Is there a NewGRF for these?

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

Might be a refit on an existing one,I suppose.
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/transpor ... 59075.html
User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17247
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: North London

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Dave »

No there isn't.

They've not really been out that long have they... Not a surprise.

Why don't you brush down the easel and paintbox and have a go yourself ;)
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

http://futureofrail.amtrak.com
A lighter-weight,higher capacity Acela variant is coming...
TheAmir259
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 140
Joined: 30 May 2016 05:27
Location: Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by TheAmir259 »

Wait, are you asking for any available Eurostar e320 in OpenTTD? There is already one, in the NewGRF BRTrains.
You can also find me at Reddit. Check out my OpenTTD Screenshots & Savefiles!
User avatar
Sylf
President
President
Posts: 958
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 21:25
Location: ::1

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Sylf »

This whole thread is better served in here.
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

TheAmir259 wrote:Wait, are you asking for any available Eurostar e320 in OpenTTD? There is already one, in the NewGRF BRTrains.
To what extent does that set duplicate UKRS?
Is it available on Online Content?
User avatar
Pilot
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
Posts: 7576
Joined: 04 Aug 2010 15:48
Location: Locked down in Brum

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Pilot »

Baldy's Boss wrote:
TheAmir259 wrote:Wait, are you asking for any available Eurostar e320 in OpenTTD? There is already one, in the NewGRF BRTrains.
To what extent does that set duplicate UKRS?
Is it available on Online Content?
BRTrains is available on the Online Content.

As with regards to duplicating UKRS, it current duplicates UKRS in the later years, however, BRTrains is meant to include the colour schemes and all vehicles to ever operate on British Railways. Of course, such a project will take years to complete!
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

I have now downloaded BRTrains.
However,if memory serves I think this is a company-color-independent file and that can make telling your trains from competitors' trains rather a chore!
User avatar
DeletedUser10
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 204
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by DeletedUser10 »

...Eurostar?
There's AsiaStar in OpenGFX plus train.
You could decompile it and change the capacity,speed,and name.
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
User avatar
Sylf
President
President
Posts: 958
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 21:25
Location: ::1

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Sylf »

AsiaStar basically IS Eurostar. Eurostar also exists in sets like UKRS etc.
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

ir1n1o57 wrote:...Eurostar?
There's AsiaStar in OpenGFX plus train.
You could decompile it and change the capacity,speed,and name.
The "Eurostar" vehicle dates to original Transport Tycoon and was renamed "AsiaStar" in TT Deluxe (along with a number of other real-world vehicles being given fictitious names).Both the vehicle-renaming feature and the "Original vehicle names" NewGRF offer ways to reverse this renaming.

However,I started this thread in 2014 asking specifically about thenew version of the Eurostar....which is an upgrade on the old one.
The inclusion of the new model in the BRTrains NewGRF answered my question.
User avatar
DeletedUser10
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 204
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by DeletedUser10 »

I'm sorry
I misunderstood the meaning.
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1076
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by supermop »

Baldy's Boss wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:...Eurostar?
There's AsiaStar in OpenGFX plus train.
You could decompile it and change the capacity,speed,and name.
The "Eurostar" vehicle dates to original Transport Tycoon and was renamed "AsiaStar" in TT Deluxe (along with a number of other real-world vehicles being given fictitious names).Both the vehicle-renaming feature and the "Original vehicle names" NewGRF offer ways to reverse this renaming.

However,I started this thread in 2014 asking specifically about thenew version of the Eurostar....which is an upgrade on the old one.
The inclusion of the new model in the BRTrains NewGRF answered my question.
The Transport Tycoon (Original) CD I picked up at a Best Buy bargain bin around 1995 actually called it AsiaStar, as well as having a SH 125, T.I.M., Kirby Paul, Ginzu A4 etc... I don't ever recall seeing 'real' names in my or friends versions of TTO, though maybe an earlier pressing or UK region version did.
User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 712
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Gwyd »

AsiaStar ≠ Eurostar class 374, which is what we are looking for. The class 374 is not yet in a NewGRF.
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

supermop wrote:
Baldy's Boss wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:...Eurostar?
There's AsiaStar in OpenGFX plus train.
You could decompile it and change the capacity,speed,and name.
The "Eurostar" vehicle dates to original Transport Tycoon and was renamed "AsiaStar" in TT Deluxe (along with a number of other real-world vehicles being given fictitious names).Both the vehicle-renaming feature and the "Original vehicle names" NewGRF offer ways to reverse this renaming.

However,I started this thread in 2014 asking specifically about thenew version of the Eurostar....which is an upgrade on the old one.
The inclusion of the new model in the BRTrains NewGRF answered my question.
The Transport Tycoon (Original) CD I picked up at a Best Buy bargain bin around 1995 actually called it AsiaStar, as well as having a SH 125, T.I.M., Kirby Paul, Ginzu A4 etc... I don't ever recall seeing 'real' names in my or friends versions of TTO, though maybe an earlier pressing or UK region version did.
I got my Transport Tycoon on floppies and it included Gresley and Stanier engines etc. rather than the made-up names.
So we have one user on this thread saying the Class 374/e320 is in the BRTrains NewGRF and one saying it has no NewGRF yet...My game with BRTrains activated is too early for me to tell!
User avatar
Pilot
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
Posts: 7576
Joined: 04 Aug 2010 15:48
Location: Locked down in Brum

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Pilot »

It is in the BRTrains GRF, screenshot attached.
Class 374.png
Class 374.png (84.01 KiB) Viewed 3944 times
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

Soooo,here's a NEW real-world vehicle hitting the rails that I can ask about being included in NewGRF sets...I suppose one of the internationals...
http://www.cnn.com/travel/article/shink ... 00s-japan/

Is the difference between N700S and N700A too trivial to reflect?...it's the same speed but lighter weight and I guess the lower energy use would reduce running costs.
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1326
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Is there a NewGRF for these?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

FWIW the last-mentioned IS now in service:
https://www.jrailpass.com/blog/shinkansen-n700s

Perhaps the "earthquake-proofness" could be modelled by greater resilience if natural disasters are enabled and one hits it?

ETA:WEIRD...the link I gave was the URL for a text article,but as posted here it redirects to only the image at the top of the article.
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests