Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:16 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:38 am
Posts: 2
Hello. Pls, help, its little unfair((
Those any servers kicking me while im loading map data. Even cant load 150/250 kb for example, and its kicking with message "Network game lost"... I know im using slow connection, i wanna know, its rly impossible to play with this speed? Here screenshots:


Attachments:
File comment: 2
bandicam 2017-08-01 21-53-31-244.jpg [630.75 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
File comment: 1
bandicam 2017-08-01 21-53-06-149.jpg [580.73 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:21 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:03 am
Posts: 209
Maybe, that's impossible.
I know you have a slow router, but unfortunately that is the problem.

_________________
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:38 am
Posts: 2
I cant believe it... the game is old, i can even play world of tanks (2017) with this connection...
what a nonsense


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:04 pm
Posts: 74
In order to connect to BTPro servers you'll need the BTPro client.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 12:27 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:17 pm
Posts: 52
Sometimes it depends the way connection is made by your ISP and the computers it needs to pass until reaches destination. You can see it using tracert command. BTPro servers are located (now) in 2 countries: Canada (server02.btpro.nl) and France (server03.btpro.nl). I see by the screenshot that you try server #12, which tries to connect you to a game hosted on a machine in France. So, try in console tracert server03.btpro.nl
Meanwhile you can try to connect BTPro server #3 (small map and located in Canada), just to see how it goes ^^

BTPro client is not mandatory but sure adds some fancy things.

Hope it helps and enjoy the games :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:22 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:25 am
Posts: 40
ST2 wrote:
BTPro client is not mandatory but sure adds some fancy things.

It's an essential for me; I've become too used to it :D

But in all seriousness, that is something that is inevitable. The server owners can decide on the maximum amount of time someone can take to download the map and join the server, and the maximum amount of time which a client can lag behind the server. Hence from that I can deduce 2 possible causes:
1) Your router is too slow to download the map. The 250kb map, though, with your 60kbps connection, will take around 5 seconds to download IF you get a constant perfect connection speed with the server. And that in itself is already much faster than the average server's time allowance. However, it definitely isn't the server's fault as many other people can join it.
2) Your computer/CPU is too slow. This rarely or never happens on BTPro afaik (because of their vehicle limits and the time constraint of each game). But on other servers where people have like 1000 trains, it is possible that your PC takes too long to process everything that the server just dumps it. Hence your PC lags out and it falls behind the server by too significant an amount, and gets kicked. And it's does happen to me sometimes even when loading a random server during server download.

Hope you can find a solution and get playing :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:25 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 11:03 am
Posts: 183
Location: ::1
Deactivated wrote:
... The 250kb map, though, with your 60kbps connection, will take around 5 seconds to download ...
Sorry to disappoint you, but size of the map is 250 kiloBYTES while connection speed is in kiloBITS. Multiply 5 seconds by 8 and you get a more reasonable 40 seconds.

_________________
moe moe pipebomb


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.