Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 1:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:17 pm
Posts: 12
Ok, so this might get a bit long-winded. Sorry in advance. I'm trying to set up a super tight, tokaido shinkansen-like train line. This means managing departures down to the tick in order to squeeze as many different services onto the tracks as possible. I set out to do this by first constructing a test train, and have it timetable the entire track. I then added some extra wait time at stations as a buffer, made forty-four copies of it, retired the original, and started launching the trains from a single depot. I did this in order to try and make sure that the time between each train was exactly the same. Once they had all entered service, I made another forty-four copies with the same shared timetable, and started sending them out from a neighboring depot, with their own platform. I offset their launch time slightly by waiting to activate the trains in the depot at just the right moment, so that they run as close to the previous departure as possible, without ever encountering any slowdown.

This works fine for the first 10-20 trains. However, once I got into the low thirties, it became very apparent that the gap between the two supposedly identical groups was growing. It is not due to their departure times being too close. Believe me, I've spent way too long taring at the trains leaving the station, trying to figure out what's wrong. This has completely killed my will to play. I've spent hours and hours trying to come up with some explanation, to no avail.

Have I stumbled upon a bug in the way OpenTTD keeps track of the trains? Or is there some natural explanation.

Here are the timetables(https://imgur.com/7m7awbr), a short video of the first pair of trains leaving the station(https://youtu.be/TWYxSxjuMs8), the last pair of trains(https://youtu.be/aEmlLA9kh5s), the launch of the first set of trains(https://youtu.be/PcAGjkTzEZo), and the second set of trains(https://youtu.be/ZIj5V7V2doc).

Help me TT-Forums, you are my only hope!!

EDIT:

I'm using version 1.8.0. You will find the savegame where I am about to launch the second set attached.


Attachments:
Murphy & Co., Jun 20th, 2017.sav [15.41 MiB]
Downloaded 21 times


Last edited by Seph on Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:30 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9265
Location: Sol d
You forgot to attach a savegame and to mention which OpenTTD version you play with :)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:59 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:17 pm
Posts: 12
planetmaker wrote:
You forgot to attach a savegame and to mention which OpenTTD version you play with :)

Sorry, fixed.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:07 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:17 pm
Posts: 12
Has anyone had the time to take a look at this? Could I be looking at a bug?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:33 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:17 am
Posts: 3
Seph wrote:
Has anyone had the time to take a look at this? Could I be looking at a bug?

Hello,
impressive city build. How big is it? Would you post some overview of your creation?

Regarding your issue, when you released all the trains, do you press in the TimeTable dialog Ctrl+"Start date"?
That command spread start date of all timetables in time, so trains space out evenly. No gaps, guaranteed. In fact, you don't need release trains manually to create spacing, rather release them at once then press Ctrl+"Start date" then let them fallow rules so they space out by themselves. :wink:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.