Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:56 am
Posts: 27
Hello,

in former times I was able to tunnel OpenTTD multiplay games through socks proxy.
I used openttd.exe -n IP_port#companyID to connect to my server.

Now I installed OpenTTD 1.7.1 and this does not work any longer - It hangs when loading the GRF's and there is no incoming connection on the server.
When I try openttd.exe -l IP:port I can see an incoming connection on the server.

Does OpenTTD 1.7.1 not run only via TCP now?
In former times Multiplayer games through TCP were possible (except finding servers in game, but this can be solved with -n IP:port).

Is this a known problem?

Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:32 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:17 pm
Posts: 62
hi,

I don't know if I can quite help... I only think it's weird, because 1.7.1 was made available many months ago! Mostly because of W10 FCU, but with other fixes, 1.7.2-RC1 is being tested NOW.
Maybe if you dig 1.7.1 changelog you'll find why.

Anyway, I just replied because a "openttd.exe" it's Windows... and if W10, it gets even more trickier. Does the normal connection to "your" server works?

Hint: OS used (server and client), OpenTTD version and if dedicated, and if listed on Servers list informations, would help a bit ^^


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:42 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4672
Location: home
Afaik nothing changed in OpenTTD wrt to networking, the more likely culprit is your Windows system, which seems to change a lot.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:56 am
Posts: 27
I also tried OpenTTD on a Windows 10 computer. There I also have problems with multiplayer mode.

When I call openttd.exe -n IP:port#company the game starts but does not try to establish a connection to the server.

Why the proxy support will not be implemented?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:36 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4672
Location: home
Like I said, nothing has changed in OpenTTD, if it worked before, it should still work now, since nothing changed in the openttd program.

It's like my house at a street. It had pavement to the front-door so you could get to my house. Nothing changed to the house and the pavement, so I still have pavement to the front-door that you can use. I can't help it if the street entrance got blocked.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:56 am
Posts: 27
Ok, I will try an older release again - http://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/games/ope ... /releases/

UPDATE:

OpentTTD 1.5 establishes the TCP connection and it says: wrong revision
OpentTTD 1.5.1 establishes the TCP connection and it says: wrong revision
OpentTTD 1.6 establishes the TCP connection and it says: wrong revision
OpentTTD 1.6.1 establishes the TCP connection and it says: wrong revision
OpenTTD 1.7.0 does not try to establish a connection (none entry in server-log).
OpenTTD 1.7.1 does not try to establish a connection (none entry in server-log).

So, there must be changed anything in the network stack. ;-)
Since revision 1.7.0 it does not work via TCP only to join a network game!

Try it yourself - but only via TCP connections - not UDP.
It also does not matter which Windows release do you use - I tested it on Windows 10, 7 an XP.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:01 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4672
Location: home
Can't try it, I don't even have Windows

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:31 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:56 am
Posts: 27
Me too, but I tried in VM.
Anything must be changed since 1.7.0. :-(
Maybe this bug could be fixed in next release?

Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: OpenTTD via Proxy
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7159
DieselDriver wrote:
Maybe this bug could be fixed in next release?

unlikely, if you cannot narrow down the cause further.

What you can do now to narrow it down? Get a compile environment, and the "trunk" branch of development, and run a "bisection" on it, to find out which development commit caused the change you see.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.