Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:33 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
Which setting corresponds to engaging multiple newgrf engine sets? I wish to buy some aircraft that aren't revealed in the purchase list. I have another game (world) with the same newgrf aircraft sets in the same order as well, but when activated the same way in the current world I get the fatal prompt as shown in the following screenshot; its peculiarity mystifies me!


Attachments:
20190111_152524.png
20190111_152524.png [ 65.22 KiB | Viewed 654 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 6:31 am
Posts: 18
It may be refering to this
https://wiki.openttd.org/Settings/Dynamic_Engines

In short, check your openttd.cfg file (User/documents/OpenTTD/... on Windows), search for dynamic_engines and change it to TRUE if already is not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:19 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
Sunmannus wrote:
It may be refering to this
https://wiki.openttd.org/Settings/Dynamic_Engines

In short, check your openttd.cfg file (User/documents/OpenTTD/... on Windows), search for dynamic_engines and change it to TRUE if already is not.

Hmmm..thank you, but my dynamic_engines has indeed been set to true all along.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1263
Then it s because you are using an old savegame which did not have dynamic_engine true

It s very probably saved into the savegame, so changing your cfg won t change it.

the solution is to open the savegame ingame, then to open console and to type : set dynamic_engine true (or maybe it s "on", or 0/1, not sure, you ll find out i m sure )


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:15 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
You must be right. I downloaded the scenario (as in-game content). I get the error message, however, per the screenshot below. How do you players familiarise yourselves with commands via the console? Might there be guide sheets to refer to, or must being some tech wizard be necessary to use it at will for stuff other than calling up that errrr Cheats panel? At any rate I much appreciate what you've just happened to have taught me..I shan't forget that tip.


Attachments:
20190111_200400.png
20190111_200400.png [ 424.66 KiB | Viewed 604 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1263
Well i m still not so familiar with commands on the console so no need to become a tech wizard to use it ;)

there is a list of commands here wich might help : https://wiki.openttd.org/Console_Commands

and one more that seems to be missing from that list but that i find very handy mainly to tweak some pathfinding penalties when i need to : list_settings pf.yapf.rail (list_settings alone works too, but the list is quite big).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6463
Location: Eastern KY
Which scenario did you download?

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:32 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
kamnet wrote:
Which scenario did you download?

Why do you ask? Several years later now, I'm once again playing the UK v.3 scenario afresh, because I had *#@%£!× accidentally deleted my saved games back then..that stupidity of mine stung me awfully.

romazoon wrote:
Well i m still not so familiar with commands on the console so no need to become a tech wizard to use it ;)

there is a list of commands here wich might help : https://wiki.openttd.org/Console_Commands

and one more that seems to be missing from that list but that i find very handy mainly to tweak some pathfinding penalties when i need to : list_settings pf.yapf.rail (list_settings alone works too, but the list is quite big).

Aha! ^^ bookmarked and bookmarked..thank you. Do you know whether there be any guidance out there on pathfinder penalty flags, or do you just try it by way of trial and error? I have no idea how to combine path signals and plain signals together, my trains always became lost, such that I've never bothered trying those priority signalling tips written about over at ottdwiki. I'm satisfied with how my trains find their ways, although how they steadfastly lock onto platforms can trouble me, plus how they don't use a freed, unobstructed, parallel adjacent track (4-tracking) to continue onward to the waypoint just beyond some dismissed station has now come to puzzle me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:20 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6463
Location: Eastern KY
trainrover wrote:
kamnet wrote:
Which scenario did you download?

Why do you ask? Several years later now, I'm once again playing the UK v.3 scenario afresh...


Looking to see if I can find a fix for your issue. As it is, somebody the other day needed help with this scenario and I uploaded an update to this scenario with some basic vehicles, but I didn't catch any errors. Opening it again, there is indeed the same error. Opening the console and running "set dynamic_engine true" fixed the problem, and I have no errors upon starting the scenario.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:05 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
I remember a few years ago when multiple engine sets was a primary setting..I miss its being readily available. Running that through the console at the outset of a scenario, however, is nonetheless a handy tip..I wonder what other ones might also be worthwhile!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.