Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:23 pm
Posts: 2
i was thinking the other day, real airplanes have a max distance they can travel becouse of the fuel they can store. it would be more fun and also more realistic if in open ttd the airplanes would have maximum distances they can travel. it could make some airplanes that are useless now better on the long distance while others with higher capicity still do better on the short distances.

also it would stop the airplanes that flligh all over the world and get way to much money.

how do you all think about it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: Canada
branko wrote:
i was thinking the other day, real airplanes have a max distance they can travel becouse of the fuel they can store. it would be more fun and also more realistic if in open ttd the airplanes would have maximum distances they can travel. it could make some airplanes that are useless now better on the long distance while others with higher capicity still do better on the short distances.

also it would stop the airplanes that flligh all over the world and get way to much money.

how do you all think about it?
It's a very intriguing idea. Unfortunately you suggested:
Quote:
if in open ttd
and this is a TTDPatch forum. If you want to be sure that the OpenTTD folks see this, you might want to post your suggestion over here somewhere. 8)

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Before creating a duplicate post there, I'd advise you to use the search function. This has been suggested multiple times.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:23 pm
Posts: 2
Yexo wrote:
Before creating a duplicate post there, I'd advise you to use the search function. This has been suggested multiple times.


i did read the to do list. it didnt mention this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:17 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4662
Location: home
I got two hits in a search:
search.php?keywords=airplane+limited+distance&terms=all&submit=Search


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
I once tried to implement it via newgrf, but that proved to be quite difficult, as there is (afaik) no way to check how long its been since the vehicle left an airport, or how long it is to the next airport, or similar. If any devs can point me in the direction of this I might have a chance. The way I would do it is that when a vehicle is out of range (either in the start or the end, depending on method) it would go at, say, 1/10th the speed, or the running cost would be 10x higher, or something similar. Ofcourse adjusable ranges (from lets say 1/64th to 64/1's), where the default could be something like real range in km/10 tiles. I.e. An 737NG (600-700-800-900) would have a range from aprox 300-500 tiles.

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:41 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
I'd try to go for an approach around that: increase running costs tremendously when last servicing is XX days ago. Thus longer flight routes would not be profitable. You'd need to check for the engine speed multiplicator, though.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:50 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 209
Or maybe as a restriction in the order GUI like it is with ships? You can't drive from one harbour to the next if the distance between them is too long (except you use buoys).

_________________
DACH Train Set
My Screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:56 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
possibly even better: Just limit the speed to snail speed when the maintenance time is over-due ;-) - though I'm not sure that callback can be triggered in-flight.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
planetmaker wrote:
possibly even better: Just limit the speed to snail speed when the maintenance time is over-due ;-) - though I'm not sure that callback can be triggered in-flight.


If there was a setting with autoservice on airports, then it would indeed be possible to do it that way.

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:47 am
Posts: 11065
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
If you start meddling with this "fuel" thing for airplanes, then what about RVs, diesel locomotives, ships? The issue is the same.

_________________
Leon

Image Image Image Image
"... all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by..." - John Masefield


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1028
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Voyager1 wrote:
If you start meddling with this "fuel" thing for airplanes, then what about RVs, diesel locomotives, ships? The issue is the same.


Except, typically results are less disastrous if a bus runs out of fuel... you cannot get out of the plane and walk

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:47 am
Posts: 11065
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
True, a bus is the least of "evils". Now lets take a look at a diesel locomotive - stops in the middle of a mainline and... BIG trouble for the network.

As far as I can see, it's the same thing like a topic I've read last week. It was about electricity and stuff like that. IMO, all these things should be kept as simple as possible. Fuel and similar stuff are (or should be) already included in running costs, aren't they? And planes usually have pretty high running costs.

BTW, most planes IRL can cross enormous distances. Unless someone is playing a map from here to Mars... :lol:

_________________
Leon

Image Image Image Image
"... all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by..." - John Masefield


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1028
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
True, I think fuel is going into too much detail for now, but to be honest I wouldn't mind playing a patch that required steam trains to take on water or a truck to fill up on diesel on its long haul routes.

No matter how you like you like to imagine distances in OTTD, its true that many of the aircraft have ranges far greater than what is typically represented by a map. I think the idea here - and this is partly devils advocate - is to use ranges to differential aircraft amongst themselves, rather than provide another way to handicap planes. This way you could have meaningful trade-offs between short or long haul aircraft, or have a progression from routes requiring many stops in the early days of aviation, to long distance non stop flights with modern aircraft. If I fly to Tokyo today, I almost certainly will fly non-stop from New York, whereas just a few decades ago it would have been common to stop in Alaska, and maybe Chicago, on the way (this is due too more than just fuel capacity - it also has to do with certain requirements to be close to some airport for emergency landings)

I don't feel too strongly about this, as I rarely use aircraft, but I do think a patch that required players to construct thoughtful networks of air routes could be interesting, as opposed to just place airports in opposite corners of the map to fund a rail network, could be interesting.

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Scorpio-BRZ and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.