Page 1 of 1

Vehicles not using fastest route

Posted: 09 Aug 2020 11:44
by alluke
Is there any way to make vehicles use the fastest route even if there are competitors' stops?

Re: Vehicles not using fastest route

Posted: 09 Aug 2020 14:31
by MagicBuzz
+1 I would suggest adding parameters to fine tune path finder.
=> Those parameters would apply only for a company, so AI and GS might be able to ajust their own parameters.

I think about several things :
- Pass-through stops have a malus, we may not want it in dense truck network
- Slopes have some malus that is not correct compared to the bidge speed limits : a flat wood bridge is chosen by vehicles that could be faster on a sloppy road with no speed limit
- May be even more tunning like UPS did to reduce accidents : https://edition.cnn.com/2017/02/16/worl ... index.html

Re: Vehicles not using fastest route

Posted: 09 Aug 2020 18:30
by jfs
Part of the problem shown there is also that road stops are always two-way, even when built on a one-way road. A road stop could be blocked by a loading vehicle at any time, and for any length of time. If one-way roads were handled better regarding taking over, and it was possible to have one-way road stops where vehicles could always take over any vehicles being serviced at the stop, it might be possible to lower the pathfinder penalty for passing through a stop.

Re: Vehicles not using fastest route

Posted: 12 Aug 2020 08:10
by Eddi
MagicBuzz wrote: 09 Aug 2020 14:31 +1 I would suggest adding parameters to fine tune path finder.
these exist. if you can't find them, that's proof that you shouldn't tamper with them.

as for the OP, the easiest solution would be to put down a station yourself, and give the vehicles "go non-stop via" orders, to use it as a waypoint