Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:33 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:35 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 154
Skype: mejias.manuel36
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
The game has been released on Steam
http://store.steampowered.com/app/356430/

Just for the person who don't bought it yet, i recommend buy via STEAM is even cheaper than Atari download version!

To be honest , since Game Spy Arcade has been closed , play it via multiplayer "CO-OP" has been a bit hard ,
NOTE: Steam version doesn't make any change, it doesn't contain a special multiplayer platform to keep playing via CO-OP.

There is a group on the same URL, for the persons who already got a Retail CD-KEY, you can't add the game to Steam platform at least adding like a "non steam game", that is a bad news

_________________
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 8:40 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:15 am
Posts: 183
Location: At a computer
Makes me wonder what he is up to. He disappears for nearly 10 years, comes out and helps with porting this to iPad, and now it's on Steam.

_________________
I'm not normal. Because normal is stupid. And stupid is normal.
Life has no respawns.
A Locomotion, BeamNG.drive, and OpenTTD enthusiast and amateur photographer. Also getting into model railroading.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:05 pm
Posts: 2635
Location: Lost in spaces
Who is he?

Atari sells Locomotion not CS, he has his own publishing company since a few years, 31X Ltd., so why would he sell Transport Tycoon under the name locomotion and via Atari.

_________________
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 5:33 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 154
Skype: mejias.manuel36
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
ChillCore wrote:
Who is he?

Atari sells Locomotion not CS, he has his own publishing company since a few years, 31X Ltd., so why would he sell Transport Tycoon under the name locomotion and via Atari.


Let's know a bit of History

2004
First at all the name of this game has been called at first time on 2004 "Locomotion", Transport Tycoon is another story , the publisher and distribution company "ATARI" buy Chris Sawyer's copyrights to distribute and sell his game.

Chris Sawyer is a independient author, however he is just a programmer and designer, He need the help of a publisher company to distribute the game.

2014
Chris Sawyer and 31X Ltd. Release a game called "Transport Tycoon" for mobile devices , the game already use "Locomotion" platform, however the data files for trains and stuff are coded different. You can see diferences between TGV1.dat and TGV1.dat Transport Tycoon Mobile

2015
Atari release "Locomotion" on Steam
The game has been released on Steam platform, this gaming platform started with Half Life and games developed by Valve corporation, Grow up adding Companies like "Ubisoft - Microsoft - Eidos - Atari" and today is the biggest platform for gamers, they are including old games.

_________________
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 6:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:05 pm
Posts: 2635
Location: Lost in spaces
Ooh history ...

Your history lesson misses a few dates and events.
I have a hard time believing CS is involved at all in this steam adventure due to history.

Anyhoo I hope Atari patches the garbled colours out soon for ya'll. ;)

_________________
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:55 pm
Posts: 12
Its got his name in the title of the game so i'm sure he had to be asked by atari to put it up on steam.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:31 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 780
Location: Munich, Germany
Manuel18 wrote:
Just for the person who don't bought it yet, i recommend buy via STEAM is even cheaper than Atari download version!

Here it is even cheaper. In particular, there are no such problems as the version of Steam. :P

http://www.gog.com/game/chris_sawyers_locomotion

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 7:05 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Hmm, that's strange....

The GOG version is 469.7 MB
The Steam install for me was 570MB

Where did the extra 100MB in the Steam version come from?

(Sorry if that's a stupid question, but i don't understand computer things very well.) :oops:

_________________
Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:47 am
Posts: 16
304 001 wrote:
Hmm, that's strange....

The GOG version is 469.7 MB
The Steam install for me was 570MB

Where did the extra 100MB in the Steam version come from?

(Sorry if that's a stupid question, but i don't understand computer things very well.) :oops:



This is an interesting question anyone got an answer?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:46 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 780
Location: Munich, Germany
No, but why you dig out an old thread?

It does not matter how the game packed or formatted. The final installation in both contains the same cars and maps.

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
I never buy games via Steam/GOG...Rather have a product in my hands then as a download. Just bought me a new CD-version of Locomotion because the old one was completely done for. I paid just €3,- for it and it's running great again !

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3621
Location: IL, USA
I think this is worth mentioning as well because the Steam forum for the game is riddled with questions like this without an answer:

If your game starts asking for the disk, run it in compatibility mode (the Loco equivalent of turning it off and on again).

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.