Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:47 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 49
This is a JGR patch with several NewGrfs (see attached screenshot). I just noticed the two warnings, but I'd be surprised to find that either one is causing this issue.

In the attached savegame, I expanded Woodbury East to three tracks by adding the section furthest from the town center. Now no train will use the middle track.

Trains serving Oakhurst use three of the four tracks, but I built the station with 4 tracks. Trains serving Essex will occasionally use the third track (the one that ends there) which was added. Waco Industrial was built with 4 tracks, and trains will use any of the sections as needed.

I've tried deleting and re-adding signals and sections of track on the Oakhurst side of the station as well as deleting and re-adding signals on the Essex side. I've tried dropping a default station onto the existing, and destroying the existing station and building a default in its place. I've double-checked the signals and the track speeds. I just don't get why trains won't use the middle track there.


Attachments:
Campbell & Co., Apr 2nd, 1937.sav [131.84 KiB]
Downloaded 26 times
NewGRFs.jpg
NewGRFs.jpg [ 139.11 KiB | Viewed 1632 times ]

_________________
--
Bob
The wrinkles only go where the smiles have been...
Me, elsewhere
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:27 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4697
Location: home
I don;t have JGRs version, so I can't even load the save game (a picture of the situation would have been helpful), but start with checking if the middle platform is even usable. The simplest way to do that is by making the other platforms unreachable by taking out the track just before it (and after it if it's accessed from both sides).

With less platforms you will likely cause havoc in train flow, so you may want to do this experiment after saving, so you can revert to the save after resolving the problem.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7301
there are rare (and hard to debug) cases where a train leaves a "stale reservation" in a platform, making it unusable unless you force a train into that platform

you can enable showing reservations to check this.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:46 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 pm
Posts: 289
Location: The Granite City.
I can't see the problem , trains use the shortest routes , If you want to get a train to use a specific platform or track then use waypoints . Go to Station A ,Go Via Waypoint Platform 3 , Goto Station B .https://wiki.openttd.org/Waypoints . Your Grf prob is just a loading order error , click on the warnings there is an explanation , nothing you can do about the bridges .


Attachments:
Campbell & Co., 05-01-1940.png [621.76 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 49
Sorry; I figured since it was a JGR game, it might be better to just upload the savegame.

Hadn't thought about using waypoints, but that's more managing than I'd like to do (or think I should need to do). Trains wait to enter the outer tracks when the middle track stays open and unused. Just doesn't make sense to me.


Attachments:
Campbell & Co., Jul 21st, 1946 zoomed.jpg [1.07 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
--
Bob
The wrinkles only go where the smiles have been...
Me, elsewhere
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:59 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4697
Location: home
screenshot of piratescooby shows a reserved tile track with the 2nd platform....

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 49
Alberth wrote:
screenshot of piratescooby shows a reserved tile track with the 2nd platform....


Not exactly. It's only a 2-track station at that screenshot. Not sure how piratescooby got there.

At any rate, I played with it some more, even removing the RH station section (closest to town center) along with the track there. The next arriving train still didn't move until I forced it to ignore signals. I let it cycle twice, and then replaced the station piece, and behavior reverted back to abnormal.

Just weird.

_________________
--
Bob
The wrinkles only go where the smiles have been...
Me, elsewhere


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7301
i'd say it's a problem with the "signals in tunnel", which is notoriously unfinished and doesn't behave properly in combination with path signals.

i don't understand how anyone could ever use that patch. in any case, make sure there is at least one block signal before and after such a signals-in-tunnel section

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:46 pm
Posts: 1895
Location: Ipswich
Would you be able to upload a savegame of the 3 track layout which doesn't work as expected?
I performed a minimalist conversion to 3 tracks and it seemed to work fine, all platforms were used.

I should point out that the current layout is prone to deadlock, as you have trains coming from the north-east which terminate at and reverse in the station, however the bidirectionally signalled tunnels permit further trains to enter from the north-east whilst the platform is occupied in a south-westerly direction, in which case the train occupying the platform would be unable to reverse and end up waiting indefinitely.

Eddi wrote:
i'd say it's a problem with the "signals in tunnel", which is notoriously unfinished and doesn't behave properly in combination with path signals.

i don't understand how anyone could ever use that patch. in any case, make sure there is at least one block signal before and after such a signals-in-tunnel section

The implementation which is included in the patchpack is not the same as the various patches posted on these forums.

_________________
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018 - Away on honeymoon!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 49
Eddi wrote:
i'd say it's a problem with the "signals in tunnel", which is notoriously unfinished and doesn't behave properly in combination with path signals.

i don't understand how anyone could ever use that patch. in any case, make sure there is at least one block signal before and after such a signals-in-tunnel section


Bingo. I removed the tunnel signals and added a block signal on the NE end of the station right before the tunnel. Now NE-bound trains use the center track. There's more volume for NE-bound (from Oakhurst) trains than others, so I don't expect to see center usage from SW-bound trains (from Essex).

I use the NewGRF mainly for eye candy, honestly.

JGR, the savegame in my original post was not working the way I expected it to work.

_________________
--
Bob
The wrinkles only go where the smiles have been...
Me, elsewhere


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tow and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.