Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 70
Due to the fact that (big) cities have airports in the suburbia the coverage area shouldn't be centered around the airport but to be determined individually in a certain radius around the airport so that you can realize a realistic distance to the city.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Realistic distance? What about making it more realistic and adding busses to take ppl to airport ;)

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
You should check out CargoDestinations (see Development forum), now THAT is realistic, as the passengers decide where they want to go, and not you. [0]


[0] Actually, passengers only go where they can go, and ultimately you decide where they can go...

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:01 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:33 pm
Posts: 565
LordAzamath wrote:
Realistic distance? What about making it more realistic and adding busses to take ppl to airport ;)

Yeah this! ^

Just use feeder services. That way you can have coverage over 100% of the town going to the airport via shuttle buses.

_________________
PathZilla - A networking AI - Now with tram support.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:13 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:20 am
Posts: 126
Location: Paris, france
Yes, I would like the airport to have small to null coverage (catchment area), but it would only be interesting with cargodest project, so I think my suggestion will become dead letter....


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
well, some people do actually drive to the airport :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:20 am
Posts: 126
Location: Paris, france
Of course, but doesn't catchment area supposed to be the farther distance from where passengers come by foot to the station ? It's the way I imagine them, as there is no car at all in TTD.

If you introduce car, which would be great but complicated, you would have also to manage traffic jams in crowded town...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:51 pm
Posts: 1499
Location: The sunny side of Alps
As DJ Nekkid said - people do travel to airports with cars, but I don't think adding cars to OpenTTD is necessary.
I agree with topic starter that airport catchment would be better if it was more centered in town with the actual airport being out of town,
however - this all is available now:
a) through great feature of station extension/station walking (station spread under Configure Patches menu)
b) through another great feature (recently included) - distant joining of stations which helps quickly achieve point a).

So - nuff said. :))

_________________
NewGRF: Oil Wells in Temperate terrain now can Increase production, Better vehicle names, Use-able default aircraft, Oil Rig for Snowland and Desert, Speed for Suspension bridges.
Patches (OpenTTD): Improved smooth_economy [in trunk], More (diesel) smoke [in trunk], Realistic_acceleration finetune.

Keep 'em rollin'!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:43 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 494
Location: Berlin, Germany
AND through cargodest. Assuming they do not drive to the airport, most of them probably wouldn't walk. So with a tight bus network inside a town and an airport in the middle of nowhere with buses (or trains) connecting it with the city, you have a (almost) realistic catchment area. I wouldn't wanna walk 20 miles now since my favorite airport that used to be like a mile from my house has closed down... :(

_________________
Make love instead of war! Poppen statt kloppen!

Image

quarks.game-host-org:3979


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:05 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 155
But if the airport is far from any city it won't accept passengers. All big cities have tha airport far form town(NY exeption).

_________________
FORZA BERGAMASCA CALCIO ATALANTA


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:20 am
Posts: 126
Location: Paris, france
atalantino wrote:
But if the airport is far from any city it won't accept passengers. All big cities have tha airport far form town(NY exeption).

You've got a point, but if one can make airport without any catchment area, one can make them always accepting passengers, right ?

And the problem is voided with cargodest, again, as the airport would be a transfer station between the feeder service and the other airports, without needing to accept passengers in the middle of nowhere.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
atalantino wrote:
But if the airport is far from any city it won't accept passengers. All big cities have tha airport far form town(NY exeption).


London Heathrow is actually in London ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:43 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 155
London heathrow is in Heathrow, not London! :wink: :wink:

_________________
FORZA BERGAMASCA CALCIO ATALANTA


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Hypolite wrote:
And the problem is voided with cargodest, again, as the airport would be a transfer station between the feeder service and the other airports, without needing to accept passengers in the middle of nowhere.

Y9 do not need cargodest for that. Airports are capable of doing the same magic right now.

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 6:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:20 am
Posts: 126
Location: Paris, france
belugas wrote:
Hypolite wrote:
And the problem is voided with cargodest, again, as the airport would be a transfer station between the feeder service and the other airports, without needing to accept passengers in the middle of nowhere.

Y9 do not need cargodest for that. Airports are capable of doing the same magic right now.

Yeah but it's easier with cargodest, as the normal order is "transfer"


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:04 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Right... It's just a click more.
silly me

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:08 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:09 am
Posts: 3
I think that the coverage area of airports should be determined by feeder services (only without the extra vehicles)
EG: you have a bus-stop attached to the side of the airport, with road into town, bus-stop in town, the coverage area of the airport should be changed to include the route that the "buses" would take, just without the buses actually being needed.
I think that the same thing could apply for trains, but only while the track is within the radius of the town it's in.

Doing it like this would be complicated for the person coding it, but it would make airports far more useful. I know that I don't use road vehicles once I get trains/planes, so this would actually make the the road stations useful again.

_________________
"To kill 1 is a tragedy... To kill 10,000,000 is a statistic."
- Joseph Stalin


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
atalantino wrote:
London heathrow is in Heathrow, not London! :wink: :wink:


wikipedia wrote:
London Heathrow Airport or Heathrow (IATA: LHR, ICAO: EGLL), located in the London Borough of Hillingdon
:wink:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:37 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 155
I tell you Wasila! Heathrow is a town of its own, I have some friends that live there. :P

_________________
FORZA BERGAMASCA CALCIO ATALANTA


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Could be, but Heathrow Airport is within the boundaries of Greater London.

Ask your friends which area they're in. Hillingdon, by any chance?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.