Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Signal Density
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:47 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:59 am
Posts: 22
In every game I always get stuck on choosing what signal density I should use. What signal density do you use?

_________________
Hey there, check out my Steam and YouTube Account!
Steam: https://steamcommunity.com/id/code_vengeance/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFznezxokTTtg6YdhHbhZ3w


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2410
Location: Virgo Supercluster
~roughly the length of a train. Less (edit: less signals, I mean, so more distance...), if I can get away with it ^^;


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:55 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:59 am
Posts: 22
Pyoro wrote:
~roughly the length of a train. Less (edit: less signals, I mean, so more distance...), if I can get away with it ^^;


Thanks! I'll try this out right away! :D

_________________
Hey there, check out my Steam and YouTube Account!
Steam: https://steamcommunity.com/id/code_vengeance/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFznezxokTTtg6YdhHbhZ3w


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7226
"about a train length" is generally a solid approach, if you want to pack the trains really tightly, you might want to put them closer in areas where trains accelerate. however, you must be careful there as those are usually also the places where the grid locks up

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 43
And also make sure, the first signal after any junction is greater than the length of any train using that track.

Stops trains blocking junctions :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
I have a signal each tile, I'm one maverick yunno.
And even with that people think my networks go crazy... totally not, it actually has a better handling for trains on dense networks (such as S-Bahn networks) !

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Signal Density
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:47 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4677
Location: home
Unless you don't have junctions, trains can never be closer than 2 tiles away from each other.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.