Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:12 pm
Posts: 3
Hey guys.

First of all: Thank you very much for reading this.

I'm playing this game for years now and I love it. Since creators update its not so much fun anymore. When ever I start the game my client-server-runtime process uses a lot of GPU. I'm playing in window mode. The smaller the window is, the better I can play the game. I thought it might be better soon. But it dosn't look so, that's why I'm asking you for help. What I did so far and some system info:

Windows 10 64bit
32GB RAM
i7 5870
Tried R9 290 and RX480

I searched for someone having the same problem on this board. No success.
I updated my chipset, reinstalled the game, updated all drivers. I used the wiki post relatetd to problems with versions higher than 1.5. I manually added win32 to openttdconfig. Tryed 8 bit mode (was slightly better in 8bit mode). I used radeon seetings to limit frames to 30. Disabled firewall, disabled anti virus, installed several newgrf grafik packs.

I'm running out of ideas. Anything else I could do?

Thanks in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:13 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 371
Location: Denmark
OpenTTD isn't supposed to be heavy on the graphics hardware in the PC, basically all graphics rendering is handled on CPU and the finished picture is then copied to screen as a single surface. (The common rendering process for 3D accelerated games is that the game sends commands to the GPU about the geometry to render.)

A little while ago I uploaded a testing build on the issue tracker for someone else who is also having (different) performance problems, this test build has a new FPS meter feature. Post on issue tracker, Direct download link.

If you unpack and run this version (don't overwrite your current install!) you can try opening the frame rate window and check the Graphics Rendering and Video Output timing numbers. It's common for graphics rendering to get slow-ish for complex scenes with lots of networks and in high resolution, but the video output should generally stay below 1 ms all the time on a modern system, regardless of resolution.

Attachment:
openttd_2018-07-18_19-04-03.png
openttd_2018-07-18_19-04-03.png [ 40.05 KiB | Viewed 329 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:12 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks four your help!

Dosn't look that good... Any Ideas how I could fix it?

No CPU Usage, just GPU...

Attachment:
notgood.png
notgood.png [ 10.44 KiB | Viewed 310 times ]

Attachment:
notgood2.png [5.68 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:43 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 371
Location: Denmark
Ouch, yes that's csrss.exe having that heavy GPU usage. Usually csrss.exe itself should never do much of anything interesting, it's basically a core Windows component tying most of the system together. My immediate hunch is that you have something else installed/running on your computer that's jamming up things.

Can you try restarting Windows into Safe Mode and test OTTD with that? Unfortunately finding Safe Mode is rather hard in Windows 10 so it's probably best if you look up a guide to it on a smartphone while going through the process.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3823
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
To get into safe mode on Windows 10, you have to search the start menu or PC Settings for "Change Advanced Startup Options" which will allow you to Restart Windows 10 and select advanced start up options like Safe mode.

I still dont get why they couldn't just keep the typical F8 advanced start up options from previous versions of windows.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:12 pm
Posts: 3
Thank you for your hints. I'll be on holidays for the next 3 weeks. Afterwards I will give it a try.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.