Transport Tycoon Forums
https://www.tt-forums.net/

OpenLoco now exists!
https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=82561
Page 1 of 2

Author:  jules [ Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:40 pm ]
Post subject:  OpenLoco now exists!

OpenLoco now exists, looks like by the OpenRCT2 team.

Should therefore actually come to fruition.

https://github.com/OpenRCT2/OpenLoco

Funnily, Google search of OpenLoco brings up their github.com first, then an April fools from 2009 here.

Author:  NekoMaster [ Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

I hope it gets somewhere, it would be a shame to see it die before we can actually have an improved modern version of Locomotion just like what OpenRCT2 has done for Roller Coaster tycoon 2.

I hope we can get new features like larger maps and bigger content limits in the future.

Author:  SkullKrixzz [ Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

NekoMaster wrote:
I hope we can get new features like larger maps and bigger content limits in the future.


indeed! bigger maps are needed, as well it would be nice to not be so limited for in game vehicle to choose from...

Author:  ERRORTEK23 [ Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

jules wrote:
OpenLoco now exists, looks like by the OpenRCT2 team.

Should therefore actually come to fruition.

https://github.com/OpenRCT2/OpenLoco

Funnily, Google search of OpenLoco brings up their github.com first, then an April fools from 2009 here.



Really ? I have been working for Loco mod czechrepublic for three years now. :lol:

Attachments:
07.png [997.61 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
08.png [1 MiB]
Not downloaded yet
10.png [1000.49 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Author:  Walter1940 [ Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Has anyone tried that out yet?
How big are the maps? And how many vehicles can you use?

Author:  Jagged_bacon [ Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

This is kind of a big deal isn't it? :shock:

Author:  jules [ Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Jagged_bacon wrote:
This is kind of a big deal isn't it? :shock:



hopefully!

Author:  SkullKrixzz [ Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Jagged_bacon wrote:
This is kind of a big deal isn't it? :shock:


its huge for me, i enjoy locomotion but hated all the limitations it had, and ottd had better functions with the patches and everything for it, but hopefully given time openloco will get to the same level as ottd...

Author:  Zakos [ Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Fingers crossed it keeps its momentum. I'll see if there's a way to support the team.

Author:  Jagged_bacon [ Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

So I have some good and bad news...
I tested openloco for the first time yesterday. The features are very minimal however the project has just started. It works great, but there is one thing i still wish they would fix.

Unfortunately, the .exe for openloco is not compatible with the Long Station Patch in any way. I hope they add compatibility or just remove the ceiling from the amount of stations you can place, it would be fantastic 8)

Author:  jules [ Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

[quote="The features are very minimal however the project has just started.
[/quote]

Hopefully they can progress it quite quickly, it sounds like a lot of the background work has been done with OpenRCT2

Author:  maquinista [ Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

If they need sprites, maybe I can give some for roads and trams, but I am not sure if they have enough quality (also the lines don't fit in slopes).

Also, I have drawn some terrain sprites, but I don't know if they fit the quality requirements of the project, and the shape needs some tweeaking in some sprites, because these sprites were made for me, not as a Locomotion replacement (not very difficult).

Also, lots of sprites could be made using OpenTTD sprites.

Note: You can be sure that the most difficult part here is the sourcecode, I have tried to create something simple, and It was very difficult.

Attachments:
File comment: Preview.
experimento.png
experimento.png [ 34.51 KiB | Viewed 2560 times ]

Author:  Krutonium [ Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Quote:
then an April fools from 2009 here.


Link me, I am curious.

Quote:
I hope it gets somewhere, it would be a shame to see it die before we can actually have an improved modern version of Locomotion just like what OpenRCT2 has done for Roller Coaster tycoon 2.

I hope we can get new features like larger maps and bigger content limits in the future.


That's the plan! It's going to take a while, but then, what doesn't?

Quote:
Has anyone tried that out yet?
How big are the maps? And how many vehicles can you use?


Same as Vanilla.

Quote:
Fingers crossed it keeps its momentum. I'll see if there's a way to support the team.


We get asked this a lot over OpenRCT2, and the answer is the same here as it is there: Give us your Bug Reports, your Code Patches, your Free Graphics Packs and Music. And tell others! We specifically don't want money, lest we anger the sleeping giant known as Atari.

Quote:
Unfortunately, the .exe for openloco is not compatible with the Long Station Patch in any way. I hope they add compatibility or just remove the ceiling from the amount of stations you can place, it would be fantastic


Link Please, Source code if possible



:D

Krutonium

Author:  Zakos [ Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Found the joke -> https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=42609&hilit=openloco

Did you mean the link to the Long Station Patch? Because if so, here -> https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=50627

Author:  maquinista [ Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Krutonium wrote:
We get asked this a lot over OpenRCT2, and the answer is the same here as it is there: Give us your Bug Reports, your Code Patches, your Free Graphics Packs and Music. And tell others! We specifically don't want money, lest we anger the sleeping giant known as Atari.

Just a question: is my proposal interesting for the project?

Author:  Krutonium [ Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

maquinista wrote:
Krutonium wrote:
We get asked this a lot over OpenRCT2, and the answer is the same here as it is there: Give us your Bug Reports, your Code Patches, your Free Graphics Packs and Music. And tell others! We specifically don't want money, lest we anger the sleeping giant known as Atari.

Just a question: is my proposal interesting for the project?


I mean, ideally we want a full graphics pack capable of replacing all of the vanilla graphics. Bits and pieces probably won't look great all mixed up.

Author:  maquinista [ Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Krutonium wrote:
maquinista wrote:
Krutonium wrote:
We get asked this a lot over OpenRCT2, and the answer is the same here as it is there: Give us your Bug Reports, your Code Patches, your Free Graphics Packs and Music. And tell others! We specifically don't want money, lest we anger the sleeping giant known as Atari.

Just a question: is my proposal interesting for the project?


I mean, ideally we want a full graphics pack capable of replacing all of the vanilla graphics. Bits and pieces probably won't look great all mixed up.

Thanks.

Maybe you can find useful OpenGFX from OpenTTD, I cannot help you because it has lot of programming, but a lot of work is done.

It could be interesting to allow users to set up an alternative folder for "free DAT files", if a certain DAT file is placed here, it is read instead of the original DAT file. This could make easier the development of the assets, because you don't need to have all them at once.

Author:  maquinista [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

If you are interested, we can start a thread about "OpenGFX fork for OpenLoco" or your favourite name.

This is the project that we can fork, fortunately, it has a free license (GPL):
https://wiki.openttd.org/OpenGFX_Readme
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38122&hilit=opengfx
Unfortunately, building OpenGFX (5) is above my skills. I don't know if at least we can use it to create the sprites, and then, create the DAT files.

Maybe I can help modelling some sprites... but... I am not sure about this.

The biggest advantage, is that most of the sprites will fall in the same style and lots of them only need some tweaks to be ready for OpenLoco.

Author:  SimYouLater [ Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Can someone please post a compiled version? I just installed an old Locomotion CD, only to find out there's no precompiled OpenLoco.

Author:  Walter1940 [ Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Since February 16th there is a first release

https://github.com/OpenRCT2/OpenLoco/re ... tag/v18.02

But before that the files were compiled several times before. Here the last version.

http://www.wisim-welt.de/index.php/Thre ... post169754

Simply unpack in the original game directory. Before doing a back-up of "loco.exe". The new .exe may be detected as a virus. But it is not

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.