OpenLoco now exists!

The "spiritual sequel" to Transport Tycoon Deluxe: Chris Sawyer's Locomotion is the latest game from him - general discussion about it here please!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Densha
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 286
Joined: 17 Sep 2009 07:28

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Densha »

Good to see development on OpenLoco started!

The changelog on GitHub says that vehicle breakdowns can now be disabled, but how do I go about doing this? I cannot find a option or switch for it anywhere.
User avatar
Pacific RailRoad
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 16 Feb 2017 12:09
Location: Middle Of Nowhere

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Pacific RailRoad »

OpenLoco is kind of a great deal , I have been messing with it for 3 weeks now and I expect more in the future and hopefully with Multiplayers like OpenRCT2!
__==Chop Chop , That's all Lads , Go home now if you don't have plan to replay==__
My youtube (Locomotions videos shenanigans) : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrsVWb ... e97MVmrSkg
Image
User avatar
Slax
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Jul 2011 00:08
Location: Italy

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Slax »

Densha wrote: The changelog on GitHub says that vehicle breakdowns can now be disabled, but how do I go about doing this? I cannot find a option or switch for it anywhere.
Same problem here, I can't seem to find the switch for that.

EDIT: I found here how to do it, you just have to open the openloco.cfg file you find in %APPDATA%\OpenLoco and replace that 0 with a 1.
Image
SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 675
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by SimYouLater »

Game crashes constantly, but I'm not sure how to help fix it. Bug reports?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.
pfcbrooklyn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 2018 21:13

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by pfcbrooklyn »

Yeah, i am having the same problem with the game crashing. Bites. Can't stay open long enough to do much.
User avatar
Seelenquell
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1890
Joined: 16 Oct 2004 13:42
Location: C:\

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Seelenquell »

hi there :D

after months i´ve visited this site again and first tried the openloco-game. it worked from first second. as i´m not an owner of a newer monitor right now, i´m using my old one with 1680x1050. i was positively surprised to see lomo in fullscreen. that is the main reason i´m playing lomo again. lomo is almost perfect now for me and i can´t wait to have new or long awaited features.

if you need gfx-help.. feel free to ask. i´d be glad to help, if it´s possible. don´t have that much time.
i did all models/renderings/textures myself. no conversions.

seelenquell.pytalhost.com has been reactivated from 16/07/28 till 18/05/31.. now it´s deactivated. at least there..
new URL is: http://seelenquell.125mb.com
User avatar
Pacific RailRoad
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 16 Feb 2017 12:09
Location: Middle Of Nowhere

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Pacific RailRoad »

Honestly , I don't see whether if this project could go anywhere , I mean it've been almost a year and we've gotten only 1 release with no update :(
__==Chop Chop , That's all Lads , Go home now if you don't have plan to replay==__
My youtube (Locomotions videos shenanigans) : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrsVWb ... e97MVmrSkg
Image
User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24930
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by orudge »

It looks like there have been quite a few commits since the original release - quite what functionality is in there I don't know. You'd probably need to build it yourself, or find somebody who is willing to do it for you.
User avatar
Gymnasiast
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2017 18:34

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Gymnasiast »

Pacific RailRoad wrote:Honestly , I don't see whether if this project could go anywhere , I mean it've been almost a year and we've gotten only 1 release with no update :(
Version 19.03 has just been released. The project did see very few commits in the latter half of 2018, but has recently gathered steam again.
User avatar
Pacific RailRoad
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 58
Joined: 16 Feb 2017 12:09
Location: Middle Of Nowhere

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Pacific RailRoad »

My friend notice me right after v19.03 were released, honestly I were glad to see that people were still working on it, just hope it will be as good as OpenTTD.
__==Chop Chop , That's all Lads , Go home now if you don't have plan to replay==__
My youtube (Locomotions videos shenanigans) : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrsVWb ... e97MVmrSkg
Image
User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5663
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by lobster »

After somewhat forgetting this existed and recently playing a bout of the original Locomotion I looked up the latest release (21.02) and downloaded it. After playing through the first couple maps I can honestly say this is currently at or even surpassing the base game level, and seeing as development is still active my eyes are gonna be on this a lot closer.

Haven't tried it with any additional trains though, that's gonna be tonight's next test.
"Your mother was a lobster, and your father... was also a lobster" -- The rascal formerly known as astath -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster
User avatar
Seelenquell
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1890
Joined: 16 Oct 2004 13:42
Location: C:\

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Seelenquell »

i´ve even tested a few of my DATs and they work there too :)
i did all models/renderings/textures myself. no conversions.

seelenquell.pytalhost.com has been reactivated from 16/07/28 till 18/05/31.. now it´s deactivated. at least there..
new URL is: http://seelenquell.125mb.com
User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5663
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by lobster »

See this is just the best news. :D
"Your mother was a lobster, and your father... was also a lobster" -- The rascal formerly known as astath -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster
User avatar
Seelenquell
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1890
Joined: 16 Oct 2004 13:42
Location: C:\

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Seelenquell »

i did all models/renderings/textures myself. no conversions.

seelenquell.pytalhost.com has been reactivated from 16/07/28 till 18/05/31.. now it´s deactivated. at least there..
new URL is: http://seelenquell.125mb.com
Dennis007
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Mar 2021 07:58

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Dennis007 »

I want to try Locomotion again but it gives me this error: "Unable to initialize graphics system" :roll:

Will this be fixed If i install openloco?
Is there any tutorial to install openloco?

EDIT: I tried to install it and it fixed my game :)
User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5663
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by lobster »

The latest version (21.05) has some fixes, but mainly it has introduced a cheat menu. Very practical for testing out things or just building cool visuals.

Edit: I hadn't noticed but it also includes build while paused. Been waiting on this, so cool it's here!
"Your mother was a lobster, and your father... was also a lobster" -- The rascal formerly known as astath -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster
User avatar
Zakos
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3940
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 02:48
Location: USA but hiding it
Contact:

Re: OpenLoco now exists!

Post by Zakos »

I recommend joining the discord in order to stay updated on releases as well.
Post Reply

Return to “General Locomotion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests