Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 12:17 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Actually it doesn't work like this.
Tramways are a feature implemented in the game's code. However, to be activated, it needs a tramway vehicle.
In that case, the tramway NewGRFs you have only implement tram vehicles, not the tramway track.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7226
raw implementation-wise, it's almost trivial to get ship tunnels into the game, just add graphics for the tunnel portals and adjust a few lines here and there to allow construction.

the hard part is making:
  1. the ship graphics not glitch while going into the tunnel
  2. a meaningful distinction between "small" and "large" ships, especially in the default set, that doesn't confuse the players "hey i built this tunnel and my ships won't go through it"

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2410
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Eddi wrote:
  1. the ship graphics not glitch while going into the tunnel

Well, tunnel glitches, aren't we all used to those already anyway? ;)
Attachment:
glitchyglitch.png
glitchyglitch.png [ 11.84 KiB | Viewed 513 times ]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:43 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Eddi wrote:
raw implementation-wise, it's almost trivial to get ship tunnels into the game, just add graphics for the tunnel portals and adjust a few lines here and there to allow construction.

the hard part is making:
  1. the ship graphics not glitch while going into the tunnel
  2. a meaningful distinction between "small" and "large" ships, especially in the default set, that doesn't confuse the players "hey i built this tunnel and my ships won't go through it"


The second point can be done quite easily by adding ship classes and classing those who don't have any as Large by default (NewGRF ones particularly).
It has been done for aircraft after all.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:08 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
acs121 wrote:
The second point can be done quite easily by adding ship classes and classing those who don't have any as Large by default (NewGRF ones particularly).

This appears to be rather trivial. Squid Ate Fish (Fish 2) already has a distinction between small ships which can run full speed on rivers and canals, and larger ships which have limited speed on those.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
acs121 wrote:
Actually it doesn't work like this.
Tramways are a feature implemented in the game's code. However, to be activated, it needs a tramway vehicle.
In that case, the tramway NewGRFs you have only implement tram vehicles, not the tramway track.


Ooohhh... I certainly didn't know this! Since this time has been my first ever adding NewGRFs. Only road building always appeared in the box until I got a tram set.

And I don't really understand what you people are talking about ship classes. I mean, it's not like there are that many in the game... Why would they need to be classified in any way in order to allow them through water tunnels? Standard game temperate only has 7. I feel like there's something here I'm missing. Are the boats coded each differently or something? Cannot all them simply go through a tunnel in case there would be one?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:13 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Ship classes mean classification between ships, small and large for example. Only small ones would be able to get in water tunnels then.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
Oh, I think I get it. Ship sprites are certainly bigger than buses and trains... A water tunnel could possibly need a 2x2 tiles entrance/exit to look good enough. Is that the problem?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:30 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
CazadorSirenas wrote:
Oh, I think I get it. Ship sprites are certainly bigger than buses and trains... A water tunnel could possibly need a 2x2 tiles entrance/exit to look good enough. Is that the problem?

You've got part of it, yes. The more fundamental poblem, as I see it, is that there's no real difference in the OTTD world between small ships and large ships. All ships fit in a 1 tile width canal, regardless of its perceived size. There are no problems finding water tunnels in the real world which will allow small vessels to pass, but tunnels accomodating big ships is a different matter altogether. Even if the water tunnel is practically implementable in OTTD, there's still a conceptual challenge with regards to eg a Nieuwpoort passing through what for all practical purposes should be a hole at most allowing say, a Whitgift barge.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7226
CazadorSirenas wrote:
Oh, I think I get it. Ship sprites are certainly bigger than buses and trains... A water tunnel could possibly need a 2x2 tiles entrance/exit to look good enough. Is that the problem?
that will not solve the drawing problem, however. for that, the big ship sprites must be chopped up into smaller sprites that each have a separate bounding box and can be shown/hidden separately. like individual wagons that move in sync.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:37 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Most canal tunnels (or actually, almost all, if not all) are not meant to have huge passenger ferries or massive oil tankers passing through them. Same thing as in OpenTTD, where even the canals are only meant for small ships such as the small passenger ships in redFISH.
As for aircraft classes we could possibly implement ship classes.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6293
Location: Eastern KY
Whether or not these tunnels exist in real life doesn't matter. And whether or not we have any graphical glitches or apparent mismatch with how the graphics are displayed is relatively immaterial. The primary issue is whether or not somebody is actually going to make this possible in the code. Until that happens, everything else is moot.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 8:44 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Well we are talking about a graphical issue here.
Roujin managed to make a patch for water tunnels with road tunnel graphics. We would eventually need proper graphics for water tunnels and as you say we just don't care about this graphical glitch.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 1:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
acs121 wrote:
Well we are talking about a graphical issue here.
Roujin managed to make a patch for water tunnels with road tunnel graphics. We would eventually need proper graphics for water tunnels and as you say we just don't care about this graphical glitch.


THERE IS ACTUALLY A PATCH FOR WATER TUNNELS?! 8o


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 11:42 am 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
There is one here. However you must compile it. Means you have to get the game code and update it with this patch.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:07 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
Oh my Chuck, as crappy as that image is, it only convinces me even more how awesome would be to have real, good water tunnels in the game :)

I also thank you all people for taking the time to explain everything to this newbie here!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.