Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 167 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23881
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Gurluas2000 wrote:
Is anyone with experiences in HEX willing to attempt this?


Well, I understand hexadecimal, it's quite simple really, after 9, you go to A, then B, and so on to F, then you go to 10. But that's perhaps not quite what you meant.

There's a TTD file format reference on Josef's site somewhere - while your game is TTO, that ought to help you poke around at least. I do have code for reading TTO games, but can't remember the precise details off the top of my head. OpenTTD supports reading TTO games though, so you may want to look at its source code for reference.

If you get anywhere, do let us know. It should theoretically be fairly simple, why not give it a try?

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:47 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
Well I do not really get it. Beside such an early demo would be a bit different codewise would it not?

Removing the limitations from it and basically giving us a fully functional prototype of TTO would be the best new year present ever.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:06 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23881
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Gurluas2000 wrote:
Well I do not really get it. Beside such an early demo would be a bit different codewise would it not?


I wouldn't have thought so, really. Slightly different, maybe, but not hugely.

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:29 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
Nevertheless I am not qualified to do that, which is why I am hoping someone qualified would be willing to help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13178
Location: The Netherlands
Gurluas2000 wrote:
Nevertheless I am not qualified to do that, which is why I am hoping someone qualified would be willing to help.

For free or paid?

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:36 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
Unlocking an early build of a game you like should be a honor in itself. I do not have any money, but perhaps the community can donate?
Such projects do work,

Here is an example of a similar endaevor for Diablo.
http://www.diablo-evolution.com/index.php4?pageid=alpha4

Diablo 4 is based on a pre-release demo, instead of just cracking it, the team basically added what Blizzard left out.
However in a game like Transport Tycoon I doubt any graphics would be missing at this point, all we have to do is remove the 1932 crash trigger and the train only limitation.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:46 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
Bump...Come on?, no one?

Someone on this forum must have the technical knowledge of the Transport Tycoon internal workings to sort this out.
Especially those who developed OpenTTD and the TTDPatch because thjat requires reverse engineering...Someone should be able to find out whats making the game crash at 1932 and remove it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:43 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: The Moon
No. No-one. :roll:

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:09 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
Gurluas2000 wrote:
Bump...Come on?, no one?

It might also be that "we" are much more interested in improving the respective games than starting a TTO-beta-Patch. In all the weeks that passed you might have read up on the internals enough to attempt that yourself than to hope that someone wants to solve your problem.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:04 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
The point of this is not starting a tto beta patch but simply to remove a flag which makes the game crash. For a person that knows how the game works and knows how dos games in general works it should NOT be too difficult.

Also its not just my problem, I bet that almost everyone here would like to play an early developement version and see the unused/planned/scrapped vehicles/graphics/mechanics etc. of Transport Tycoon.

Instead of criticizing me to promoting an amazing find you should help me if you could.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:00 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
With a new anniversary over us, and many years of Transport Tycoon, it may be time to reconsider returning to the roots of this great classic, and enable the beta-demo to go past the 1932 date.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:05 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 643
Location: Kraków, Poland
So I guess you have an ace up your sleeve, having in mind you're reviving the thread?

_________________
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 1864
Skype: squirejames5
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
No, it's just Gurlas. He does these things from time to time.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:52 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
vear wrote:
So I guess you have an ace up your sleeve, having in mind you're reviving the thread?


Well, no, I am just hoping that someone talented enough reads this and helps out.
We have lots of literal geniuses working on OpenTTD and the TTDPatch, removing a demo timelimit should be possible for them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
TTO with first demo grf files.png[/attachment]Well, I was going to suggest switching the GRF files in TTO with those from the demo you want to experience, but i got the below which suggests that the layout of the sprites has changed and maybe even a different palette. If it is just re ordering the sprites, I am willing to create TTO compatible GRF files using the demo graphics.

Edit: Decoding TRHCOM.GRF with GRFCODEC gives me a png with a broken palette.


Attachments:
TTO with first demo grf files.png
TTO with first demo grf files.png [ 191.82 KiB | Viewed 4157 times ]

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:13 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
It wouldn't be the same. The TTO demo contains coding and vehicle differences, not just graphic differences.
This is why it would be interesting to crack the demo so we could fully experience this early build.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1491
roboboy wrote:
... Decoding TRHCOM.GRF with GRFCODEC gives me a png with a broken palette.
Have you used the correct parameter setting for '-p' ? Try -p 5

Code:
Options for the -p parameter:

Built-in palettes: use -p <number>, where <number> is one of the following:
        1  DOS TTD
        2  Windows TTD
        3  DOS TTD, Candyland
        4  Windows TTD, Candyland
        5  TT Original
        6  TT Original, Mars landscape


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:55 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
We should try to decode the Exe somehow. The client crashes instantly when the game reaches 1933. We need to figure out what causes it, and disable it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:56 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
And even for other palettes, you can simply tell grfcodec which palette to use, read from external palette files:
Code:
Built-in palettes: use -p <number>, where <number> is one of the following:
   1  DOS TTD
   2  Windows TTD
   3  DOS TTD, Candyland
   4  Windows TTD, Candyland
   5  TT Original
   6  TT Original, Mars landscape

External palette files: use -p [type:]filename.
[type:] can be bcp, psp, or gpl.  (Other formats may become available later.)
If the type is omitted, bcp is assumed.

bcp   binary coded palette with the same format as the palette in a PCX
   file: 256 triples of red, green and blue encoded in bytes.
psp   the palette format output by Paintshop Pro
gpl   the palette format output by The GIMP.


Gurluas2000 wrote:
We should try to decode the Exe somehow. The client crashes instantly when the game reaches 1933. We need to figure out what causes it, and disable it.

Spend more time working on that than posting "we should" ;-)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:59 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:22 am
Posts: 651
Unfortunately, my knowledge of coding is VERY meager, and my knowledge of DOS coding is non-existant.
If you asked me to mod World of Warcraft I could do it, which I have but... Decoding a DOS game, I have absolutely no idea how. We have a lot of people who reverse engineered the TTD client, and a lot of people who rewrote the game into OpenTTD, one of them may have an idea?

If I could have done it myself, I would have a long time ago.
I am not asking for help because I am lazy, but because we could unlock a fully playable pre-release version of TTO, a true treasure in the development process of our lovable Transport Tycoon.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 167 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.