MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
Limyx826
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 May 2019 15:42

MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by Limyx826 » 19 May 2019 15:45

As the title said, the midi in game is not using VirtualMIDISynth despite VMS works ok in Windows Media Player. This issue is not present in 1.8.0 before only after update to 1.9.0 this issue happen.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 609
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by jfs » 19 May 2019 16:56

Which music driver are you using? The DirectMusic driver is the default on Windows, and it will always use the standard Microsoft GS softsynth if you don't manually configure it to use a different output port.
The alternate Win32 driver will use the system default MIDI device for output instead.
Both can be configured to use any MIDI output device on the system, but can only be configured via editing openttd.cfg or via commandline parameters.

I use this line in my openttd.cfg to play music to an external MIDI synth:

Code: Select all

musicdriver = "win32:port=4"

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6892
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by kamnet » 19 May 2019 17:58

jfs wrote:Which music driver are you using? The DirectMusic driver is the default on Windows, and it will always use the standard Microsoft GS softsynth if you don't manually configure it to use a different output port.
The alternate Win32 driver will use the system default MIDI device for output instead.
Both can be configured to use any MIDI output device on the system, but can only be configured via editing openttd.cfg or via commandline parameters.

I use this line in my openttd.cfg to play music to an external MIDI synth:

Code: Select all

musicdriver = "win32:port=4"
I learn something new every day. Thanks! :)

nihues
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 46
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 10:26

Re: MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by nihues » 19 May 2019 20:14

To me worked with "dmusic:port=3"

Limyx826
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 May 2019 15:42

Re: MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by Limyx826 » 20 May 2019 05:18

jfs wrote:Which music driver are you using? The DirectMusic driver is the default on Windows, and it will always use the standard Microsoft GS softsynth if you don't manually configure it to use a different output port.
The alternate Win32 driver will use the system default MIDI device for output instead.
Both can be configured to use any MIDI output device on the system, but can only be configured via editing openttd.cfg or via commandline parameters.
I had no idea which music driver my windows used. Attached screenshot of my device manager, check it if you can see which one is default.
jfs wrote: I use this line in my openttd.cfg to play music to an external MIDI synth:

Code: Select all

musicdriver = "win32:port=4"
As for the openttd.cfg, I use "win32:port=2" and it worked. Thanks for that method.
Attachments
Device Manager.png
(228.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 609
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: MIDI not using VirtualMIDISynth

Post by jfs » 21 May 2019 14:20

Limyx826 wrote: I had no idea which music driver my windows used. Attached screenshot of my device manager, check it if you can see which one is default.
As far as I can tell you don't have any MIDI devices installed at all, so you probably only have the Microsoft synth available. But look under the "Software devices" branch in Device Manager, it may show some additional things.
Attaching a screenshot of my setup. I have a bunch of hardware MIDI synths and stuff, which is why I have multiple in/out ports.
Attachments
mmc_2019-05-21.png
(158.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest