Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

How do you like the Idea

Good
99
89%
Bad
5
5%
I didn't understand the idea
1
1%
equal
6
5%
 
Total votes: 111

jixor
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 08:47
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by jixor »

So from a development point of view the engine is written such that each tile can only hold one 'thing', or perhapps to say there is an x and y coordinate system only and no z? Obviously that would make this sort of feature virtually impossible, and I'm guessing to implement such a system would be hugley complex from a pathfinding and AI perspectives... however you could possibly get away with just not enabling the ai to use elements which makes use of the z system.

Obviously locomotion works in a much different way then.

User avatar
Thief^
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 468
Joined: 10 Oct 2004 00:11

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Thief^ »

jixor wrote:Obviously locomotion works in a much different way then.
Yes, yes it does. It's based on the rollercoaster tycoon engine, where each square can be raised and lowered independently, track peices can take multiple squares, and tunnels and bridges are just ordinary track.
However that way uses a lot more memory, so the maps in loco are TINY compared to what openttd can do.
Melt with the Shadows,
Embrace your destiny...

jixor
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 08:47
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by jixor »

I suppose the trade off would be worthwhile if used well, however you would want to make much better use of it than locomotion!

Kuch KDA
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 May 2007 10:23

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Kuch KDA »

Russian Metro (subway) station on bridge (also, there is a road bridge above the station):

http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%98%D0% ... night).jpg

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vorobyovy_ ... cow_Metro)

jixor
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 08:47
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by jixor »

If we are posting examples here is Richmond station in Melbourne Australia:
http://maps.google.com.au/?ie=UTF8&ll=- ... 9&t=h&z=20

Ruudjah
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 44
Joined: 12 Nov 2007 11:09

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Ruudjah »

Overamstel Metro station in Amsterdam is also built on top of a bridge. Dutch wikipedia article with pictures: http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overamstel_(metrostation)

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7424
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Eddi »

next time, possibly make use of the [url] tag
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

leaderfrontier
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 132
Joined: 01 Aug 2008 03:58

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by leaderfrontier »

A smile everyday,keep fortune around.
Smile your life before sadness come. :D

BTA90
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 163
Joined: 04 Apr 2008 18:43

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by BTA90 »

In the Dutch city of Zoetermeer there is also an example of crossing stations http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Station_Voorweg

User avatar
This is my name
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 01:36
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by This is my name »

leadfrontier : That's not the bridge, silly. That is monorail pillar :tongue:.
ALLMY CONTENT IS PUBLIC DOMAIN BUT NO EXPLOITATION

Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread or my scenarios and saved games for OpenTTD or its older brother or The Great Dam - a scenario for Locomotion or this man's graphics

Simutrans Forum (Forum Simutrans)
DeviantArt (DeviantArt)
one_hit_wonder_2 (one_hit_wonder_2)
PASTTOPRESENT (PASTTOPRESENT)
MATRIXSELECTIF (MATRIXSELECTIF)
To Deal With Only Stables Transport Tycoon 3 5.zip (To Deal With Only Stables Transport Tycoon 3 5.zip)
BUSFINISH.sve (BUSFINISH.sve)
viewtopic.php?p=1228253#p1228253
viewtopic.php?p=1228494#p1228494
viewtopic.php?p=1228896#p1228896
viewtopic.php?p=1228916#p1228916

kvtb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 70
Joined: 13 Mar 2005 11:42

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by kvtb »

Also nice, Duivendrecht station:
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/1853/vliegerbh2.jpg
crossing stations, and the lower level is elevated...

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7035
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Badger »

So, is everyone just posting pictures of stations on bridges now? :roll:
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

kvtb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 70
Joined: 13 Mar 2005 11:42

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by kvtb »

I'm sorry.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13191
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Hyronymus »

It seems like people are, badger. Naughty people, but I judge the images to be on topic.

Stanman360
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Dec 2013 13:29

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Stanman360 »

I think that stations should be on bridges/ in tunnels, though I do believe stations on bridges should only have a maximum length of two for the bridge section, or the bridge will look flimsy/unrealistic. Stations in tunnels and on bridges would be a game changer, it would make compact and realistic metro systems a reality, it will make the game less frustrating, and more aesthetically pleasing/realistic, which I think is good. For Example:Image This town has two main stations and a Crossrail, however, too much of the land is taken up by that crossrail. If I could put the crossrail stations in the tunnels at Drindton Cross, and have rail bridges over the station at Drindton Victoria, it would mean more space where I can put the crossrail in tunnels, to allow growth, but more importantly, space for future Metros and Crossrails.
(Hope the image works, if not use this link: http://postimg.org/image/712p16r9x/ )

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7424
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Eddi »

please attach images to the forum post, instead of linking to some external hoster
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Stanman360
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Dec 2013 13:29

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Stanman360 »

Eddi wrote:please attach images to the forum post, instead of linking to some external hoster
I attempted to do that... but, as you can tell, I'm a noob.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by FooBar »

It's really not more difficult than an external host. Easier in fact I think.
Check below where you write your post, there is a thingy to look up a file on your computer, click the 'add' button and that's it.

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Zhall »

If openttd ever has pathfinding like that in locomotion you can count me out. :o

I put down so many damn waypoints... they STILL couldn't figure out how to go over the bridge..

Morgs
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 145
Joined: 30 Jun 2011 19:45
Location: North Staffordshire

Re: Bridges over Stations, Stations on Bridges

Post by Morgs »

London Blackfriars springs to mind

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests