What to do when you find a bug - READ

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4741
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Alberth » 02 Jun 2012 15:56

Yes you have to register at FlySpray before you can submit a bug. The point of the tracker is that issues don't get lost there, whereas in the forums, there is no way to keep track of all open issues.

Anyways, if you had searched there a little you'd have found http://bugs.openttd.org/task/5137
In other words, we know about it

cybermind
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Aug 2012 17:15

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by cybermind » 18 Aug 2012 17:19

I tried to win a bonus by transporting mail between to cities, I did so, several times but it just expired granting no bonus :-(

Multiplayer, version 1.2.2

I attached a savegame.
Attachments
Draborough Bay Transport, 17. okt 1962.sav
(370.71 KiB) Downloaded 201 times

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6595
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Redirect Left » 24 Nov 2013 15:27

Posted a very low severity bug report into the bugtracker, located here http://bugs.openttd.org/task/5817

Just my two cents, but it's somewhat irritating having a bug tracker. Would be much easier to post these things straight into the forum, or have a thread of bugs, or subforum of bugs here...
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by planetmaker » 24 Nov 2013 15:54

Jolteon wrote:Posted a very low severity bug report into the bugtracker, located here http://bugs.openttd.org/task/5817

Just my two cents, but it's somewhat irritating having a bug tracker. Would be much easier to post these things straight into the forum, or have a thread of bugs, or subforum of bugs here...
That would be much more troublesome and much more difficult really and actually make sure that we overlook bugs. http://bugs.openttd.org is the one place for all and with all bugs.

As to that bug: it's not really a bug, at least none which can be fixed, or only fixed by means of using industry NewGRFs. The iron ore mine industry has (technically) no buildings and only consists of ground tiles. As such it cannot hide anything and there's also nothing which can become invisible.

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6595
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Redirect Left » 24 Nov 2013 16:23

planetmaker wrote: As to that bug: it's not really a bug
Then the definition of 'transparent' industries needs to be updated then, cause either way, the description is bugged or the industry is bugged ;)
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 3815
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 19:15

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Rubidium » 24 Nov 2013 16:50

Jolteon wrote:Then the definition of 'transparent' industries needs to be updated then, cause either way, the description is bugged or the industry is bugged ;)
The definition of transparency is that everything that isn't a ground sprite is drawn transparent. Everything that is a ground sprite isn't, as that's obviously the ground. Having said that, the industry you mention is nothing more than just ground sprites.

It can be solved, but that would effectively mean ditching support for the old style graphics. If that happens, then it's arguably not an open TTD anymore. It would allow us to make some significant cleanups, though that would also break many NewGRFs. So again, something I wouldn't strive for.

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1176
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by McZapkie » 19 Apr 2014 08:44

Version 1.4.0 multiplayer server cause massively desync errors, if company is active.
Where I should report this problem?
Server is running custom (not random) map, is it possible to achieve desync errors due to changing map newgrf's?
Last edited by McZapkie on 19 Apr 2014 10:34, edited 1 time in total.
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4741
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Alberth » 19 Apr 2014 08:51

Yes, any form of changing newgrfs and then continuing to use the file voids your warranty, even if it happens eons later.

User avatar
bvoice360
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 192
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 12:51
Location: Somewhere in Kent

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by bvoice360 » 08 Mar 2015 17:45

is this the right place to report that FlySpray seems to be broken for me? When I click 'add this task', it says 'waiting for bugs.openttd.org' for several minutes before presenting me with timeout error.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4741
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Alberth » 08 Mar 2015 19:27

Not really, but our sys-admin TrueBrain has been working on the web services, including some reboot cycles for updating software.
So maybe you tried at the wrong time?
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
bvoice360
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 192
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 12:51
Location: Somewhere in Kent

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by bvoice360 » 08 Mar 2015 19:31

How long will it be down/not working properly?

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4741
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Alberth » 08 Mar 2015 19:51

It works for me currently, I think TrueBrain is daon today :)
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
bvoice360
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 192
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 12:51
Location: Somewhere in Kent

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by bvoice360 » 08 Mar 2015 20:43

it was just the save attachment that was causing it to not work, the devs will have to do without

Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2699
Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34

Re: What to do when you find a bug - READ

Post by Transportman » 09 Mar 2015 17:54

bvoice360 wrote:it was just the save attachment that was causing it to not work, the devs will have to do without
Keep in mind that uploading attachments can take some time (upload speeds are lower than download in most cases).
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests