Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Talk about the classic original version of Transport Tycoon.
Post Reply
ConiKost
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 68
Joined: 02 Jun 2002 15:21

Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by ConiKost » 25 Sep 2017 10:00

Does anyone has some information about the Macintosh Version of Transport Tycoon?
I know, years ago, some box arts where posted.

Seems, that I've grabbed a CD of it. It this the version? Any information about this one?
7-Zip at least can open a Dump (~ 13MB) of this CD, but not the content. (Don't have any Mac)
Attachments
TT_MAC.jpg
CD
(143.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
TT_MAC.png
7-Zip Out
TT_MAC.png (11.25 KiB) Viewed 27540 times
Crazy Ivan ;)

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3942
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by NekoMaster » 25 Sep 2017 16:34

Why are you inquiring about the Mac Version of Transport Tycoon if you dont have a Mac. PLus I believe its for Pre-Mac OSX 10, so like Mac 8.x and 9.x

You need to download tools made for handling mac disk images because most windows tools dont support many mac specific files if at all.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by Roman » 25 Sep 2017 17:18

Fantastic find! Where did you get that from?

Chris sent Owen some scans of the box in 2003: viewtopic.php?p=112154#p112154
Image

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by WWTBAM » 26 Sep 2017 00:10

NekoMaster wrote:Why are you inquiring about the Mac Version of Transport Tycoon if you dont have a Mac.
Why should that concern you? The Mac version is rare especially in English speaking countries. Plus I don't know of any screenshots of it so most people would have no idea how it looks in comparison to the x86 version.
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by Roman » 26 Sep 2017 19:01

As also posted in the German forums at http://www.tt-ms.de/forum/showthread.ph ... 1#pid90961, here are some screenshots from the Japanese Mac version:

Notice that it's version 1.06.014 of the game, which, to my knowledge, wasn't known before! :)
Attachments
ttomac0.gif
ttomac0.gif (112.98 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
ttomac1.gif
ttomac1.gif (4.12 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
ttomac2.gif
ttomac2.gif (120.86 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
Image

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by Roman » 26 Sep 2017 19:02

Some more screenshots.
Attachments
ttomac3.gif
ttomac3.gif (24.64 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
ttomac4.gif
ttomac4.gif (98.1 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
ttomac5.gif
ttomac5.gif (79.81 KiB) Viewed 27475 times
Image

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3942
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by NekoMaster » 26 Sep 2017 21:06

Interesting how they changed the UI to more rounded and less blocky looking windows. I imagine part of the change was to make it a little more appealing to younger players rather then look like some kind of indepth and boring office tool with all the blocky windows.

The other two reasons I thought about where translation requiring a differnet size of windows for Japanese characters, and/or they just wanted to stylize things to make it their own
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by Roman » 27 Sep 2017 06:57

NekoMaster, I'd recommend you check out where the game you know today is coming from. ;) The UI you're seeing here is the original one of Transport Tycoon, as Sawyer/MicroProse released it in 1994 for DOS. The only difference in the Mac version is the larger text areas to accommodate the complex Japanese symbols. The "boring office tool with all the blocky windows" you're referring to is the more space-saving UI Sawyer developed for the sequel Transport Tycoon Deluxe in 1995. OpenTTD, the game you're probably familiar with, is based on TTD.
Image

User avatar
skippern
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 199
Joined: 30 Oct 2013 13:57

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by skippern » 21 Oct 2017 13:25

Looks like the disc is HFS format, you want be able to read its content without a HFS enabled iso-tool, or on a Mac. If it was released prior to OS X 10.0, than it will only run in OS 8 or OS 9 environment, if released after 10.0 but prior to 10.6 it will not run on the current versions either, so you will either have to emulate an older system or look for a newer version. If you have enough disc space, TimeMachine + Xcode can bring up any previous main release for running legacy software (never tried it myself, as I constantly run short on disc)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Skippern
OpenTTD Mac user

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24011
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by orudge » 24 Oct 2017 10:20

Ooh, how very exciting! I may have to dig out my old Mac emulators (my physical Mac is of course an Intel Mac, it's been a long time since I've had a PowerPC Mac or indeed a version of OS X with Rosetta).

Thanks very much for posting. :D

User avatar
Innes
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Dec 2018 15:51

Re: Transport Tycoon for Macintosh

Post by Innes » 12 Dec 2018 16:48

So this Japanese version of the game just found it's way onto Macintosh Garden which is how I bumped into it, and googling the Chris Sawyer quote brought up the 2003 letter that Owen got alluding to the English version as well, very excited to try this out on some old Macs.

I wonder if the English version will ever surface, I guess it's unlikely that a publisher takes on legacy dev files when it absorbs and closes down another so probably not
Woo!

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (Original)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest