OpenTTD Guide

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Ondra_Kralik
Engineer
Engineer

OpenTTD Guide

Post by Ondra_Kralik »

Hello my dear OpenTTD players. As of April 1. OpenTTD is also available on Steam. Which also means a lots of new players. But if you are starting from scratch OpenTTD can be very Hard to understand and play. So i made a text dokument which i think can teach an absolute Newbie to play the game at an Advanced tier. Also i am now working WITH!!!!! a coresponding Channels where i will be posting more detailed guides. This dokument is available in Czech and English language.
Here you have them. :D
Attachments
Game tactics_ OpenTTD EN.pdf
(3.02 MiB) Downloaded 547 times
Game Tactics_OpenTTD CZ.pdf
(3.02 MiB) Downloaded 93 times
siu238X
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Re: OpenTTD Guide

Post by siu238X »

Frankly introducing mods in the beginning is innovative but seems a bit odd to me.

I think a more conventional approach would be better for those not having played before, i.e. start from the basics. After the actual guide, explain the difference between TTD and OpenTTD, and after that introduce the mods. To balance the needs of different players (beginner / with TTD experience / experts), a statement of direction in the introduction should do.
odisseus
Director
Director

Post by odisseus »

The wiki already contains a game manual that's much more comprehensive and thought over. If you want to make a useful contribution, consider translating it to your language.
kamnet

Post by kamnet »

And, for that matter, if there is anything in the wiki which you believe can be improved, you are empowered to create a free GitHub account, then log in and make any modifications you think are beneficial. Feel free to run it by the community here if you're not confident it's a good thing to add.
Ondra_Kralik
Engineer
Engineer