servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
lostpawn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 11 Aug 2016 17:03

servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by lostpawn »

There are two farms connected by rail. I like to service both with farmsupplies by one and only train. F.i. There are 6 wagons, 3 are unloaded at farm 1, the other 3 at farm 2. I can't figure out if that is possible, I guess not, but maybe there is a wizard who knows the answer :D

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5459
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by PikkaBird »

Easiest way would be to transfer the supplies to a station and then supply the farms with a truck.

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2478
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by Pyoro »

Using CargoDist for industries should also work.

Playing old-fashioned I think you'd have to build two separate offloading stations and then tell the train to alternate between them. So Supplies -> Farm A -> Supplies -> Farm B.

lostpawn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 11 Aug 2016 17:03

Re: servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by lostpawn »

Thank you all. That gives me some ideas. Very useful.

User avatar
odisseus
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 88
Joined: 01 Nov 2017 21:19

Re: servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by odisseus »

Make a train three wagons long that would make two trips. Its orders would look like this:
  1. Go to supply station (full load)
  2. Go to drop station 1
  3. Go to supply station (full load)
  4. Go to drop station 2
All other solutions must involve multiple vehicles and at least one transfer order.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4754
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: servicing two farms with one train with supplies, possible?

Post by Alberth »

I often add a supplies wagon to a delivery train, you get perfect timing of supply deliveries, no extra infra structure, just a little bit less cargo delivered each run.
Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Coco-Banana-Man and 3 guests