Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:18 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 6:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
Dear all,

Some months ago, i upgraded my computer to Windows 10. The following problems occured with TTDL since then:
1. saving the game, the system becames instable, mouse cursor is moving over the landscape, but doens't work on the dialog box to save the game/change te name of the saving file. Just <enter> nevertheless seems to work correctly just to save the game. Sometimes had this troubles with windows 8 as well;
2. asking for the list of industries, the computer becomes instable, sometimes causes a total crash of Windows 10...Didn't have that troubles with windows 8. It takes too much time to produce the list comparing to former computer platforms.
3. the game seems to be much more 'slower' than it used to be running it on windows 8.

I already tried the following:
a. tried to start in Windows 8 compatibilty(bij settings in Windows)
b.erased all added newgrf-xtra's
c. run the game as administrator
d. just start a new game and delete the old ones

Who can help me? I hope this is an known problem which can be solved...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 6:52 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 870
TTDL = Transport Tycoon Deluxe? So it's not OpenTTD?

If so, I'm actually surprised that you managed to run the original game on Windows 8. Have you tried running it in DOSBox?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 8:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
sorry, I meant OpenTTD ofcourse instead of TTDL


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4378
Location: home
I think the problem is not in openttd, but deeper, in the computer itself.
Have you tried running a memory test?

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 9:39 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 870
Did you upgrade to Windows 10 without a full reinstall? If so, did you try reinstalling OpenTTD? You can do so safely without losing your savegames and settings, just make sure you backup your Documents/OpenTTD directory.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 5:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

Well, I upgraded the windows 8 platform into windows 10. I nevertheless reinstalled Openttd 2 times since then. The problems though running the game after reinstalling, kept the same...

I don't have any problems with the memory running other software, but i will check it just to be sure...

Anyone else any ideas?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 10:39 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 870
There is a new version out there: OpenTTD 1.7.1-RC1.
frosch wrote:
In particular it should work better on newer versions of Windows.

Does it solve your problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 6:06 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

thank you for the suggestion. I tried to re-install immediatly and Open TTDD seems to run much better now!. It does not crash anymore or turns the computer running instable.
Nevertheless, two suggestions/questions:

1. big games with lots of industries and towns are still running slowly. Generating the list of towns or industries, takes much, much time. From my point of view, in former platforms (Vista/7) that didn't take that long.
2. the mouse cursor sometimes still 'leaves the game' and moves over the windows dashboard...

I think Windows 10-users should have a recommendation using the latest OpenTTD installer.

Some suggestions for improvement, but I can play the game again. Thanx!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 11:14 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:48 pm
Posts: 18
Are all your drivers up to date? Including BIOS and chipset? (check computer manufacturers website).

Does your pc have a brand/model? Or do you know the specs?

Also, rather then compatibility mode for windows 8, XP SP3 is always the suggested option.

Are you using the 32bit or 64bit versions of OpenTTD? I would suggest trying JGR patchpack 64bit, if your windows 10 is 64bit (and if it isnt, it should be).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 8:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
I finally solved te problem.

Some of you alread did the suggestion to re-install the computer. That was the issue.
For one or another reason the automatic upgrading windows 7 to 8 to 10 appears to work, but it doesn't after all...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.