Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
I have a large number of trucks hauling raw material to a train station. I have to oneway roads, one going to the station, one from. Problem is the trucks only use one side of the oneway road and create a bottleneck. What am I doing wrong?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
You're probably doing nothing wrong.

With one-way roads, road vehicles still drive on the driving side and only use the opposite side for overtaking, like on normal roads. The difference is that overtaking is easier because there is no opposing traffic on a one-way road.

You also must know that articulated vehicles (the ones that can only use drive-through stops) cannot overtake and therefore will always use only one side of the road, one-way or not.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
That is what I thought. But when one truck stalls (breaks down) all the rest of the trucks just pile up behind it. Is there a fix to this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7200
no, this limitation is very deep in the code and cannot be fixed.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 3:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 57
At the risk of getting shot down again, why can't the vehicle code detect that the vehicle in front which is broken down is going slowe rthan it and overtake based off of that?
If the 70mph van can see the 56mph lorry ahead and decide "That's 56mph. I'm 70mph. I'm faster. Overtake.", why not go "That's 0mph. I'm 70mph. I'm faster. Overtake."


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 3:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Deepsmeg wrote:
why can't the vehicle code detect that the vehicle in front which is broken down

Basically because the vehicle code is never taught to understand that.
Probably not the answer you were looking for, but there you go :P

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
The road vehicle movement code could be changed to do that. It just need someone that is willing to rework the whole thing (right now it is very confusing) taking into account all possible corner cases and other missing stuff. For example, right now under some conditions road vehicles can drive through each other. Needless to say, this would not be a small task :)

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7200
Deepsmeg wrote:
At the risk of getting shot down again, why can't the vehicle code detect that the vehicle in front which is broken down is going slowe rthan it and overtake based off of that?
If the 70mph van can see the 56mph lorry ahead and decide "That's 56mph. I'm 70mph. I'm faster. Overtake.", why not go "That's 0mph. I'm 70mph. I'm faster. Overtake."

that's what vehicles already do, but there are more conditions:
  • there must be less than 3 vehicles [only me and the slower vehicle] around. this means articulated vehicles (that consist of 2 or more vehicles already) can never overtake or be overtaken.
  • there may be no crossings, curves or stations nearby
  • cannot be on a bridge

additionally, articulated vehicles cannot overtake, because there is no code to handle the following vehicle parts, only the front vehicle would overtake, and disconnect from the rest of the vehicle (which would crash the game).

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:58 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 57
The gold standard would be having it recognise dual carriageways that have been made and having overtake based rules that'd allow a 70mph vehicle to pass a convoy of 56mph lorries
Why is overtaking not allowed on a bridge? Is that due to virtual road/portal stuff like tunnels?

For a potential quick win:
Can the 3 vehicle rule change?

Am I articulated (Am I more than 1 vehicle?)?
Yes, do not overtake.
No.
Am I on a 2way road?
Yes, usual behaviour.
No.
Look ahead. Would I have room to complete this overtake before hitting a junction,corner,L/C,station,etc?
Yes, overtake.
No, stay behind.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:22 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:45 pm
Posts: 300
How would the system behave if an RV breakdown set the vehicle's maximum speed and power to 1mph and 1hp for a short time rather than zero? (A bit like some of the advanced train breakdown mods I've seen.) Such a vehicle would presumably crawl along at an imperceptible pace for a few days, then recover, but because it hasn't 'broken down', merely suddenly become very very slow, maybe the game engine could cope with overtaking?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:58 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
Terkhen wrote:
The road vehicle movement code could be changed to do that. It just need someone that is willing to rework the whole thing (right now it is very confusing) taking into account all possible corner cases and other missing stuff. For example, right now under some conditions road vehicles can drive through each other. Needless to say, this would not be a small task :)


I once took a look on this. Started with bridges code only to realize that vehicles can't overtake at all on bridges at all. ^^ And somewhere then I found something else to occupy my time with.

Edit: "took a look" = started to code on what might could have turned out as a solution, but for obvious reasons mentioned above, I couldn't get it to work :-p

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:54 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:42 pm
Posts: 808
Location: Sweden
Eddi wrote:
  • there may be no crossings, curves or stations nearby
  • cannot be on a bridge

Now I'm using a nightly build, so I don't know where this would've been implemented or if it's a bug of some sort but I swear I've seen my RVs use the left lane to overtake both on bridges and in corners, and I also remember that it stayed in the left lane all the way until the bridge ended for some reason (the bridge was much longer then needed to overtake).

_________________
Openttd.se!
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7200
indeed they do that, if they started the overtaking before the bridge, they continue on it

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.