1.11.1 on Apple Silicon / M1 & Retina: too small

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
malloc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2021 23:23

1.11.1 on Apple Silicon / M1 & Retina: too small

Post by malloc »

Hi,

my OpenTTD 1.10.3 (Apple Silicon) runs perfectly fine & smooth on my MacBook Air 2020 M1. I downloaded the new 1.11.1, but the general display is waaay to small, it seems to use the "native" resolution of the display (2560x1600 on 13"). 1.10.3 doesn’t do that or has some other setting, that I’ve not been able to identify.

How can I mogrify the 1.11.1 into having a 1280x800 points (vs. pixels) display?

Thanks in advance. (I tried some forum search, but "m1" isn’t allowed as a search word)

1.11.1: Display is way too small:
Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-25 um 01.49.27.png
(873.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1.10.3: Display is how I want it:
Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-25 um 01.49.43.png
(2.17 MiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1339
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: 1.11.1 on Apple Silicon / M1 & Retina: too small

Post by jfs »

Previously the entire game was being scaled up by the system. Now the game is rendering in native resolution. A fresh configuration for OpenTTD would detect that you have a Retina display and apply Interface and Font scaling automatically, but because you have a configuration upgraded from an older version of OpenTTD, it starts in 1x scale.

You can change the scale in the Game Options window.
malloc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2021 23:23

Re: 1.11.1 on Apple Silicon / M1 & Retina: too small

Post by malloc »

Thanks for your reply.

I tried the options "Font scaling" and "UI element scaling". Both are needed to be set to "double" to get close to the earlier look.

Without a disability feature of macOS I would not been able to read this option or find it. Perhaps a different default will leave less users irritated. Not everyone knows about the hardware pan&zoom feature, or has it enabled (which is off by default).
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7648
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: 1.11.1 on Apple Silicon / M1 & Retina: too small

Post by Eddi »

the default values ARE different. just you had an old config file, which already had values stored in it. so those values are taken instead of the default values.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests