Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:55 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 4:36 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 160
Skype: ben313371
You know those long hour drives in the back-seat of a car, with no internet connection or anything?

Do you know if OTTD for the android can start without an internet connection (It tries to start up but then retrieves the message "Failed connecting to http://sourceforge.net/projects/libsdl-android/files/OpenTTD-data-1.4.1.zip/downlaod) and idles away.

Also there's another problem, when I change to different windows within my android phone, OTTD seems to freeze.

Are there ways to fix this?

I am running OTTD with the Google Nexus 4 16GB version.


Last edited by Rubidium on Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Make sure it is clear this issue is about the non-official android port and not the official game


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 5:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6180
Location: Eastern KY
Wrong forum. Dev will hopefully come along and move it (feel free to delete this post).

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 6:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3494
Location: West Java
It needs internet connection for the first run - you're not installing the OpenTTD program, you're installing that app for SDL and OpenTTD installer !

Other than that it's good w/o internet connection unless the OpenTTD version needs to be upgraded (by upgrading the app).

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:38 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 160
Skype: ben313371
for some reason, it always needs the internet to check for OTTD / GRF updates.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:02 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9037
Location: Sol d
Ben1338 wrote:
for some reason, it always needs the internet to check for OTTD / GRF updates.

That's not a strange reason - how else does one check for updates? :roll: But neither is done necessarily at startup but triggered by you (or does this version differ such that it does that always @ pelya?)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:54 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 160
Skype: ben313371
But why can't I play it without it checking for updates?

If I try to play OTTD without internet, it simply wont start, not everywhere has internet, so basically, if I don't have direct internet connection, I can't play a game that originally ran on a windows 98 computer without internet?

Edit: I tried disabling all internet on my computer, and tried to launch OTTD, and it started up fine.

From this test, I think it's a bad port to the android, that or sourceforge.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
I tried it here. It downloads some stuff on first start but on subsequent start not even an internet attempt is made and it just starts without it. I don't kow if there will be an automatic update check later in time that could spoil the fun.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3494
Location: West Java
My experiences with it is that it'll download a new version of OpenTTD program after the "app" is updated. Not sure whether this has changed, it's probably better to PM / E-mail pelya about this. Or, give feedbacks on the playstore.

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 160
Skype: ben313371
I downloaded an update to OTTD, and it now starts fine without the internet.

Only problem now is the switching between home screen and back to OTTD tends to create a black screen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3494
Location: West Java
As long as it's not the OpenTTD reloads again, that's quiite fine, right ?

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:41 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:23 pm
Posts: 160
Skype: ben313371
It does load, it's just that the screen goes black when I go to the app from the home screen and I don't really know how to revive it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3494
Location: West Java
Report that as a bug... not to the official devs. To pelya himself.

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.