Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:13 pm
Posts: 4
Hello everybody!

First of all, apologize for the poor quality of my English. :bow:

I have some doubts with the NewGRF´s world.

At first, how can I activate or deactivate NewGRF's in a specific scenario? The scenario I want to play comes with certain activated NewGRFs (several of ECS), but the problem arises when the ECS NewGRF that´s include that the vehicles can transport all types of cargo produced by the industries, is not activated, and I can´t activate it in the NewGRF Configuration.

Anyone knows how to solve this?

Thank you in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:48 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 446
Location: S.W. London
https://wiki.openttd.org/NewGRF_Debugging
If you follow the steps, you can change NewGRFs.
Oh, and this can be a very bad thing to do (according to some, it will stop santa coming)

_________________
Image

Maker of many GRFs, most of which are pretty poor.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:13 pm
Posts: 4
OK thanks! I'll try it, and see if it works.

Let's cross our fingers, and let's hope Santa arrives! :) :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:13 pm
Posts: 4
Sorry for the double post...

It works!

At least does it at the start of a new game. I will try a time and report...

This debug function is very good, you just have to make sure, in the case of adding new GRFs, that they are compatible with those already activated.

Thanks again!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3767
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Fuser wrote:
Sorry for the double post...

It works!

At least does it at the start of a new game. I will try a time and report...

This debug function is very good, you just have to make sure, in the case of adding new GRFs, that they are compatible with those already activated.

Thanks again!


The dev's constantly talk about issues and corruption but I've never had any issues in the 10 years I've been playing OpenTTD, just so long as you dont change anything your using while playing (Like removing a trainset your using cars and engines from) or changing industry sets (that'll really make things weird with lots of missing sprites and <invalid cargo> popping up everywhere)

If you run into any crashes or issues after changing NewGRF's your very unlikely to get support from the dev's, though I'm sure that others may help at least and figure out if an issue is because of changed NewGRF's in a game or scenario, or if its something else.

Plus I think its silly that changing GRF's in scenarios is disabled by default as most scenarios are devoid of NewGRF's despite being based on a region or country that may have vehicle sets for that (like adding NARS+NARS Add-on to the USA Scenario)

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5939
Location: Eastern KY
NekoMaster wrote:
The dev's constantly talk about issues and corruption but I've never had any issues in the 10 years I've been playing OpenTTD


It happened to me once. It ruined an elaborate three year game. It honestly killed a little bit of my joy of playing OpenTTD.

NekoMaster wrote:
Plus I think its silly that changing GRF's in scenarios is disabled by default as most scenarios are devoid of NewGRF's despite being based on a region or country that may have vehicle sets for that (like adding NARS+NARS Add-on to the USA Scenario)


Most scenarios were created before the lockdown, because it was expected that you would add your own stuff. These scenarios need to be recreated properly with NewGRFs added.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1456
Location: The Netherlands
Well, as a GRF-developer I can give a couple of examples where things can go very very wrong with changing GRFs ingame.

For example with a station-set.
Sometimes I am not happy with the order of certain stations in the purchase-menu, if that order is changed then a lot can go wrong in a running game.
One of the things that goes wrong, is that some already built stations will change in their appearance, that will probably not cause a crash, its just a nuisance as the player needs to replace those parts manually.
It will probably cause a crash though if the size changes (for example, first I had a station sized 3x3, with the change of order there is now a 4x4 in that place).
Or if some of the properties change, for example from tracked to non-tracked, imagine that there is a train on a formerly tracked tile, that suddenly changes to non-tracked...

A lot of freedom is given to GRF-developers to change and alter their GRFs and I am very happy with that, as it improves GRFs.
It does mean though that you have to be very careful as a player with changing GRFs in running games and/or scenarios and be very aware that problems may arise (maybe not instantly, but also in the future as Kamnet has said).

Therefor the elaborate way to be able to change GRFs is a good thing in my opinion, as it raises the awareness and carefulness of the player.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:13 pm
Posts: 4
After reading your posts, I think you are referring to the dangers of changing GRF's during a game already started.

In my case, what I want to do is add a couple of GRF´s to those who come on stage (to be playable) and after that, start a new game.

I imagine that in these way there is not so much danger!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:23 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:55 pm
Posts: 141
Keep in mind that scenarios are actually savegames. No company-owned stuff is built yet, but the data structures that can be corrupted by changing NewGRFs are already there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1456
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Keep in mind that scenarios are actually savegames. No company-owned stuff is built yet, but the data structures that can be corrupted by changing NewGRFs are already there.

Exactly!

Yes, the "danger level" is indeed a lot lower, but still there.

Therefor, changing GRFs ingame or in an already created scenario is at your own risk and you should be very aware of that, therefor the elaborate way you have to take to enable changes is in my opinion still a good thing.

But I think you are warned enough now ;-)
Just change the GRFs to what you want and enjoy the game! But do save it from time to time, to be safe ;-)

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.