Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 22 Sep 2019 23:55

:oops:

I'll try to gather here all my newbie questions that may get answered with a couple of words, and stop flooding the forum with threads. For the record, I try to find my answers before I come here, but sometimes they're too specific... or I can't even use Google properly. Anyway:

-Do freighter trains serving stations inside a city annoy the local authorities?
-15 years into a game I try to replace old road vehicles but the replace window doesn't show me vehicles at all, or only show me a couple of them. Why? At the beginning of the game there was a road vehicle for X cargo; that particular model might be outdated but there should be a newer model. I'm using Heavy Equipment Road Vehicles but it happened to me in another game, iirc. And in any case the vehicle I'm trying to replace is vanilla I think.

Edit: nevermind the second question, I hadn't notice the difference the game does between replace (with a newer model) and renew (with the same model).

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 700
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: Quick questions that don't deserve their own thread

Post by Gwyd » 23 Sep 2019 11:56

First question: towns and cities don't mind freight trains but with all the normal requirements of passenger trains.

Second question: vehicles bought from new are by default only available for some amount of time before they "expire" and it cannot be purchased. These vehicles can still be renewed (as you have found).

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick questions that don't deserve their own thread

Post by Cool Loser » 23 Sep 2019 19:59

Ok thanks, I was asking because there was this town in my game that hated me without apparent reason, and the only thing that came to my mind was that I had opened a freighter line taking goods. Eventually they got to love me so... yeah.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick questions that don't deserve their own thread

Post by Cool Loser » 26 Sep 2019 12:08

Hey.

What determines whether a town accepts food or not? I have several towns in a sub-artic map, with good train connections and high rated stations, but they need food in order to grow. The problem is they won't accept it, even if I try to build a new station and I hover over everywhere, the popup never shows food acceptance. Also, I'm providing livestock and wheat to nearby food processing plants.

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15291
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Quick questions that don't deserve their own thread

Post by Chrill » 26 Sep 2019 12:40

It depends on the buildings. Click a building and it should show something like (Accepts 1/8 Food). You need one full unit of acceptance within your station's catch area.
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 26 Sep 2019 14:11

Thanks for your quick answer! And how/when do buildings requiring food spawn? I've checked not only the small towns that concern me, but also the biggest cities in the map (30k+), and there are none. They accept passengers, mail, goods and even paper, but none of them require food.

I'm playing with the Japan set, in case that helps.

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15291
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Chrill » 26 Sep 2019 15:48

That probably causes it. Is the Japan set compatible?

Whenever something happens with a NewGRF, always check the readme/guide first. I searched Japan Set Guide, and I found this:
download/file.php?id=189253
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 26 Sep 2019 17:10

Compatible with what? This is my current mods profile:

https://imgur.com/8B9AjXa

It doesn't seem to be any issues when you check the grf settings ingame. I just checked the pdf out and I don't find anything related. :(
Also, I read somewhere in the mod guidelines about sub-artic maps, so that's not the problem either.
Last edited by kamnet on 01 Oct 2019 18:28, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed post to show link to included image

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 27 Sep 2019 15:19

When does the variable "days in transit" begin to count? As soon as the cargo is loaded or as soon as the train departs? In other words: would always be convenient to use large trains so they spend more time loading at stations and less in transit, hence increasing station rating? I started my current game buying lots of small trains so there were almost always one of them loading but, as the game advances, I'm noticing that the same effect, or even bigger, in station rating is achieved by using less but larger trains that often have to spend considerable time idle while the industry produces enough cargo to fill them.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 591
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by jfs » 27 Sep 2019 15:58

That's actually something I've been wondering myself, so just investigated:

Days in transit only counts when the cargo is loaded on a vehicle, so cargo waiting at a station does not age.
The value maxes out at 255 days in transit.
The rate the value increases at is defined by the vehicle/car it's loaded into. Most vehicles probably just has the cargo age period defined as 74 ticks (one day), but a vehicle can define the age period shorter or longer to make transport using that vehicle pay less or more. (E.g. a luxury passenger car may increase days in transit at a slower rate, resulting in larger payments.)

One takeaway from this is definitely that having vehicles sit at stations waiting for full load will pay less than if the vehicle is able to pick up all the cargo at once, even transporting the same amount of cargo over the same period of time.

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 27 Sep 2019 16:59

Nice, you've been very helpful... again. :)

I said I was getting the same or even higher station ratings using fewer, larger trains, but to be honest I didn't even check the income (in vanilla with default settings money is not a problem, so a few years into a game it stops being even a factor to consider when I make any decision).

In any case, according to your research is not enough to buy huge trains and just let them sit at stations; if you want to maximize income you need to find the sweet spot between too many days in transit/too many days in the station/trains loading too unfrequently... If I'm getting this right.

Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 169
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Diesel Power » 29 Sep 2019 21:05

How about this then...
A train pulls into the near end of a station 1 tile longer than the train and picks up cargo. If loaded to 100% it leaves to it's destination. If not, it goes to the far end of the platform, unloads all cargo and loops back around to load again. Is the cargo's decay timer reset if it's dropped back at it's original station? Is this a way of waiting for a full load without the time penalties of waiting at the station to load?

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 591
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by jfs » 29 Sep 2019 22:09

The days_in_transit counter is stored per cargo packet, and persistent as long as the cargo packet is not delivered. The only way to transport it without the counter going up is by picking it up and delivering it within a single day, and appropriately synced with the vehicle's cargo aging cycle. Theoretically possible, not probably not in practice.

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 01 Oct 2019 13:56

Hey. Does any of the world creation settings affect the presence and number of lakes? I'm trying to create a temperate map and I don't want it to have like 200 tiny lakes sparsed across every single corner.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 591
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by jfs » 01 Oct 2019 14:29

Not directly, lakes and ocean are the same as far as world generation is concerned. Set Sea Level to Very Low and disable rivers.

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 01 Oct 2019 16:48

https://imgur.com/Ba408au

:/

Both were like that. Might any other parameter do?
Last edited by kamnet on 01 Oct 2019 18:27, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed post to show link to included image

rowdog
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 24 May 2017 12:51
Location: East Texas

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by rowdog » 02 Oct 2019 07:34

For the Sea Level, you can set it to Custom and use a value as low as 1%. You will still get a few lakes.

To really get no lakes at all, you can use a heightmap. There are a couple of flat ones on Bananas.

Another way would be to generate a map with few lakes, save it, then fill the lakes in with the Scenario Editor.
https://wiki.openttd.org/Scenario_editor

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 03 Oct 2019 09:10

I see...

It's not that I don't want lakes AT ALL, but temperate maps seem to generate always with like 30 or 40 lakes, I find it both ugly af and obviously harder to play, which I wouldn't mind with a nice looking map, for example a mountainous sub-artic one. I'd also like to play tropical maps more as desert maps, but again they always have several oasis...

Anyway, I guess I'll deal with it. Thanks for your help.

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15291
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Chrill » 07 Oct 2019 23:06

I'd suggest you set the sea level to a bit higher. That way, you'll get larger lakes but there will be fewer of them. It can generate a game with islands, which I really enjoy.

Here's an example with the sea level set to maximum. If you opt for something less than that, you'll get smaller lakes but there will be more of them.
Attachments
Tarnton Transport, 1896-04-01.png
(789.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Cool Loser
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 11 Sep 2019 09:26

Re: Quick Questions - Quick Answers Thread

Post by Cool Loser » 08 Oct 2019 12:55

That's a nice looking map indeed. Currently I'm playing one of StarRaid's heightmaps. Having discovered the wonders of user-made heightmaps, they'll be my first choice from now on.

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests