Fence vs snow

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Fence vs snow

Post by McZapkie » 04 Jun 2019 00:00

I noticed, that fences are vanishing if there is snow tile (I have variable snow line grf).
Is it bug or feature?
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2467
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by Pyoro » 04 Jun 2019 08:00

Which fences? Alongside tracks?

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by McZapkie » 04 Jun 2019 10:53

Yes, even vanilla ones:
fences.jpg
fences.jpg (70.53 KiB) Viewed 1293 times
Not sure if it is bug or hardcoded feature, but is is annoying, especially in case of variable snow-line.
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 513
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by jfs » 04 Jun 2019 14:04

Yeah that's intended behaviour, inherited from TTD. (But TTD didn't have dynamic snow lines originally.)

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by McZapkie » 04 Jun 2019 14:10

Pity it is hard coded, instead of be overridden by newgrf.
I had idea to make trees row (very popular alongside railways in East Europe), but it is not feasible now.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 513
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by jfs » 04 Jun 2019 14:12

A while ago someone did submit a pull request on Github for changing the rail fence rules in snow and desert, but it was not quite good enough quality and they didn't follow up on it, so it ended up abandoned. I don't think NewGRF customisation was part of it.

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2151
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by Drury » 04 Jun 2019 14:13

I always thought it was like that because fences wouldn't be necessary in remote permafrost/deserty places, but it was probably just due to a technical limitation. Either way, it never really bothered me.
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by McZapkie » 04 Jun 2019 15:38

Drury wrote:I always thought it was like that because fences wouldn't be necessary in remote permafrost/deserty places
Really it is quite opposite - fences are often installed to prevent snow or sand storms drift the tracks.

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2467
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by Pyoro » 04 Jun 2019 17:57

I also see that the standard tracks don't properly detect and draw transition ground tiles.

Shameful all around. ^^

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2151
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Fence vs snow

Post by Drury » 04 Jun 2019 20:17

Didn't someone once come up with a solution to that? I swear I've seen a thread about it.
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests