Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 9
When I play Locomotion, I tend to build just like the CPU's, just at a faster pace. Am I playing like an amateur or retro gamer?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 6:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
I think like an amateur...The AI from the computergame acts like a complete retard and that's why I never play games with that dumb AI (no offense to you AustinMario :wink: )

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 11:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 9
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
I think like an amateur...The AI from the computergame acts like a complete retard and that's why I never play games with that dumb AI (no offense to you AustinMario :wink: )

The reason I do that is because using more than two rails for one transport looks weird and overpowered. Is there a mod that makes the AI harder or is that too hard-coded?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
I don't know if you can make AI harder, but I do know some one made new AI persons like Obama and Merkel...You can find them here:

http://www.wisim-welt.de/filebase/index.php/Entry/1149-Politiker-Konkurenten-by-LocoFanZug/

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3618
Location: IL, USA
I wouldn't quite say you're an amateur. I used to make single-track layouts, supporting only one train going back and forth.

However, there's a lot of room for improvement. If you're looking to make two-way layouts, the best you can possibly do is a RoRo layout with double stations. Otherwise, you're going to want to use the same track for multiple lines. It may seem counterproductive, but if you have massive trains then it's easy to maintain because there aren't many trains moving at any given time; they're all loading up.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:07 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:57 pm
Posts: 552
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
I think like an amateur...The AI from the computergame acts like a complete retard and that's why I never play games with that dumb AI (no offense to you AustinMario :wink: )


The AI is a complete waste of time, it does what you can't and expects you to work around it when that happens, sorry I prefer to make my landscapes harder and to raise the level of the game to match making it harder to make money.

In every scenario I have ever created, I have turned the AI off and played against myself by continually updating my tracks, signalling and infrastructure. I attempt to play like it is truly my railroad and it's a process of improvement to create longer stations, better turnouts and longer passing points, the aim is to start small and run longer and heavier trains just like you would if you owned the property

_________________
Don't touch that rail!

Scenario's Done are

Broken Hills at the Rivers Mouth viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49627, Sinn River viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49626, Flat Lands viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37704, Mountain High River Deep viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37412, River Valley and Rock viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37135, First Attempt viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34097 Cwm Valley viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34049&hilit=cwm+valley


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
That's the spirit Utrack ! :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:15 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:27 am
Posts: 25
Location: Ontario, Canada
Austinmario13, i dont think u play like an amateur. Everyone has a different play style. The ai is good at making trains (kinda). I just dont see the point of a central network. It is costly and complicated and in most cases, isolated single and double track routes, are easy cheap and lucrative, even more than a central network. In many competative scenarios, i use the ai style and i can get to 70% in 10 years and 90% in a few more.

_________________
Cecil Cityscape is the name of an avatar in Chris Sawyer's Locomotion
Cheers from the Dominion of Canada! :lol: 8)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:54 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia
uktrackbuilder_loco wrote:
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
I think like an amateur...The AI from the computergame acts like a complete retard and that's why I never play games with that dumb AI (no offense to you AustinMario :wink: )


The AI is a complete waste of time, it does what you can't and expects you to work around it when that happens, sorry I prefer to make my landscapes harder and to raise the level of the game to match making it harder to make money.

In every scenario I have ever created, I have turned the AI off and played against myself by continually updating my tracks, signalling and infrastructure. I attempt to play like it is truly my railroad and it's a process of improvement to create longer stations, better turnouts and longer passing points, the aim is to start small and run longer and heavier trains just like you would if you owned the property

This guy gets it

I like to build to a realistic standard, I look at my scenario as if it were a model railroad with a prototype, and I detail it as such.
But the good thing about Locomotion is that there is more than one method to play it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Amateur or Retro
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3618
Location: IL, USA
Like any other simulation game, really :P

I like to build as realistically as possible when mods are involved, building a few wide stretches of track and routing many of them through it.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.