by planetmaker » 28 Jan 2019 18:58

njn wrote: Also, as I've noted in the pull request (https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenTTD/pull/7086), I'm specifying the SDL 2 renderer as a software renderer for stability reasons. Messing with the GPU sounds nice but introduces some problems that may not work on everyone's setups.
We do some funky stuff with the processor mmx extensionsions.... maybe similar can be done. But that's definitely out-of-scope for a PR which just establishes SDL2 - more a follow-up.

User avatar
njn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 11 Jan 2019 03:03
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Port SDL 1.2 code to SDL 2.0

Post by njn » 28 Feb 2019 15:36

Alright, well my PR is now out of "work-in-progress" state. Please take a look and see if you can break things with regard to changing resolutions, or any other problems. And also, we'll need to make sure keyboard shortcuts and input are all working correctly: SDL2 handles text input in a different way than 1.2, so there were some significant changes in that area required in this video driver.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests