What do you miss in TTO?

Talk about the classic original version of Transport Tycoon.
User avatar
Arael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 32
Joined: 09 Aug 2004 20:38
Location: Otwock, Poland

What do you miss in TTO?

Post by Arael » 12 Jul 2005 23:28

What features do you miss in TTO, which later versions lack or which have been changed? Do you still play the original only from time to time, to remember "the good old days" or is there anything in particular keeping you faithful to the origins?

(I shouldn't be saying it in this section, but it might also help make a mod for the OpenTTD, to bring out the best of both worlds :D)

Things I personally miss are aesthetic:
- company colors. Much better than the new ones screwing up my eyes.
- the old GUI - the window graphics. It took me some time to get used when I first saw TTD.
- So, here's this train full of illegal alcohol. I stamp here, and all the alcohol magically evaporates, leaving pure mineral water...

User avatar
Hunnuli
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 12 Jul 2005 08:37

Post by Hunnuli » 13 Jul 2005 00:54

I think a mix of the two's company colors would be best. Also The window interface does take a little while to adjust from. .but it doesn't bother me much either way.

I however prefer TTO's farms(personally I have never seen a farm larger then a even a small city in my life so meh) and it's vehicles and when they come in.

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 13 Jul 2005 00:56

One way signals are definately something that's missing from TTO.
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Post by Darkvater » 13 Jul 2005 10:54

Back in the old-old days I always played TTO and never wanted to play TTD. I just saw it as some cheap extension with very busy graphics. Rainforests made me mad, farmfields were too much, etc. etc.

Then at one moment I just switched... probably cause of TTDPatch and never came back.

But this is kinda off-topic...sorry
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2749
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir » 13 Jul 2005 11:03

What I miss the most from TTO, is the more varied landscape tiles. More than one type of rocky landscape, more than one type of rough land. Etc, Etc...
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24011
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge » 13 Jul 2005 11:10

What do I miss from TTO... I don't know, the whole thing had a 'classic' feel to it really. I can't really point out just one thing, to be honest. ;)

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 13 Jul 2005 12:39

-The Landscape
-Monorail graphics.
-The Menu colours.

Vimpster
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 74
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 07:11
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Vimpster » 28 Jul 2005 08:16

One feature I very much miss from TTO is the town growth system it had. To explain, what I mean is that the towns would start small with no sidewalks. As they grew they would have sidewalks and then as they grew further they would have trees that would line the streets and then they would lastly get street lights to line the streets. Additionally, my favorite part, if you serviced a city to its maximum potential the city would bust byond its 8000 maximum pop and turn into a megacity reaching pops of 12000 - 25000.

TTD didn't have it nor does Loco and I'm very disappointed about that.
Some said it was a bug in TTO that you could get mega cities but I find that very hard to believe seeing as the TTO manual even showed pictures of a megacity and the fact that you would get a megacity only if you worked hard to service a city to its maximum production of people which seemed like a logical, and very fun, feature as oppose to a bug. In Loco the problem is the opposite though because every city becomes a megacity even if you only service it to the minnimal amount possible which takes all the fun out of it and makes so that every city is a megacity instead of having some cities stay smaller like they should. If Loco had the same town growth system as TTO then Loco would be the ultimate game for me.

User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2097
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by Railwaymodeler » 25 Sep 2005 04:47

I too miss the city growth system, and the locos and when they came in. I liked TTO's farms better myself.

I liked the fact that steel mills, factories, etc. would produce a minimal amount, even if not fed raw materials. That was good.

User avatar
Mr. X
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11502
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 22:45
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Contact:

Post by Mr. X » 25 Sep 2005 10:52

The monorail bridge! that was cool! :)
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 25 Sep 2005 15:22

All of that can be had in TTD, though. Either through patch settings or through new .grf files.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

fletch5535
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 26 Aug 2005 14:40
Location: scotland

Post by fletch5535 » 26 Sep 2005 08:28

I miss the ability to remove through roads in towns (by laying tracks across them to gain ownership, and then bulldozing) to clear space for stations etc..

TTD doesn't let you do this - you can bulldoze your track away, but the city's road remains intact. You can remove dead end roads (from the dead end inwards to its junction), but I have not yet found a way to remove a through road (but I'm still new to TTD).

I do like the much better signals in TTD, and the fact you can put them on horizontal and vertical tracks, not just diagonals.
Keep on rollin'
Fletch

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5383
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 26 Sep 2005 09:06

fletch5535 wrote:TTD doesn't let you do this - you can bulldoze your track away, but the city's road remains intact. You can remove dead end roads (from the dead end inwards to its junction), but I have not yet found a way to remove a through road (but I'm still new to TTD).
With TTDP, you can dynamite any city road, if your local authority rating is high enough. :)

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 26 Sep 2005 14:56

PikkaBird wrote:
fletch5535 wrote:TTD doesn't let you do this - you can bulldoze your track away, but the city's road remains intact. You can remove dead end roads (from the dead end inwards to its junction), but I have not yet found a way to remove a through road (but I'm still new to TTD).
With TTDP, you can dynamite any city road, if your local authority rating is high enough. :)
apart tunnel (due to bug or error in latest TTDPatch)
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

Gurluas2000
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 651
Joined: 31 May 2004 08:22

Post by Gurluas2000 » 21 Nov 2005 19:09

old locomotives...terrain...farms...city growth...and the start theme music...thats all

User avatar
Geo Ghost
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6273
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 10:06
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Post by Geo Ghost » 21 Nov 2005 19:48

what i miss.... the MAIN thing i miss...

My old game saves :cry:
I wish i could get them back! Best games ever they were :P

MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH » 21 Nov 2005 21:59

I miss TT landscape and town growth mode. I also miss the UFO graphics (big ufo was green IIRC). I miss original monorail graphics and monorail bridges.
And of course, old vehicles:
old locomotives
Hopefully Born Acorn has made a grf with TT vehicles :)

User avatar
Jezulkim
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 844
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 09:40
Location: Finland/Suomi
Contact:

Post by Jezulkim » 23 Nov 2005 18:43

Gurluas2000 wrote:the start theme music...
You can get it here: http://www.tt-ms.de
Or a nicer mp3 version here: http://users.tt-forums.net/jfs/
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.

Gurluas2000
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 651
Joined: 31 May 2004 08:22

Post by Gurluas2000 » 23 Nov 2005 19:06

i meant ingame... in openttd i tried adding it but max musics r 21...i needs recoding...

User avatar
Jezulkim
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 844
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 09:40
Location: Finland/Suomi
Contact:

Post by Jezulkim » 24 Nov 2005 15:14

You'll need dxmci.dll for that, get it here: http://home.amis.net/lkslavi/ download version 1.2.

Then put one of the mp3 files to your ttd midi folder and rename the file to gm_tt00.gm (if you put it to gm folder)

Then start ttdp and you'll hear the nice tto title music again :D

You won't need dxmci.dll if you use midi.
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (Original)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests