Mass change of track type

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
Lubos
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jan 2019 21:58

Mass change of track type

Post by Lubos » 11 Jan 2019 22:06

Possible? As? Nowhere I found anything and clicking the pieces is crazy :-( Thanks

User avatar
jfs
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 501
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by jfs » 11 Jan 2019 22:16

Use the convert tracks tool and just click and drag across the parts you want changed.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7371
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by Eddi » 12 Jan 2019 13:02

  1. scroll to one corner of the map, and open a second viewport ([V]-key)
  2. scroll to the other corner of the map
  3. select convert tool and drag from the main viewport into the second viewport
this should convert the whole map.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Lubos
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jan 2019 21:58

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by Lubos » 13 Jan 2019 10:20

Trains I transfer as?

Trond
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 973
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 07:32
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by Trond » 13 Jan 2019 14:24

Send all trains to depot before you convert tracks. Then go to each depot, sell train, convert depot and buy new train. If you do this without closing the depot, game will remember route etc. I think this is the 'easiest' way... Its how I do it :/ (Also why I never convert the full map at once).
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4718
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by Alberth » 13 Jan 2019 17:03

Mass conversion is very boring. I either use a trainset that avoids the entire problem, or I start building new connections with the new track type next to the existing tracks, and upgrade the service while keeping everything running, or make completely new (longer distance) connections, and enhance the network in that way.

More work, but much more fun playing :)
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1900
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Mass change of track type

Post by acs121 » 13 Jan 2019 20:37

I think 2cc TrainsInNML with Finescale are great NewGRFs just for that. You don't have to care about conversion problems this much. With these, life becomes easier : you always know what engines are compatible with what track type.
For example : I have an urban steam line, and I want to convert it to 3rd rail. No worries : convert the tracks. During their replacement, they can go on 3rd rail tracks.


Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests