"Lost" train on straight track?

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
GrapplerBot
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Feb 2013 08:06

"Lost" train on straight track?

Post by GrapplerBot »

So I'm making a large central transfer station for a bunch of industries as practice for switching and switchyards. So far it's been going very smoothly, trains are flowing well.

I needed a sawmill though, so I funded one straight in front of one of the sides of my central station. Two straight tracks with passing crosses for multiple trains to run, relatively short distance. But when I made a lumber train, it claimed it is "lost" and it just sits in the middle of my yard... on the rail to the sawmill. It doesn't even move, even though there are no switches blocking it. I tried deleting it and creating another train, same problem. I tried adding a third rail to give it more paths, still gets stuck (or when it doesn't get stuck, it goes to a station in a completely opposite direction.) I checked all my tracks and they are all intact, none are missing.

Why is it getting stuck? I've got trains running much, much longer tracks that share passing lines with other industries and they've never had a problem.
User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9420
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: "Lost" train on straight track?

Post by planetmaker »

Generally for these type of questions: One savegame saves a thousand words :-)
User avatar
3iff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1012
Joined: 21 Oct 2005 09:26
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: "Lost" train on straight track?

Post by 3iff »

While waiting for the savegame, you're not trying to run an electric train on non-electric tracks, are you?
zilber
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Feb 2021 16:26

Re: "Lost" train on straight track?

Post by zilber »

Seems it still actual problem, I have quite straight forward path, where trains are lost and trying to reverse for some reason.
Is it possible to fix anyway? Can't upload .sav, due to the limitations of the forum, but can deliver it via e-mail or any other way.
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7579
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: "Lost" train on straight track?

Post by Eddi »

trains reverse if they wait too long at a red signal. this will often cause them to get lost.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
zilber
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Feb 2021 16:26

Re: "Lost" train on straight track?

Post by zilber »

Not in my case trains don't have any red signals on the way, they just trying to reverse at first junction which can allow it
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests