Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 3:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Forbidden build/destroy
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:40 pm
Posts: 8
Hello,

For most of action, when it's not possible there is a message to inform player the action cannot be done. But I found 2 exceptions (maybe there are more) and I share them here because for me it's not a normal behaviour.

When a tile has alreay a station (train or road) and I click on it to build a new station (train or road), that cost money but do nothing more. This behaviour is different with airports and harbors, I get a red message that indicate it's not possible (for me this is the normal behaviour).

An other weird behaviour is when I click on empty water tile, that cost 10 000 (maybe the cost depends of NewGRF) for do nothing.

Of course this 'clicks' are not volonteer but can be destroy economy of a game (specially the water one).

Thanks for reading.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:09 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4613
Location: home
foxthib wrote:
Hello,

For most of action, when it's not possible there is a message to inform player the action cannot be done. But I found 2 exceptions (maybe there are more) and I share them here because for me it's not a normal behaviour.
The two exceptions are both working as intended, although I agree they seem weird at first sight.

foxthib wrote:
When a tile has alreay a station (train or road) and I click on it to build a new station (train or road), that cost money but do nothing more. This behaviour is different with airports and harbors, I get a red message that indicate it's not possible (for me this is the normal behaviour).
You over-build a new station tile each time. For the deault stations, this is kind of useless, as it has only one possible tile, so you get the same tile each time. If you use a NewGRF station however, there may be several possible tiles, and some people really want a specific tile at each spot. By overbuilding, you can simply click until you get the tile you want. Obviously, such NewGRFs tend to make (over-)building a station tile not too expensive :)

foxthib wrote:
An other weird behaviour is when I click on empty water tile, that cost 10 000 (maybe the cost depends of NewGRF) for do nothing.
You're destroying water. If you do that in the middle of the sea, new water rushes in, and there is not much use. However, if you cut of an area from the sea by building a row of land between them, and then destroy all water in the area, it stays dry! (Until you let the sea flood it again, of course.)

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.