Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:36 pm 
Online
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:27 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Berlin, Germany
Zuu wrote:
The issue with ships disappearing before they have fully entered the tunnel is however not solved by adding a clip rect.

Well, the position in which vehicles disappear is chosen so that the default ground vehicles don't show. If sprites are clipped, that point could be moved. Problematic in that regard would be very short tunnels where the sprite is longer than the tunnel.

-- Michael Lutz


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
planetmaker wrote:
Hyronymus wrote:
Perhaps a stupid suggestion but will it work if you extend the water tunnel graphics to the tile immediatly behind the tunnel entrance? I.e. extend it with a flat green tile.


That of course will look great, if it's a rail tile, a house tile or an industry tile. Or even a water tile. ;-)

@Roujin: nice to see you back :-)

Wrt tunnels: wouldn't it make sense to implement for water tunnels straight the way we draw newgrf rail tunnels which allow separate drawing of ground, rail, portal and slope. Of course ground and rail would in this case be the water tile - but portals and slope could be a separate sprite which do not contain the water itself. And it could contain an overlay sprite (analogue to rail) which would allow to simulate shaddow on the water.


I don't know, you tell me - if this is preferred I shall change my patch accordingly. I thought this seperate-drawing-scheme was done for rail mainly so that railtype newgrfs can be made independent of landscape baseset/newgrf, so as there is no such thing as canaltypes, this would not be useful for water tunnels.
The overlay sprite to simulate shadow is news to me. So if you think this is worth the (suspected) drawing overhead, tell me and I shall change it for the next version of my patch. :)

Zuu wrote:
[clip rect ideas]


That sounds like a good idea, not only for ships, but for all vehicles, allowing longer vehicles without glitches. Hmm, that immediately makes it sound out of scope for this patch, but fit for a standalone patch.
Do you know if there is code in place already for drawing limited to a clipping rect, or would this have to be done from the ground up?

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:17 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7226
There is already clipping code in the game, e.g. for the ground sprite on half-foundations. but i fear that you need something more dynamic with vehicles

personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1651
Location: Idaho, USA
Eddi wrote:
personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...

That's why there's always an option to enable/disable it, like with most other features. 8)

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 4:36 pm
Posts: 1985
Location: Leeds, UK
Supercheese wrote:
Eddi wrote:
personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...

That's why there's always an option to enable/disable it, like with most other features. 8)

It's pretty useful when you're using signal in tunnels.

_________________
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 26
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Eddi wrote:
there is no technical reason that prevents water tunnels, but the graphics will glitch horribly, because ships are just too big.

Is it possible to solve this by enlarging the tunnel entrance to, for example, at least two tiles in height?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 3007
Location: Straya
Maybe 2-tile tunnels (one up slope and one down slope) should be disabled?

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:21 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ukraine
Zuu wrote:
The issue with ships disappearing before they have fully entered the tunnel is however not solved by adding a clip rect.

There is already a solution to the problem of graphics of input-output for the ship and the tunnel - this is a ship depot: to draw entrance and exit of the tunnel for ships similar to entry and exit of ship depot.

But even better would be to use special frames at the entrance or exit of ships in the tunnel - pictures of these frames have to be one half transparent (invisible).

Ship tunnels - this is a great idea - this would be very usefull.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1083
Kogut wrote:
It is something completely unrealistic and redundant. You can build canals.

well, http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... unnel.html

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:06 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:35 am
Posts: 90
I have always wished water tunnels were in the game, from when I first started playing OTTD.

OK, so it'll be glitchy. Make it an option in the settings menu, with the default set to "off", and a warning in the notes about the glitches if enabled. Those that feel it's too "unrealistic" can ignore it. Others will accept the glitches and use it.

As an example, I personally don't like Cargodist, so I set everything to manual and I don't have to use it. I'd have water tunnels permanently on. I can live with the glitches.

And as for "realism", has anyone ever seen an oil tanker or a container ship on an aqueduct? That's already possible in the game, why not this?

Pete.

_________________
There's nothing like a deadline to hone the concentration.

Good manners cost nothing, but earn respect.

" 'Impossible' is not in our vocabulary." Jack Chrichton, Farscape


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:03 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
As a boat lover, I would be very happy if somewhere in time ship tunnels are added to the game :) Realistic or not. Which I agree realism is not a necessary sense to go by when deciding in adding something or not.
I mean, it's not exactly easy to build a brigde or canal at the peaks of the Himalaya... there a tunnel would be nice.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:54 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:33 pm
Posts: 726
Location: Bærum, Norway
As a Norwegian and a ship lover, I still think that the planned Stad tunnel is a very special case, and not one to be emulated in OpenTTD. There are lots of things that I'd rather wish that the devs will spend their time on, like an official variable daylength implementation.

_________________
My screenshots
The 1700-2050 Ships & RVs thread
Norwegian Alternate Town Names


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6293
Location: Eastern KY
It's not like they have to choose one or the other. Developers basically work on whatever is of interest to them, whether it's trivial or difficult. And that goes for coders who are not on the dev team as well.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:42 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Let's rather add it to this list : https://wiki.openttd.org/Requested_features
and have a developer's thought if we can include it in "rejected"...

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1139
Location: Paris, France
leifbk wrote:
As a Norwegian and a ship lover, I still think that the planned Stad tunnel is a very special case, and not one to be emulated in OpenTTD. There are lots of things that I'd rather wish that the devs will spend their time on, like an official variable daylength implementation.

It is not a very special case.

This kind of tunnel already exists in France since at least 1755.
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voûte_du_ ... _Bourgogne

And some pictures of this tunnel : https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=tu ... ORM=HDRSC2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:12 am 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
We could also take as example the Canal Saint-Martin in Paris. Although it's not meant for very big ships.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:14 am
Posts: 1518
Location: Not over here
In openttd oil tankers would probably fit through that :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1139
Location: Paris, France
As the water tunnels would be coded from scratch, may it should be a list of watertype like railtype.

As a result, channel costs should be different if you want to use only barges or super-tanker too.

If someone works on watertunels, he may try to look at the airports if there is a way to make them "navigable": there is currently no channel ports, and seaports look like IRL most to OTTD airports as a simple dock.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:09 am 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
There's already a patch for multiple docks per stations + ships avoiding themselves, also you have the ISR/DWE Objects NewGRF to make any seaport look esthetical.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Water Tunnels
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 29
I wish I knew the littlest about programming, so to know if there's even a real chance that the developers might consider water tunnels.

I mean, for example I use NewGFR for trams, and that isn't in the standard game (as far as I know). It adds new depot, new rails, new vehicles... has its own bridge and tunnel too. It can be set either alone or upon a road. So, compared to all this, in my ignorance it seems like a water hole-through shouldn't be that much of a problem, either coded in the game or put as another NewGFR ?(

Please everyone feel free to explain me why I'm wrong. I'd really like to know if that's the case.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.